CoolPreviews for Internet Explorer

CoolPreviews for Internet Explorer

Download Editors' Rating:
4
Excellent
Average User Rating:
1.7
out of 6 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    1.0
  • Total Downloads:
    4,580
  • Date Added:
    Sep. 16, 2008
  • Price:
    Free
  • File Size:
    3.48MB
  • Downloads Last Week:
    5
  • Platform:
    Windows

Editors' Review

+

If you have too many links to look through, the CoolPreviews browser extension for Firefox, IE, and Safari might be what you're looking for. It opens a preview window to any link you mouse over when you point your cursor to an individual search result. A small, translucent blue box appears. Mouse over that and CoolPreviews pops up a floating window with that link's contents.

The extension comes with many useful options. It allows the user to change the size of the pop-up window, e-mail the previewed link to a friend, and "stack" the link, which is CoolPreviews-speak for temporary bookmarking. You can prefetch pages into memory, which is helpful if you lack a broadband connection. By clicking on a link in the preview pane, it opens in the same pane, so there's no messy jumping around. Other features include changing the CoolPreviews activator from a mouse-over link to a click or adding a Control key into the mix to avoid accidental previews.

Attractive to anyone who spends considerable time parsing through search results and uncomplicated to use, CoolPreviews should have a broad appeal to those who want to cut down on needless page loading.

 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+

Results 1–6 of 6

5 stars

"Easy and handy to use. Fast scanning of web pages."

August 28, 2013  |  By NYYJones

 |  Version: CoolPreviews for Internet Explorer 1.0

Pros

Easy to use.
Makes checking links for info much faster.
Able to downlosd files from within the pop up web page.

Cons

Sometimes hangs, but hovering again usually works.

Summary

Works great for both research and when you're looking for drivers or even perusing CNET for articles or downloads. You can download from the within the page as well, which is sweet.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

1 stars

"Does not work for me."

July 31, 2010  |  By smbillick

 |  Version: CoolPreviews for Internet Explorer 1.0

Pros

No pros at all.

Cons

Does not work.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

1 stars

"Something's Fishy"

June 06, 2010  |  By OCX-Daemon

 |  Version: CoolPreviews for Internet Explorer 1.0

Pros

Amazing and truly wonderful in Firefox; one of my favorite FF add-ons

Cons

Sadly, doesn't work for Internet Explorer

Summary

I don't know if it actually works. It changed my scripting settings to something I wasn't comfortable with. It wouldn't run without the modified settings, even though I do have other extensions that (sensibly) don't require you to change security settings to allow them to run. In the end, I just uninstalled it. I've had bad experiences with Cooliris and my graphics card, and I just don't feel like going through another fiasco from a related product. Plus, I would rather not pull an obvious stupid.

Annoyingly enough, it tried to pass itself off as Cooliris in the downloader. Perhaps I should have taken a hint there.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

1 stars

"loads but dose not seem to work in I.E.7"

April 29, 2009  |  By rester

 |  Version: CoolPreviews for Internet Explorer 1.0

Pros

works great with ff.

Cons

dosen't work.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

1 stars

"Be careful here"

December 07, 2008  |  By smithkm71

 |  Version: CoolPreviews for Internet Explorer 1.0

Pros

I didn't run the program **see below**

Cons

Installation changes IE security setting to allow a script to run. This causes IE to (freak out) display a warning page and banner. It is up to you if you want to risk it, but I will not...

Summary

It sounds like it might be a useful tool, but it needs to run without changing the IE security settings.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

1 stars

"Keylogger!"

October 19, 2008  |  By airbot

 |  Version: CoolPreviews for Internet Explorer 1.0

Pros

No pros, didn't even work.

Cons

Downloaded, no EULA, then I opened up IE and got a blank about:SecurityAdvisor page. Gave me Mom Knows Best keylogger.

Summary

Don't waste your time, just spyware. Wake up CNET.

Updated on Dec 7, 2008

You cannot be serious. Internet Explorer is not a keylogger you moron. It's been around for ages and is one of the first browsers there was. You even say you use IE in your other post so don't contradict yourself. And what does zonealarm know.

Reply to this review Read reply (1)

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)

Results 1–6 of 6

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for CoolPreviews for Internet Explorer
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update your review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 1.0
This version is the first release on CNET Download.com.
General
Publisher Cooliris
Publisher web site http://www.cooliris.com
Release Date September 16, 2008
Date Added September 16, 2008
Version 1.0
Category
Category Browsers
Subcategory Internet Explorer Add-ons & Plugins
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Windows, Windows XP
Additional Requirements Windows XP, Internet Explorer 6.0
Download Information
File Size 3.48MB
File Name Cooliris_Previews_IE.exe
Popularity
Total Downloads 4,580
Downloads Last Week 5
Pricing
License Model Free
Limitations Not available
Price Free
Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +

More Products to Consider

Close[x]

Submit a problem report for CoolPreviews for Internet Explorer

Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.

Problem:

The Download.com Installer isn't working as expected

The download link does not work

The software has a newer version

The product contains malicious software

Other

Description:

Please select a feedback type.

Please enter a description.

Submit Problem Report

Close[x]

Problem Report submitted

Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.

OK