PretonSaver Home Edition

PretonSaver Home Edition

Average User Rating:
3.2
out of 58 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    1.0.3.8
  • Total Downloads:
    12,702
  • Date Added:
    December 01, 2011
  • File Size:
    711.63KB
  • Downloads Last Week:
    7
  • Operating Systems:
    Windows XP/Vista/7

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+

Results 1–7 of 7

1 stars

"Program OK. The company practices are a problem."

March 01, 2014  |  By ofannod

 |  Version: PretonSaver Home Edition 1.0.3.8

Pros

It does use less ink, and relatively seamlessly.

Cons

Apparently you can reinstall this software only once. If you have to reinstall a 2nd time for ANY REASON, corrupted files, virus, hard drive crash, new computer etc. it will cost you, but the price is not made public.

Summary

I purchased a "Lifetime License" for the Preton Home Version back in late 2012. Before purchasing, I did ask the company what "Lifetime" meant. It meant that I can renew each year at a lesser price than the original purchase price. The wording seemed somewhat deceptive to me, but the pricing was acceptable. I declined their Customer Support Contract since I am no amateur software user. I troubleshoot all my own software difficulties and have done so for decades. I certainly felt competent to use this small program. Ah, so much I didn't know about this company and its practices.

Here's the problem. When my year old laptop's hard drive died, I spend a week moving files and programs from my backup to an old PC. So far so good. Unfortunately, I had a problem with the old PC too and had to reformat the hard drive and spent another week moving everything again. (Thankfully I had great backups) However, when I reinstalled Preton the second time, it wouldn't take my registration #. Their website offered no solution to the error message I received. So I contacted the company via email. Here is the context of my email. (with my name and registration number removed)

"Hello, Unfortunately, I've had to reformat my hard drive. Needless to say, all programs have to be reinstalled. I'm not having any luck entering my Product Key for Preton. Message tells me "The activation key has exceeded its allowed number of activations". I followed the instructions to release the current activations, but there were no activations listed to release. I'm not sure what to do next.
I am providing my license information if that will help you help me. Thank you for your assistance. "

Here is the reply I received:
"Our records show that you do not have a valid support agreement with Preton which means unfortunately that we cannot provide you with assistance. However, if you wish to purchase an updated support contract you can do so using the following link: https://www.plimus.com/jsp/buynow.jsp?contractId=3165562
Once you have a valid agreement we will be more than happy to assist you. Please resend your message once purchase has been made."

Hmmm. First time any software company tried to extort money from me to install or reinstall their program on a new or reformatted PC. I wasn't asking for a complicated time consuming problem to be solved. Any company that requires that you pay to move a program to a new or reformatted PC is suspect in my book. How many people never buy a new PC? Never have a hard drive crash? Or both, as happened to me? NONE of the other programs I have required me to pay to reinstall. And I have a LOT of software installed. In fact, there were one or two as I recall for which I could not even locate my Registration number - my fault. Those companies politely emailed my number to me without fanfare.

FREE programs don't offer support, which I certainly understand. But when a license has been purchased, I expect to be able at least to reinstall it.

That was about 8 months ago. I got less than a year's use out of this program. Being curious, last week I went to the Preton website and attempted to determine the current going rate for the program and then the rate for the "Support Contract". The price for the program was provided. And there was a checkbox to add "Two Years Support and Upgrades Contract" to the cart. The same page required the purchaser's credit card number. Here's the interesting part. There is NO PRICE SHOWN FOR THE CONTRACT! So, the implication is that maybe there is a cost for it and maybe not, but we're not going to tell you till we get your credit card number. By the time you get the price, you have already given and entered your credit card number. Personally, I find this company's practices unacceptable.

Bitter? Sure I am. Wouldn't you be? I purchased a program I couldn't use. And I still don't know the cost of the "Contract". Maybe by design . . .

That was my experience. Yours may be different. Me? I'm subscribing to a different ink saving program.
I cannot recommend this one.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)

1 stars

"worked great till last update"

October 09, 2012  |  By Steven J Clark

 |  Version: PretonSaver Home Edition 1.0.3.8

Pros

easy way to crop, cut and paste parat of your screen and drop it into another program

Cons

Paid for it and it worked for about 4 months. Online help not any help. Stopped working after last Windows 7 update (at that time). Bought Inksaver and it works great.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

5 stars

"good programme"

June 01, 2012  |  By Melt_The_Ice

 |  Version: PretonSaver Home Edition 1.0.3.8

Pros

it does what it is supposed to do.

Cons

could have a better interface

Summary

I have bought this programme and it quite do what it is supposed to do. It does reduce the toner's consumption which allows me to save the environment and save money as well.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

4 stars

"Product does just what it's supposed to."

May 04, 2012  |  By tvaz123

 |  Version: PretonSaver Home Edition 1.0.3.8

Pros

Product does just what it's supposed to.

Cons

I haven't come across any problems yet.

Summary

Product does just what it's supposed to.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

5 stars

"Quality of print excellant"

December 12, 2011  |  By blocher72

 |  Version: PretonSaver Home Edition 1.0.3.8

Pros

I enjoy the quality of the printing, and still doesn't cost arm and leg. One of the better down loads for me. Well worth you time.

Cons

Could be a little faster, should not need to press print twice.Still good for printing quality.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

4 stars

"Bottom line...Saves $$$$"

December 10, 2011  |  By sdsu98

 |  Version: PretonSaver Home Edition 1.0.3.8

Pros

Stretches out the ink by allowing me to lower the print quality on docs that don't need the higher quality print.

Cons

None so far.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

5 stars

"The best toner/ink saver software"

December 03, 2011  |  By halftheink

 |  Version: PretonSaver Home Edition 1.0.3.8

Pros

Saves money
Just upgraded to the new version, it was very easy
their support really answers emails

Cons

The UI can be a bit nicer, but its functional.

Summary

I have tried several software, but this one really works. I'm using this inksaver for two years now, what can i say, i love it.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

Results 1–7 of 7

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for PretonSaver Home Edition
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update your review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 1.0.3.8
Version 1.0.3.8 supports Acrobat Reader 10.
General
Publisher Preton
Publisher web site http://www.preton.com
Release Date October 15, 2010
Date Added December 01, 2011
Version 1.0.3.8
Category
Category Utilities & Operating Systems
Subcategory Printer Software
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Windows, Windows Vista, Windows 7, Windows XP
Additional Requirements None
Download Information
File Size 711.63KB
File Name PretonSaverHomeEdition.exe
Popularity
Total Downloads 12,702
Downloads Last Week 7
Pricing
License Model Free to try
Limitations 14-day trial
Price $19.95

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +

More Products to Consider

Close[x]

Submit a problem report for PretonSaver Home Edition

Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.

Problem:

The Download.com Installer isn't working as expected

The download link does not work

The software has a newer version

The product contains malicious software

Other

Description:

Please select a feedback type.

Please enter a description.

Submit Problem Report

Close[x]

Problem Report submitted

Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.

OK