Movie Player Pro ActiveX Control

Movie Player Pro ActiveX Control

Average User Rating:
3.3
out of 26 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    9.2
  • Total Downloads:
    702,895
  • Date Added:
    March 18, 2014
  • File Size:
    13.81MB
  • Downloads Last Week:
    39
  • Operating Systems:
    Windows 98/XP/Vista/7/8

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+

Results 1-10 of 21

  • 1 stars

    "DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT"

    December 11, 2013   |   By staber69

    Version: Movie Player Pro ActiveX Control 9.1

    Pros

    If I must give a Pro, it is ease of install. That's it!

    Cons

    Spent over $600 and would not work in my application. After allowing the company on my machine to try and find a solution, they still refused to refund my money.

    Summary

    I waisted over 40 man hours trying to get this to work.
    I ended up using http://www.gogowishs.com/index.htm Gogowishs software active x. And it was under $100.00 where Viscom got me for over $600!!!.

    Updated on Dec 11, 2013

    Warning, I am sure the positive reviews are from VISCOM trying to boost it. Don't waist your time or money on this product!

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 2 stars

    "Good features, over-priced, unstable, no error control."

    March 20, 2013   |   By renshauger

    Version: Movie Player Pro ActiveX Control 9.0

    Pros

    The component has many desirable features and will play many video formats, but additional capability for playing the most popular current formats incurs extra cost, making the component overly expensive for what it does.

    Cons

    Be very wary of this component. It is unstable, will crash on many videos (about 1 in 5), and there is no error control to help you keep it from crashing your application (and sometimes even the system). This is a major drawback in using the component in any kind of application that you might plan to distribute.
    Having purchased the extra capability of playing MP4 files, I found many to play jerkily though they would play just fine in WinAmp, WMP, and VLC. When reporting this problem, the developer asked that I send examples. I did this and never heard back. This has remained a problem in all versions.

    Summary

    How wonderful it would be to have a component like this to include in graphics applications. Unfortunately, the instability, lack of error control, overpricing on additional formats, and inability to play all formats efficiently make it impossible to recommend this component very highly.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 5 stars

    "Wonderful solution"

    July 15, 2012   |   By hotguytools

    Version: Movie Player Pro ActiveX Control 8.7

    Pros

    I am using the movie player pro ActiveX. Wonderful solution to playback different video format. Great work and easy to implement in my application.

    Cons

    Provide more samples.

    Summary

    Wonderful solution to playback different video format

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 5 stars

    "I Like this product"

    May 23, 2012   |   By Wayne197010

    Version: Movie Player Pro ActiveX Control 8.7

    Pros

    Great products!

    Cons

    Nothing Cons up to now.

    Summary

    Love this company! Great products and support!

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 1 stars

    "BEWARE!! If it doesn't work, they will not refund!!"

    May 23, 2012   |   By staber69

    Version: Movie Player Pro ActiveX Control 8.7

    Pros

    I had to enter at least 10 characters so here they are. I can not say anything good abou thtis product or company.

    Cons

    See response from VISCOM

    Hello,
    Our activex is work, because if you run our sample, you will see, the probelm relate to your development tools.
    If you use another development tools, e.g. vb6, c#, vb.net vfp, delphi, c++, it will work. so we will not refund, the point is our activex is work.


    Alex

    ----- Original Message -----
    From: Scott
    To: support@viscomsoft.com
    Sent: Thursday, May 24, 2012 12:12 AM
    Subject: Re: movie player pro activex Order - U4252709801

    What is your time zone there? It is 12:10pm here. I would like to do this today after 6pm. Is that possible?

    I have a major concern with this is, if I am having such a difficult time getting this to work, what about when this is installed on my end users PC. I do not want to have to have a maintenance nightmare once I start distributing my product.
    I think I have been very patient so far, but this is costing very much time and I have to move on to other work.

    Summary

    I originally bought the $75 version, everything worked except capture to jpg, they told me to upgrade to $600 version. When I did it crashed every time you exit my application. I am using Powerbuilder.

    Do not buy!!

    Updated on May 26, 2012

    Since my last review viscom modified the product to work with powerbuilder. I just wished this could have happened sooner without having to post a bad review. The product is working with my app now.

    Updated on Nov 15, 2012

    I have had to remove this control from my product. It simply would not work with Sybase Powerbuilder product. What is worse is that the company refuses to refund my money. There are many other products out there. I ended up using http://www.gogowishs.com/index.htm Gogowishs software active x. And it was under $100.00 where Viscom got me for over $600!!!.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 4 stars

    "Run programs smoothly."

    May 14, 2010   |   By Udom Bamrungsri

    Version: Movie Player Pro ActiveX Control 6.8

    Pros

    It can help many programs run smoothly.

    Cons

    If I can, I don't want dialogue box pop up asking me allow it to run every time.

    Summary

    I only know that it is necessary for running programs smoothly.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 1 stars

    "False price, terrible support, mediocre product"

    June 14, 2009   |   By zgrujic

    Version: Movie Player Pro ActiveX Control 6.0

    Pros

    See for yourself, but if anything goes wrong, you will be on your own, or author will require additional money for support or bug fix

    Cons

    Shallow work, very basic and limited documentation, unclear and deceptive pricing, you will need to pay additional $400 or more for additional video formats support (*.vob, *.mpg)

    Summary

    Know this developer for 5 years, I am registered user of previous product version which appeared to be quite buggy, never got a solution or help on any reported bug, just blurbs, phrases and additional payment demands on terrible English. My advice is to go somewhere else, unless you are looking for trouble.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 1 stars

    "very low quality"

    January 28, 2009   |   By joroni

    Version: Movie Player Pro ActiveX Control 6.0

    Pros

    very low quality

    Cons

    very low quality

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 5 stars

    "does what it says"

    October 27, 2008   |   By gmellis

    Version: Movie Player Pro ActiveX Control 4.5

    Pros

    easy dowload, works as reported

    Cons

    there is nothing I don't like

    Summary

    i am not sure how it is supposed to work, but my website said i couldn't print or run some of my programs without it. I downloaded it and it works grt

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 5 stars

    "abc"

    April 20, 2008   |   By anthony pramono

    Version: Movie Player Pro ActiveX Control 4.5

    Pros

    abc

    Cons

    abc

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • Results 1-10 of 21

    Add Your Review

    Login or create an account to post a review.

    You are logged in as . Please submit your review for Movie Player Pro ActiveX Control
    Add Your Review

    The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
    Click here to review our site terms of use.

    Update your review

    Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
    Submit

    The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
    Click here to review our site terms of use.

     
    see all reviews +

    Full Specifications

    +
    What's new in version 9.2
    added Support volume boost and Auto Gain, Normalize, surround control, voice control features. fixed cannot playback vob file on windows 7, windows 8 if third party mpeg2 decoder installed. fixed open same video few times, sometimes crash issue. fixed cannot playback vob file when you VMR7. added UseVolumeBoost , VolumeAutoGain , VolumeExpandStereo, VolumeGain, VolumeNormalize, VolumeNormalizeMatrix, VolumeVoiceControl properties. added vb6, vb.net 2010, c# 2010 volume boost samples.
    General
    Publisher Viscom Software
    Publisher web site http://www.viscomsoft.com/
    Release Date March 11, 2014
    Date Added March 18, 2014
    Version 9.2
    Category
    Category Developer Tools
    Subcategory ActiveX
    Operating Systems
    Operating Systems Windows, Windows 8, Windows 98, Windows Vista, Windows XP, Windows 7
    Additional Requirements None
    Download Information
    File Size 13.81MB
    File Name movieplayerprodemosetup.exe
    Popularity
    Total Downloads 702,895
    Downloads Last Week 39
    Pricing
    License Model Free to try
    Limitations Nag screen
    Price $170

    Previous Versions:

     
    read more +

    More Products to Consider

    Close[x]

    Submit a problem report for Movie Player Pro ActiveX Control

    Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.

    Problem:

    The Download.com Installer isn't working as expected

    The download link does not work

    The software has a newer version

    The product contains malicious software

    Other

    Description:

    Please select a feedback type.

    Please enter a description.

    Submit Problem Report

    Close[x]

    Problem Report submitted

    Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.

    OK