CoolPreviews for Firefox

CoolPreviews for Firefox

Download Editors' Rating:
4
Excellent
Average User Rating:
4.0
out of 30 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    3.8
  • Total Downloads:
    25,634
  • Date Added:
    Nov. 22, 2012
  • Price:
    Free
  • File Size:
    320.75KB
  • Downloads Last Week:
    2
  • Platform:
    Windows

Editors' Note: The Download Now link will prompt a local download of the Firefox extension. To install the extension directly, open the file using your Firefox browser.

Editors' Review

+

If you have too many links to look through, the CoolPreviews browser extension for Firefox, IE, and Safari might be what you're looking for. It opens a preview window to any link you mouse over when you point your cursor to an individual search result. A small, translucent blue box appears. Mouse over that and CoolPreviews pops up a floating window with that link's contents.

The extension comes with many useful options. It allows the user to change the size of the pop-up window, e-mail the previewed link to a friend, and "stack" the link, which is CoolPreviews-speak for temporary bookmarking. You can prefetch pages into memory, which is helpful if you lack a broadband connection. By clicking on a link in the preview pane, it opens in the same pane, so there's no messy jumping around. Other features include changing the CoolPreviews activator from a mouse-over link to a click or adding a Control key into the mix to avoid accidental previews.

Attractive to anyone who spends considerable time parsing through search results and uncomplicated to use, CoolPreviews should have a broad appeal to those who want to cut down on needless page loading.

 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+

Results 1–10 of 27

5 stars

"LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this!!"

November 16, 2011  |  By vvwebb

 |  Version: CoolPreviews for Firefox 3.5

Pros

Not only can you see other pages, you can close tabs in them. It saves me a lot of time opening up tabs.

Cons

The previews can be small, but I don't have a problem seeing it.

Summary

awesome! My favorite add on by far!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

5 stars

"MAN! YOU HAVE GOT TO ADD THIS TO FIREFOX!"

July 05, 2010  |  By renardxw59

 |  Version: CoolPreviews for Firefox 3.1.0625

Pros

JUST TRY IT!

Cons

NONE! WORKS WONDERFULLY!

Summary

MAKE SURE AFTER YOU DOWNLOAD FIREFOX 3.6 YOU INSTALL THIS ADD ON

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

1 stars

"Incmpaitable"

December 13, 2009  |  By rengaramanujan

 |  Version: CoolPreviews for Firefox 2.6.4

Pros

I am using Firefox v 3.6 Beta4 .this plugin is not compaitable to this version

Cons

I am using Firefox v 3.6 Beta4 .this plugin is not compaitable to this version

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

5 stars

"Great alternative to waiting for a bulky browser."

September 28, 2009  |  By Saint_Rapier

 |  Version: CoolPreviews for Firefox 2.6.4

Pros

The pros are it can be adjusted, timed, and locked with the user able to still function on their main browser window, while being able to navigate in an additional window.

Cons

Maybe it could include a wizard like dialog box where it explains different usage features and/or performance settings. To better sync the user and software.

Summary

As long as the internet connection is working, you can create and navigate an additional window. Allowing you to save time by seeing results in an adjusted screen. This keeps from having to reload the much slower commercial browser and instead, get an instant first look with adjustable time hover over a small icon.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

4 stars

"Cooliris is cool......"

September 03, 2008  |  By istrifrec

 |  Version: CoolIris Previews 2.4.2

Pros

Amazing product.
I'm browsing with it more than with Firefox !

Cons

Wish it was a little bit faster when loading pages.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)

5 stars

"GREAT!!! A+++"

December 15, 2007  |  By DR .No

 |  Version: CoolIris Previews 2.4.2

Pros

What a fanatstic piece of work from these guys! I love the way you can, stack websites, images whatever. The days are gone of clicking on a site to preview, this is handy for checking out images closer up too! Along with tab mix plus this is a must for any Firefox fan!

Cons

None

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)

5 stars

"The Super Cool Cooliris"

October 24, 2007  |  By hiqutipie

 |  Version: CoolIris Previews 2.4.2

Pros

It is amazing... easy to use...and I don't leave home without it...Any Firefox User should have it...It shows you what the next page is going to look like before you get there without having to go there... It sits in the Firefox status bar and only pops up when it sees a link, so its always out of the way but always ready to be used....With an easy set-up...Its just one of those Must have Tools....

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)

5 stars

"This program could well be the greatest invention since Google!"

August 09, 2007  |  By susanfz

 |  Version: CoolIris Previews 2.3.9

Pros

I don't know about anyone else, but even since the advent of tabbed browsing, I've gotten tired of having to remember to manually open a new tab when I want to see what's next. Now I don't have to since, although CoolIris doesn't preview pages within its preview pages, at least I don't need to open a new window unless I KNOW I want to!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)

5 stars

"it's very cool!!!"

July 02, 2007  |  By wilagia

 |  Version: CoolIris Previews 2.3.9

Pros

you can save time and clicks with this software, it's very usefull!!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)

2 stars

"Doesn't do it for me"

June 26, 2007  |  By nigc

 |  Version: CoolIris Previews 2.3.9

Cons

Previews too heavily cropped. Resizing the preview window failed to help as all I got afterwards was a tiny blue thumbnail which wouldn't respond to any action. More of a nuisance than a help.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)

Results 1–10 of 27

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for CoolPreviews for Firefox
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update your review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 3.8
Version 3.8 has fixed Google Images, so that the previews display images in full size.
General
Publisher Cooliris
Publisher web site http://www.cooliris.com
Release Date November 14, 2012
Date Added November 22, 2012
Version 3.8
Category
Category Browsers
Subcategory Firefox Add-ons & Plugins
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Windows 2000, Windows Me, Windows 98, Windows, Windows XP, Windows NT, Windows Vista
Additional Requirements Firefox 3.6 and later
Download Information
File Size 320.75KB
File Name coolpreviews-3.8-fx.xpi
Popularity
Total Downloads 25,634
Downloads Last Week 2
Pricing
License Model Free
Limitations Not available
Price Free

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +

More Products to Consider

Close[x]

Submit a problem report for CoolPreviews for Firefox

Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.

Problem:

The Download.com Installer isn't working as expected

The download link does not work

The software has a newer version

The product contains malicious software

Other

Description:

Please select a feedback type.

Please enter a description.

Submit Problem Report

Close[x]

Problem Report submitted

Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.

OK