CoolPreviews for Internet Explorer

CoolPreviews for Internet Explorer


Editors' Rating:
4
Excellent
Average User Rating:
1.7
out of 6 votes
See all user reviews

Quick Specs

Version:
1.0
File Size:
3.48MB
Date Added:
September 16, 2008
Price:
Free
Operating Systems:
Windows/XP
Total Downloads:
4,479
Downloads Last Week:
3
Additional Requirements:
Windows XP, Internet Explorer 6.0

Editors' review

If you have too many links to look through, the CoolPreviews browser extension for Firefox, IE, and Safari might be what you're looking for. It opens a preview window to any link you mouse over when you point your cursor to an individual search result. A small, translucent blue box appears. Mouse over that and CoolPreviews pops up a floating window with that link's contents.

The extension comes with many useful options. It allows the user to change the size of the pop-up window, e-mail the previewed link to a friend, and "stack" the link, which is CoolPreviews-speak for temporary bookmarking. You can prefetch pages into memory, which is helpful if you lack a broadband connection. By clicking on a link in the preview pane, it opens in the same pane, so there's no messy jumping around. Other features include changing the CoolPreviews activator from a mouse-over link to a click or adding a Control key into the mix to avoid accidental previews.

Attractive to anyone who spends considerable time parsing through search results and uncomplicated to use, CoolPreviews should have a broad appeal to those who want to cut down on needless page loading.

Publisher's Description

More Products to Consider

All User Reviews
  • All Versions:

    1.7

    out of 6 votes

    • 5 star: 1
    • 4 star: 0
    • 3 star: 0
    • 2 star: 0
    • 1 star: 5
  • Current Version:

    1.7

    out of 6 votes

    • 5 star: 1
    • 4 star: 0
    • 3 star: 0
    • 2 star: 0
    • 1 star: 5
  • My rating:

    0 stars

    Write review

    Results 1-6 of 6

  • 5 stars

    "Easy and handy to use. Fast scanning of web pages."

    August 28, 2013   |   By NYYJones

    Version: CoolPreviews for Internet Explorer 1.0

    Pros

    Easy to use.
    Makes checking links for info much faster.
    Able to downlosd files from within the pop up web page.

    Cons

    Sometimes hangs, but hovering again usually works.

    Summary

    Works great for both research and when you're looking for drivers or even perusing CNET for articles or downloads. You can download from the within the page as well, which is sweet.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 1 stars

    "Does not work for me."

    July 31, 2010   |   By smbillick

    Version: CoolPreviews for Internet Explorer 1.0

    Pros

    No pros at all.

    Cons

    Does not work.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 1 stars

    "Something's Fishy"

    June 06, 2010   |   By OCX-Daemon

    Version: CoolPreviews for Internet Explorer 1.0

    Pros

    Amazing and truly wonderful in Firefox; one of my favorite FF add-ons

    Cons

    Sadly, doesn't work for Internet Explorer

    Summary

    I don't know if it actually works. It changed my scripting settings to something I wasn't comfortable with. It wouldn't run without the modified settings, even though I do have other extensions that (sensibly) don't require you to change security settings to allow them to run. In the end, I just uninstalled it. I've had bad experiences with Cooliris and my graphics card, and I just don't feel like going through another fiasco from a related product. Plus, I would rather not pull an obvious stupid.

    Annoyingly enough, it tried to pass itself off as Cooliris in the downloader. Perhaps I should have taken a hint there.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 1 stars

    "loads but dose not seem to work in I.E.7"

    April 29, 2009   |   By rester

    Version: CoolPreviews for Internet Explorer 1.0

    Pros

    works great with ff.

    Cons

    dosen't work.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 1 stars

    "Be careful here"

    December 07, 2008   |   By smithkm71

    Version: CoolPreviews for Internet Explorer 1.0

    Pros

    I didn't run the program **see below**

    Cons

    Installation changes IE security setting to allow a script to run. This causes IE to (freak out) display a warning page and banner. It is up to you if you want to risk it, but I will not...

    Summary

    It sounds like it might be a useful tool, but it needs to run without changing the IE security settings.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 1 stars

    "Keylogger!"

    October 19, 2008   |   By airbot

    Version: CoolPreviews for Internet Explorer 1.0

    Pros

    No pros, didn't even work.

    Cons

    Downloaded, no EULA, then I opened up IE and got a blank about:SecurityAdvisor page. Gave me Mom Knows Best keylogger.

    Summary

    Don't waste your time, just spyware. Wake up CNET.

    Updated on Dec 7, 2008

    You cannot be serious. Internet Explorer is not a keylogger you moron. It's been around for ages and is one of the first browsers there was. You even say you use IE in your other post so don't contradict yourself. And what does zonealarm know.

    Reply to this review Read reply (1)

    Was this review helpful? (0) (1)

  • Results 1-6 of 6

Add Your Review

Quickly sign in with: or Login or create an account to post a review.
You are logged in as . Please submit your review for CoolPreviews for Internet Explorer
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update your review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Close[x]

Submit a problem report for CoolPreviews for Internet Explorer

Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.

Problem:

The Download.com Installer isn't working as expected

The download link does not work

The software has a newer version

The product contains malicious software

Other

Description:

Please select a feedback type.

Please enter a description.

Submit Problem Report

Close[x]

Problem Report submitted

Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.

OK