Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

Mozilla Firefox

Free
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
Outstanding
Average User Rating:
out of 15649 votes out of 0 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    46.0.1
  • Total Downloads:
    49,272,613
  • Date Added:
    May 04, 2016
  • Price:
    Free
  • File Size:
    42.44MB
  • Downloads Last Week:
    26,129
  • Platform:
    Windows
  • Product ranking:
    #1 in Web Browsers

Editors' Review

+

The Mozilla Firefox web browser has been updated for Windows 10, which introduced a different way of assigning default programs that requires a few more clicks and greater familiarity with the operating system's interface. You also get a more streamlined installation process, some visual tweaks, and a more secure add-on development process.

Pros

Add-on certification: Mozilla is attempting to make its add-ons safer by introducing certification. Developers must now adhere to a set of standards if they want to continue offering their add-ons. This standardization should reduce malicious hacks (not that there were many to begin with).

Search box utility: To the right of the address bar is a box that takes search queries. The advantage over Chrome is that you can search sites like IMDb, Amazon, and Wikipedia directly, without having to load them (or Google.com) first. This is helpful if you have a spotty connection or low data caps, or if you don't want Google logging your searches.

Smooth options navigation: Chrome bunches its settings onto one page, with small fonts and an inconsistent mix of buttons, links, and checkboxes. By contrast, Firefox's settings are cleanly categorized and subcategorized with tabs and a left-hand pane. When you want more explanation for what a setting does, just click the questi0n mark box in the lower right of the option page.

Enhanced password security: Unlike Chrome, passwords you save in Firefox are encrypted, and you can protect them with a master password. This function does not transmit your passwords into a cloud storage system, unless you want to use Firefox Sync, which is optional and can operate alongside Firefox's local password storage.

Smoother scrolling: Whether you're scrolling with a mouse wheel, the arrow keys, or the Page Up/Page Down keys, Firefox moves the webpage up and down with a gliding action that makes it easier to track how you're moving on the page. It's not as slick as the scroll in Internet Explorer 11 or Microsoft Edge, but it's better than Chrome's jumpy technique.

Cons

Australis could still use a few tweaks: The Australis redesign in April 2014 changed every aspect of Firefox's interface, and not all of it for the better. There's still no way to resize buttons, the icons in the upper right are monochromatic and thus more difficult to distinguish, and the original main menu button had a more compact menu. Thankfully, you can get most of the old functionality back with the free Classic Theme Restorer add-on.

Underwhelming add-on discovery: Comparing Mozilla's add-on website to Google's, Google delivers more relevant search results and more visual aids showing how the add-on looks and what it does.

Bottom Line

Firefox for Windows 10 isn't a whole lot different from the version that we reviewed in April 2014, but it's still an excellent browser that performs well against the competition, even exceeding it in a few areas.

 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+
  • Current Version

    0 stars Be the first to review this product
  • All Versions

    4.3

    out of 15649 votes

    • 5 star 10328
    • 4 star 2431
    • 3 star 993
    • 2 star 668
    • 1 star 1229
  • My rating

    0 stars

    Write review

Results 1–10 of 14472

2 stars

"always redirecting!!!!"

April 01, 2016  |  By superghil

2016-04-01 20:21:22  |  By superghil

 |  Version: Mozilla Firefox 45.0

Pros

i don't know if any in this latest update..

Cons

when i click to some website,always redirect me to somewhere else,it's time consuming..nonsense...

Summary

not good not good...

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"Forget trying to pay Facebook games with 64 bit Firefox"

April 01, 2016  |  By zobva

2016-04-01 07:32:06  |  By zobva

 |  Version: Mozilla Firefox 45.0

Pros

Faster than the 32 bit version

Cons

Disables 2/3 of add-ons and no longer supports most plugins including Java.

Summary

The latest iteration of Firefox kind of destroys the reason people turned to it in the first place. Now it's worse than Internet Explorer.

Reply to this review Read reply (1)

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Good stuff to know"

March 16, 2016  |  By userdown16

2016-03-16 08:26:13  |  By userdown16

 |  Version: Mozilla Firefox 45.0

Pros

interesting

Cons

Very good product

Summary



Updated on Mar 16, 2016

good to know

Reply to this review Read reply (1)

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

4 stars

"V43 went back a step."

January 26, 2016  |  By RJL Onthemove

2016-01-26 05:43:16  |  By RJL Onthemove

 |  Version: Mozilla Firefox 43.0.4

Pros

Still a good package but ....

Cons

Now, can't 'Open in a new tab'.

Very, very annoying!

Summary

Too hasty to launch the new version without proper testing

Reply to this review Read replies (3)

Was this review helpful? (1)   (1)  

4 stars

"For Sure It Is The Best Browser Available"

January 12, 2016  |  By jtomcoburn

2016-01-12 10:44:57  |  By jtomcoburn

 |  Version: Mozilla Firefox 43.0.4

Pros

It is easy to use, has many add-on apps available and I understand it is more secure than other browsers. I have used it for a number of years now and wouldn't consider another browser. It used to have problems displaying some pages correctly and I occasionally had to use IE on some sites. But this never happens anymore.

Cons

1. The password and login utilities don't work on all sites. They could improve this. I use a master password which I understand makes FF more secure. I have to say I have tried some other high security password/login management software, but actually FF works better than these functionally. I am not sure about the security comparison.
2. You can block sites you don't want from installing their cookies, but I have found in some cases that I have blocked a site and somehow the site gets removed from from the blocked list and their cookies show up again.

Summary

All in all for free software (which I think all browsers are) you can't beat it.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (1)  

5 stars

"you can now have firefox as 64bit"

December 20, 2015

2015-12-20 03:52:26

 |  Version: Mozilla Firefox 43.0.1

Pros

firefox now comes as 64bit this runs much faster than the 32bit.

Cons

some add-on's may not work with the firefox 64bit. lasspass is one that you have to remove then redownload to work with firefox 43. 64bit & 32bit.

Reply to this review Read reply (1)

Was this review helpful? (4)   (1)  

3 stars

"Why wait so long for serch suggestion option in loc bar"

November 22, 2015  |  By karakteran

2015-11-22 04:28:05  |  By karakteran

 |  Version: Mozilla Firefox 42.0

Pros

free of charge, australis looks good, nice bookmarks bar but could it be better if you squeeze bookmarks little bit more there are space between available and put menu bar in customisation drop down menu!

Cons

a lot cosmetically issues which turn to be nothing but functional issues.

Summary

dear mozilla if you read this and i know you do, please let us know when do you intend to add search suggestion option in location bar?

Where is search suggestions option in location bar? all other major browsers has it long time ago, what are you waiting for?

btw when FF shuts down it takes forever to shuts down all of FF processes!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

2 stars

"Nothing special Pale Moon is better BetterPrivacy gone"

November 20, 2015  |  By musicman4you

2015-11-20 01:44:44  |  By musicman4you

 |  Version: Mozilla Firefox 42.0

Pros

It is a okay browser.Pale Moon is much better for me.Firefox is slower.For videos Opera is even faster than Firefox.Not a Pro but thought I would mention it.

Cons

It dosen't work with CCLeaner very well.I have to set it up to use CCLeaner on Exit.It doesn't work if I don't.If I want to use Facebook or watch videos Opera and Pale Moon are way faster....Also I will not use Firefox anymore until they get BetterPrivacy working again to get rid of Flash cookies or Super Cookies stored in the Browser

Summary

Also I will not use Firefox anymore until they get BetterPrivacy working again to get rid of Flash cookies or Super Cookies stored in the Browser.I wish all of my browsing and download history along with Logins would delete with CCLeaner when I run it myself but it shows nothing with CCLeaner so I have Firefox set to run CCLeaner on Exit..I guess it is deleting everything ???? Not sure..Freezes sometimes also on Facebook.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"Crashes every second after an update."

November 19, 2015  |  By Holybride

2015-11-19 22:04:20  |  By Holybride

 |  Version: Mozilla Firefox 42.0

Pros

It was fine, now it's a crap!

Cons

Crashed a second after loading. Never loaded, kept on crashing.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

2 stars

"Crap Program - Don't waste your time!"

October 28, 2015

2015-10-28 10:29:35

 |  Version: Mozilla Firefox 41.0.2

Pros

It's not Internet Explorere or Google

Cons

It updates every other day, causing it to crash constantly. Adobe Flashplayer is constantly freezing up and never works properly and everytime they update you loose most of your add-ons like Norton Toolbar because they aren't compatible.

Summary

Have been using Firefox for several years and deleted it permanently recently due to its inability to to not cause me to want to pull my hair out daily. Every day it either updates, crashes or both and usually when I am in the middle of something. I use Norton and have for years and have always loved the toolbar feature for passwords etc.... unfortunately, it barely ever works in firefox because every time they update, they disable it and make it incompatible with their browser! ***???? Norton is a majorly used internet security program and your "bug fixes" won't allow Norton users to add their toolbar....... all in all has quickly become one of the worst browsers ever used! Deleted forever with no chance of reconsideration.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (2)  

Results 1–10 of 14472

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for Mozilla Firefox
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 46.0.1
  • Fixed: Add-on signing certificate expiration
  • Fixed: Service worker update issue
  • Fixed: Build issue when jit is disabled
  • Fixed: Page loading issue related to antivirus software
  • Fixed: Search plugin issue for various locales
  • Fixed: Limit Sync registration updates
General
Publisher Mozilla
Publisher web site http://www.mozilla.org/
Release Date May 03, 2016
Date Added May 04, 2016
Version 46.0.1
Category
Category Browsers
Subcategory Web Browsers
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Windows 2000/XP/2003/Vista/7/8/8.1
Additional Requirements None
Download Information
File Size 42.44MB
File Name Firefox Setup 46.0.1.exe
Popularity
Total Downloads 49,272,613
Downloads Last Week 26,129
Pricing
License Model Free
Limitations Not available
Price Free

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +

More Products to Consider

Close[x]

Submit a problem report for Mozilla Firefox

Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.

Problem:

The Download.com Installer isn't working as expected

The download link does not work

The software has a newer version

The product contains malicious software

Other

Description:

Please select a feedback type.

Please enter a description.

Submit Problem Report

Close[x]

Problem Report submitted

Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.

OK