Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

Mozilla Firefox

Free
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
Outstanding
Average User Rating:
out of 15652 votes out of 0 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    48.0.2
  • Total Downloads:
    49,686,829
  • Date Added:
    Aug. 25, 2016
  • Price:
    Free
  • File Size:
    43.08MB
  • Downloads Last Week:
    19,615
  • Platform:
    Windows
  • Product ranking:
    #1 in Web Browsers

Editors' Review

+

The Mozilla Firefox web browser has been updated for Windows 10, which introduced a different way of assigning default programs that requires a few more clicks and greater familiarity with the operating system's interface. You also get a more streamlined installation process, some visual tweaks, and a more secure add-on development process.

Pros

Add-on certification: Mozilla is attempting to make its add-ons safer by introducing certification. Developers must now adhere to a set of standards if they want to continue offering their add-ons. This standardization should reduce malicious hacks (not that there were many to begin with).

Search box utility: To the right of the address bar is a box that takes search queries. The advantage over Chrome is that you can search sites like IMDb, Amazon, and Wikipedia directly, without having to load them (or Google.com) first. This is helpful if you have a spotty connection or low data caps, or if you don't want Google logging your searches.

Smooth options navigation: Chrome bunches its settings onto one page, with small fonts and an inconsistent mix of buttons, links, and checkboxes. By contrast, Firefox's settings are cleanly categorized and subcategorized with tabs and a left-hand pane. When you want more explanation for what a setting does, just click the questi0n mark box in the lower right of the option page.

Enhanced password security: Unlike Chrome, passwords you save in Firefox are encrypted, and you can protect them with a master password. This function does not transmit your passwords into a cloud storage system, unless you want to use Firefox Sync, which is optional and can operate alongside Firefox's local password storage.

Smoother scrolling: Whether you're scrolling with a mouse wheel, the arrow keys, or the Page Up/Page Down keys, Firefox moves the webpage up and down with a gliding action that makes it easier to track how you're moving on the page. It's not as slick as the scroll in Internet Explorer 11 or Microsoft Edge, but it's better than Chrome's jumpy technique.

Cons

Australis could still use a few tweaks: The Australis redesign in April 2014 changed every aspect of Firefox's interface, and not all of it for the better. There's still no way to resize buttons, the icons in the upper right are monochromatic and thus more difficult to distinguish, and the original main menu button had a more compact menu. Thankfully, you can get most of the old functionality back with the free Classic Theme Restorer add-on.

Underwhelming add-on discovery: Comparing Mozilla's add-on website to Google's, Google delivers more relevant search results and more visual aids showing how the add-on looks and what it does.

Bottom Line

Firefox for Windows 10 isn't a whole lot different from the version that we reviewed in April 2014, but it's still an excellent browser that performs well against the competition, even exceeding it in a few areas.

 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+
  • Current Version

    0 stars Be the first to review this product
  • All Versions

    4.3

    out of 15652 votes

    • 5 star 10328
    • 4 star 2432
    • 3 star 993
    • 2 star 668
    • 1 star 1231
  • My rating

    0 stars

    Write review

Results 1–10 of 14475

4 stars

"How do you know that updates come from Mozilla?"

July 01, 2016  |  By anthonychinnis

2016-07-01 13:27:58  |  By anthonychinnis

 |  Version: Mozilla Firefox 47.0.1

Pros

It installs faster

Cons

Is this from mozilla for fire fox
windows 10 protected your PC
smartscreen prevented unrecognized app from starting
app: firefox-patch.exe
publisher: tiks it, OOO
I got it and windows don't think it safe to install

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"It's very good product"

June 17, 2016  |  By userdown159

2016-06-17 03:26:11  |  By userdown159

 |  Version: Mozilla Firefox 47.0

Pros

Simply the best

Cons

None can be found

Summary



Updated on Jun 17, 2016

Best release

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"WARNING: No longer blocks ads"

June 07, 2016  |  By Vanillaman

2016-06-07 10:29:24  |  By Vanillaman

 |  Version: Mozilla Firefox 46.0.1

Pros

None whatsoever

Cons

Ever since updating to Freezefox v46, `all' adblocker add-ons fail to work. Then I downgraded to 45.0.2 and the problem persists. I scanned for spyware, malware, viruses, removed BHO as well as remove some add-ons. However, the problem persists.

Summary

No longer safe to use

Reply to this review Read reply (1)

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"Did All the Great Programmers Quit at Mozilla?"

May 25, 2016  |  By Cypherdude

2016-05-25 19:37:36  |  By Cypherdude

 |  Version: Mozilla Firefox 46.0.1

Pros

See my System Specs in the Summary Section Below.
1. Has not crashed in 8 days after upgrade to v46.0.1. However, v41.0.2 was just as stable (except for printing to Adobe PDF or Microsoft XPS files as usual).
2. Has more features than Internet Explorer 11.
3. FireFox (FF) is more customizable than IE11.
4. FF HTML5 YouTube video has all video quality options (240p, 360p, 480p, 720p, 1080p). IE11 HTML5 (so far for me) only has 2 (360p, 720p).
5. Can more easily move FF bookmarks from one PC to another than IE.

Cons

1. Uses MANY more CPU cycles. FF v46.0.1 is far more inefficient than v41.0.2.
1a. CPU usage with v46 jumps more and stays higher than v41.
2. Does not render eBay search results correctly! The first 3 results are whited out! What's with that?! IE11 does render eBay search results correctly.
3. As usual, using the printer drivers for printing to Adobe PDF or Microsoft XPS files causes FireFox to APPCRASH. IE11 has never crashed.

Summary

I don't know what's happening over at Mozilla but their new release is terrible! Did all of their great programmers quit, move on even? FireFox (FF) v46.0.1 uses MANY more CPU cycles than FF v41.0.2. FF v46 is far more inefficient than v41. v41 was quicker and nimbler. CPU usage with v46 jumps more & stays higher than v41 & my desktop uses an Intel i7. I tried to fix v46 by reducing my cache from 300 MB to 200 MB but nothing changed.

FF v46 does NOT render eBay search results correctly! The first 3 results are whited out! What's with that?! I tried to fix the problem by disabling Adblock Plus but there was no change. IE11 does render eBay search results correctly. I never had this problem with FF before! In addition, a few years ago, FF started APPCRASHing whenever I tried to use the printer drivers for printing to Adobe PDF files or Microsoft XPS files. Mozilla never fixed this problem. IE11 does not APPCRASH. Now I will have to use IE11 not only to Adobe PDF print to file my receipts but also just to view eBay search results!

I would like to downgrade to v41.0.2 but I don't know if Mozilla's FireFox can even do that. I would rather not uninstall because I have made numerous small tweaks to FF such as enabling the spell checker in all the boxes, larger text sizes, etc... I can't remember all of the tweaks.

My system specs:
Asus P7P55D-E Pro mobo, Intel i7, 16 GB RAM, SanDisk Extreme II SSD 480 GB
Windows 7-64 Pro

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (2)   (0)  

2 stars

"always redirecting!!!!"

April 01, 2016  |  By superghil

2016-04-01 20:21:22  |  By superghil

 |  Version: Mozilla Firefox 45.0

Pros

i don't know if any in this latest update..

Cons

when i click to some website,always redirect me to somewhere else,it's time consuming..nonsense...

Summary

not good not good...

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"Forget trying to pay Facebook games with 64 bit Firefox"

April 01, 2016  |  By zobva

2016-04-01 07:32:06  |  By zobva

 |  Version: Mozilla Firefox 45.0

Pros

Faster than the 32 bit version

Cons

Disables 2/3 of add-ons and no longer supports most plugins including Java.

Summary

The latest iteration of Firefox kind of destroys the reason people turned to it in the first place. Now it's worse than Internet Explorer.

Reply to this review Read reply (1)

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

4 stars

"V43 went back a step."

January 26, 2016  |  By RJL Onthemove

2016-01-26 05:43:16  |  By RJL Onthemove

 |  Version: Mozilla Firefox 43.0.4

Pros

Still a good package but ....

Cons

Now, can't 'Open in a new tab'.

Very, very annoying!

Summary

Too hasty to launch the new version without proper testing

Reply to this review Read replies (3)

Was this review helpful? (1)   (1)  

4 stars

"For Sure It Is The Best Browser Available"

January 12, 2016  |  By jtomcoburn

2016-01-12 10:44:57  |  By jtomcoburn

 |  Version: Mozilla Firefox 43.0.4

Pros

It is easy to use, has many add-on apps available and I understand it is more secure than other browsers. I have used it for a number of years now and wouldn't consider another browser. It used to have problems displaying some pages correctly and I occasionally had to use IE on some sites. But this never happens anymore.

Cons

1. The password and login utilities don't work on all sites. They could improve this. I use a master password which I understand makes FF more secure. I have to say I have tried some other high security password/login management software, but actually FF works better than these functionally. I am not sure about the security comparison.
2. You can block sites you don't want from installing their cookies, but I have found in some cases that I have blocked a site and somehow the site gets removed from from the blocked list and their cookies show up again.

Summary

All in all for free software (which I think all browsers are) you can't beat it.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (1)  

5 stars

"you can now have firefox as 64bit"

December 20, 2015

2015-12-20 03:52:26

 |  Version: Mozilla Firefox 43.0.1

Pros

firefox now comes as 64bit this runs much faster than the 32bit.

Cons

some add-on's may not work with the firefox 64bit. lasspass is one that you have to remove then redownload to work with firefox 43. 64bit & 32bit.

Reply to this review Read reply (1)

Was this review helpful? (4)   (1)  

3 stars

"Why wait so long for serch suggestion option in loc bar"

November 22, 2015  |  By karakteran

2015-11-22 04:28:05  |  By karakteran

 |  Version: Mozilla Firefox 42.0

Pros

free of charge, australis looks good, nice bookmarks bar but could it be better if you squeeze bookmarks little bit more there are space between available and put menu bar in customisation drop down menu!

Cons

a lot cosmetically issues which turn to be nothing but functional issues.

Summary

dear mozilla if you read this and i know you do, please let us know when do you intend to add search suggestion option in location bar?

Where is search suggestions option in location bar? all other major browsers has it long time ago, what are you waiting for?

btw when FF shuts down it takes forever to shuts down all of FF processes!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

Results 1–10 of 14475

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for Mozilla Firefox
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 48.0.2
Fix a startup crash issue caused by Websense (Windows only).
General
Publisher Mozilla
Publisher web site http://www.mozilla.org/
Release Date August 24, 2016
Date Added August 25, 2016
Version 48.0.2
Category
Category Browsers
Subcategory Web Browsers
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Windows 2000/XP/2003/Vista/7/8/8.1/10
Additional Requirements None
Download Information
File Size 43.08MB
File Name Firefox Setup 48.0.2.exe
Popularity
Total Downloads 49,686,829
Downloads Last Week 19,615
Pricing
License Model Free
Limitations Not available
Price Free

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +

More Products to Consider

Close[x]

Submit a problem report for Mozilla Firefox

Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.

Problem:

The Download.com Installer isn't working as expected

The download link does not work

The software has a newer version

The product contains malicious software

Other

Description:

Please select a feedback type.

Please enter a description.

Submit Problem Report

Close[x]

Problem Report submitted

Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.

OK