PretonSaver Home Edition - Free download and software reviews - CNET Download.com

PretonSaver Home Edition

Publisher's Description

More Products to Consider

  • PretonSaver Home Ed...
    Ink Saver software- by Preton Ltd. for Win 7.
    Download

    Installed

    Smart Install
  • How To Escape The C...
    Learn how to reduce cost of ink for inkjet printers.
    Download

    Installed

    Smart Install
  • CCleaner
    Clean up junk files and invalid Registry entries.
    Download

    Installed

    Smart Install
  • Advanced SystemCare
    Tune up and maintain your PC, with anti-spyware, privacy protec...
    Download

    Installed

    Smart Install
  • WinRAR (32-bit)
    Take full control over RAR and ZIP archives, along with unpacki...
    Download

    Installed

    Smart Install
  • Download App
    Keep the software on your Windows computer up-to-date and runni...
    Download

    Installed

    Smart Install
  • MiniTool Partition ...
    Move, resize, copy, explore, and recover hard disk drive partit...
    Download

    Installed

    Smart Install
  • WinRAR (64-bit)
    Take full control over RAR and ZIP archives, along with unpacki...
    Download

    Installed

    Smart Install
  • GreenPrint World
    Eliminate unwanted pages before you print saving paper, ink, mo...
    Download

    Installed

    Smart Install
  • SlimDrivers Free
    Update PC drivers automatically using cloud technology.
    Download

    Installed

    Smart Install
  • Wise Care 365
    Clean and optimize Windows registry, remove junk from hard driv...
    Download

    Installed

    Smart Install
  • Price Watch For Ama...
    Keep track of the price, get notice when hot item is available ...
    Download

    Installed

    Smart Install
  • Traffik Driver
    Improve your Web site's traffic.
    Download

    Installed

    Smart Install
  • DriverMax
    Download and update all your Windows drivers, back them up, and...
    Download

    Installed

    Smart Install
  • Save Toner
    Optimize and reduce the amount of your toner usage.
    Download

    Installed

    Smart Install
  • Glary Utilities
    Fix, speed up, maintain, and protect your PC.
    Download

    Installed

    Smart Install
  • Early Mortgage Payo...
    See how much you can save by making additional principal paymen...
    Download

    Installed

    Smart Install
  • Wise Registry Clean...
    Clean registry junks, repair Windows errors, and keep your PC a...
    Download

    Installed

    Smart Install
  • Lexmark Toolbar
    Enhance your printing experience within Internet Explorer, savi...
    Download

    Installed

    Smart Install
  • WinZip
    Zip and unzip files, protect them by encryption, connect to clo...
    Download

    Installed

    Smart Install
  • Landlords Property ...
    Save your time and money in managing property business.
    Download

    Installed

    Smart Install
  • ARO 2013
    Repair registry errors, remove "junk" files, and ensure your PC...
    Download

    Installed

    Smart Install
  • Inside Printer Moni...
    Control printer jobs & costs.

    This download is served from an external site

    close

    NOTICE: This link will open a connection to a third-party site. CNET cannot ensure the security of software that is hosted on external sites.

    Continue to download

    Sponsored Products

    Download

    Installed

    Smart Install
  • Zilch Standard-debt...
    Get yourself out of debt starting from scratch.
    Download

    Installed

    Smart Install
All User Reviews
  • All versions:

    3.2 stars

    out of 58 votes

    • 5 star: 21
    • 4 star: 13
    • 3 star: 3
    • 2 star: 1
    • 1 star: 20
  • Current version:

    3.6 stars

    out of 7 votes

    • 5 star: 3
    • 4 star: 2
    • 3 star: 0
    • 2 star: 0
    • 1 star: 2
  • My rating:

    0 stars

    Write review

Results 1-7 of 7

  • 1.0 stars

    "Program OK. The company practices are a problem."

    March 1, 2014  |   By ofannod

    Version: PretonSaver Home Edition 1.0.3.8

    Pros

    It does use less ink, and relatively seamlessly.

    Cons

    Apparently you can reinstall this software only once. If you have to reinstall a 2nd time for ANY REASON, corrupted files, virus, hard drive crash, new computer etc. it will cost you, but the price is not made public.

    Summary

    I purchased a "Lifetime License" for the Preton Home Version back in late 2012. Before purchasing, I did ask the company what "Lifetime" meant. It meant that I can renew each year at a lesser price than the original purchase price. The wording seemed somewhat deceptive to me, but the pricing was acceptable. I declined their Customer Support Contract since I am no amateur software user. I troubleshoot all my own software difficulties and have done so for decades. I certainly felt competent to use this small program. Ah, so much I didn't know about this company and its practices.

    Here's the problem. When my year old laptop's hard drive died, I spend a week moving files and programs from my backup to an old PC. So far so good. Unfortunately, I had a problem with the old PC too and had to reformat the hard drive and spent another week moving everything again. (Thankfully I had great backups) However, when I reinstalled Preton the second time, it wouldn't take my registration #. Their website offered no solution to the error message I received. So I contacted the company via email. Here is the context of my email. (with my name and registration number removed)

    "Hello, Unfortunately, I've had to reformat my hard drive. Needless to say, all programs have to be reinstalled. I'm not having any luck entering my Product Key for Preton. Message tells me "The activation key has exceeded its allowed number of activations". I followed the instructions to release the current activations, but there were no activations listed to release. I'm not sure what to do next.
    I am providing my license information if that will help you help me. Thank you for your assistance. "

    Here is the reply I received:
    "Our records show that you do not have a valid support agreement with Preton which means unfortunately that we cannot provide you with assistance. However, if you wish to purchase an updated support contract you can do so using the following link: https://www.plimus.com/jsp/buynow.jsp?contractId=3165562
    Once you have a valid agreement we will be more than happy to assist you. Please resend your message once purchase has been made."

    Hmmm. First time any software company tried to extort money from me to install or reinstall their program on a new or reformatted PC. I wasn't asking for a complicated time consuming problem to be solved. Any company that requires that you pay to move a program to a new or reformatted PC is suspect in my book. How many people never buy a new PC? Never have a hard drive crash? Or both, as happened to me? NONE of the other programs I have required me to pay to reinstall. And I have a LOT of software installed. In fact, there were one or two as I recall for which I could not even locate my Registration number - my fault. Those companies politely emailed my number to me without fanfare.

    FREE programs don't offer support, which I certainly understand. But when a license has been purchased, I expect to be able at least to reinstall it.

    That was about 8 months ago. I got less than a year's use out of this program. Being curious, last week I went to the Preton website and attempted to determine the current going rate for the program and then the rate for the "Support Contract". The price for the program was provided. And there was a checkbox to add "Two Years Support and Upgrades Contract" to the cart. The same page required the purchaser's credit card number. Here's the interesting part. There is NO PRICE SHOWN FOR THE CONTRACT! So, the implication is that maybe there is a cost for it and maybe not, but we're not going to tell you till we get your credit card number. By the time you get the price, you have already given and entered your credit card number. Personally, I find this company's practices unacceptable.

    Bitter? Sure I am. Wouldn't you be? I purchased a program I couldn't use. And I still don't know the cost of the "Contract". Maybe by design . . .

    That was my experience. Yours may be different. Me? I'm subscribing to a different ink saving program.
    I cannot recommend this one.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 1.0 stars

    "worked great till last update"

    October 9, 2012  |   By Steven J Clark

    Version: PretonSaver Home Edition 1.0.3.8

    Pros

    easy way to crop, cut and paste parat of your screen and drop it into another program

    Cons

    Paid for it and it worked for about 4 months. Online help not any help. Stopped working after last Windows 7 update (at that time). Bought Inksaver and it works great.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 5.0 stars

    "good programme"

    June 1, 2012  |   By Melt_The_Ice

    Version: PretonSaver Home Edition 1.0.3.8

    Pros

    it does what it is supposed to do.

    Cons

    could have a better interface

    Summary

    I have bought this programme and it quite do what it is supposed to do. It does reduce the toner's consumption which allows me to save the environment and save money as well.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 4.0 stars

    "Product does just what it's supposed to."

    May 4, 2012  |   By tvaz123

    Version: PretonSaver Home Edition 1.0.3.8

    Pros

    Product does just what it's supposed to.

    Cons

    I haven't come across any problems yet.

    Summary

    Product does just what it's supposed to.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 5.0 stars

    "Quality of print excellant"

    December 12, 2011  |   By blocher72

    Version: PretonSaver Home Edition 1.0.3.8

    Pros

    I enjoy the quality of the printing, and still doesn't cost arm and leg. One of the better down loads for me. Well worth you time.

    Cons

    Could be a little faster, should not need to press print twice.Still good for printing quality.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 4.0 stars

    "Bottom line...Saves $$$$"

    December 10, 2011  |   By sdsu98

    Version: PretonSaver Home Edition 1.0.3.8

    Pros

    Stretches out the ink by allowing me to lower the print quality on docs that don't need the higher quality print.

    Cons

    None so far.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 5.0 stars

    "The best toner/ink saver software"

    December 3, 2011  |   By halftheink

    Version: PretonSaver Home Edition 1.0.3.8

    Pros

    Saves money
    Just upgraded to the new version, it was very easy
    their support really answers emails

    Cons

    The UI can be a bit nicer, but its functional.

    Summary

    I have tried several software, but this one really works. I'm using this inksaver for two years now, what can i say, i love it.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

Results 1-7 of 7

Add Your Review

Log in or create an account to post a review.
You are logged in as . Please submit your review for PretonSaver Home Edition 1.0.3.8
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Submit your reply

Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

cancel

E-mail this review

Submit cancel

Report offensive content

If you believe this comment is offensive or violates the CNET's Site Terms of Use, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the comment). Once reported, our staff will be notified and the comment will be reviewed.

Select type of offense:

Offensive: Sexually explicit or offensive language
Spam: Advertisements or commercial links
Disruptive posting: Flaming or offending other users
Illegal activities: Promote cracked software, or other illegal content
Submit cancel

See more CNET content tagged:

Previous Versions:

Error

close

ERROR MESSAGE

If you think this is an error, please contact CNET TechTracker Support for further assistance.

Ok

Running Request

close

loading

Smart Install Software

close

CNET TechTracker will now automatically install software without requiring further action by you. (Note: This feature automatically accepts associated EULAs and third party applications on your behalf.)

You have selected the following software to Smart Install:

CNET TechTracker will attempt to install this software without interrupting you again. If an application requires manual installation, CNET TechTracker will download the installer and prompt you to take further action.

Proceed with Smart Install?

Confirm Standard Install Cancel

Submit a problem report for PretonSaver Home Edition

close

Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.

Problem:

The CNET Installer isn't working as expected

The download link does not work

The software has a newer version

The software contains malware

Other

Description:

Please select a feedback type.

Please enter a description.

Submit Problem Report

Problem Report submitted

close

Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.

OK

Installed

Smart Install

About the Download.com Installer

The Download.com Installer securely delivers software from Download.com's servers to your computer. During this process, the Download.com Installer may offer other free applications provided by our partners. All offers are optional: You are not required to install any additional applications to receive the software you selected. Learn more

PretonSaver Home Edition