Download.com
  • Navigation
  • offene Suche
Schließen

PLATTFORMEN

BELIEBTE LINKS

KATEGORIEN

HILFE & EINSTELLUNGEN

Bewertung

Willkommen in der Chrome Kanal. Googles Betriebssystem lief innen Dezember 2010 als seiend wenig mehr als alles Chrome, alle Zeit an. Updates seitdem gemacht haben Chrome OS-Anwender besser Dateiformat-Unterstützung, schnellere Navigation, überarbeitete Menüs, dramatisch verbessert offline Fähigkeiten und einem traditionellen aussehende DeskTop .

Aber wenn Sie verabscheuen die Chrome Browser, es ist immer noch sehr unwahrscheinlich, dass Sie dieses Betriebssystem zu genießen. Auf der anderen Seite, wenn Sie die Liebe Chrome , Dann Chrome OS ist ein großer gehörigen Portion Chrome mit einigen zusätzlichen Chrome auf der Seite und Chrome zum Nachtisch.

Wie Chrome der Browser, Chrome -The-OS verfügt über eine frei verfügbare Open-Source-Geschwister, die so genannte Chromium OS. Wenn Sie mit der Codierung und Entwicklung, ist dies wahrscheinlich Ihre beste Wette für die Erkundung, was macht Chrome OS ticken.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass aufgrund der Ähnlichkeiten zwischen der Chrome -The-Browser und die Chrome OS Teile der Chrome Bewertung wurden hier gegebenenfalls wiedergegeben.

Installation
Die Installation ist nicht ein Problem für die Chrome OS da kommt vorinstalliert. Es ist ein einfaches Setup-Prozedur, jedoch. Wenn Sie Ihr System starten, ist es empfehlenswert, dass Sie sich mit einem Google-Konto anmelden. Sie sind nicht verpflichtet zu sein, und wenn Sie es vorziehen, können Sie für den Gast-Modus entscheiden.

Guest-Modus in Chrome OS geschickt nutzt der Chrome Browser trackless Browsing-Modus, genannt Incognito . Incognito verhindert Gäste keine Spuren zu hinterlassen ihrer Sitzung, sowie das Einhalten von ihnen irgendwelche Änderungen an Ihren Anwendungen und andere Einstellungen.

Nachdem Sie Ihre Log-in-Verfahren, werden Sie gefragt, lesen und akzeptieren Sie die EULA. Es wird nicht angezeigt, für die spätere Nutzungen und Nutzer; Dies wird nur für die Erstanmeldung in erscheinen. Als Nächstes können Sie ein Foto von sich mit der Webcam zu nehmen, mit einem Symbol versehen, oder verwenden Sie das aktuelle Google-Konto avatar. Vorbei von früheren Versionen ist die mandatierten Webcam Foto. Es dauerte unser Avatar über 30 Sekunden, um unsere bestehenden Konto avatar aus der Cloud synchronisieren.

Chrome nimmt dann überall 30-60 Sekunden, um Ihre Einstellungen zu synchronisieren Google, wenn überhaupt, und dann den Computer ist bereit, verwendet werden. Es gibt keinen Zweifel, dass die EULA ist ärgerlich, aber wir haben nie ein anderes neu, unbenutzt Betriebssystem Anfang gesehen, so schnell.

Oberfläche
Google hat eindeutig einige schwere Zeit in die Entwicklung der neuen Schnittstelle. Es sieht aus und fühlt sich an wie ein Personal Computer, schließlich war es, wo vor etwas mehr als einem Vollbild-Browser. Es gibt eine tatsächliche DeskTop das sieht ein bisschen abgeschaut von Windows 7, mit Chrome -The-Browser auf die weit von der linken Seite merken Launcher Und andere Apps merken sich direkt daneben.

Die DeskTop selbst zeigt nur den Hintergrund standardmäßig, aber ein Tic-Tac-Toe-Stil-Ikone auf der Launcher zeigt alle installierten Apps über die DeskTop Hintergrund. Wenn Sie eine App installieren, wird es hier angezeigt. Die unteren rechten Ecke zeigt die Zeit, Internet-Anschluss Status, Batterie-Status und zeigt Ihr Google-Konto, um anzuzeigen, avatar, wer angemeldet Click der Avatar zum Herunterfahren Optionen zeigen und offenbaren weitere Informationen und Einstellungen.

Sie können den Hintergrund mit einer von mehreren Dutzend Optionen anpassen oder Ihr eigenes Bild hochladen. Allerdings muss er entweder lokal gespeichert werden oder in der Google Drive - Es wird nicht in ein Bild ziehen aus einem Dienst wie Facebook .

Alle Einstellungen wurden verschoben, um in ihren eigenen Tabs geöffnet, aber man wusste, dass dies wahrscheinlich von der Nutzung Chrome -The-Browser. Änderungen in der Browser erzeugte Regel in widerspiegeln Chrome OS über einen Monat oder so später.

Das Aussehen der Chrome geändert hat erstaunlich wenig seit seiner Überraschung Debüt im September 2008. Tabs sind auf der Oberseite, die Lage bar - dominiert das minimalistische Design und der Browser hat nur wenige sichtbare Bedienelemente neben Zurück, Vorwärts, und eine kombinierte Stop / Reload-Taste - die Google gerne die Omnibar nennen.

Auf Chrome OS, in der oberen rechten Ecke des Browsers beherbergt eine quadratische Ikone und ein X. Das X ist das Browser-Fenster schließen. Ziehen Sie das Feld unten, um den Browser zu minimieren, ziehen Sie es an den Rändern zu "schnappen" sie zur Seite und machen es die Hälfte der Breite des Bildschirms, oder Click It von Fenstermodus in den Vollbildmodus zu wechseln. Das Fenster Snap ist ein weiteres Stichwort entnommen Windows 7, aber es ist eine kluge und intuitive ein, und funktioniert gut in Chrome .

Die Schnittstelle der stärkste Punkt ist auch seine Schwäche. Was funktioniert gut im Browser funktioniert gut hier, aber die Fehler von einem in dem anderen reflektiert, auch. Einige Steuerelemente, z. B. Seite Zoom, sind leicht zugänglich von der "Schlüssel" Optionsmenü. Andere, wie die Verlängerung Manager Werden entfernt unter einem Untermenü Tools verborgen. Verstecken Wesentliche so bleibt eine ungerade Design Wahl zu machen. Da stimmt über jeden Aspekt dieses Betriebssystem, sind Updates viel eher, um das Layout und das Design der Schnittstelle zu zwicken.

Chrome 'S Erweiterungen sind ziemlich in, wie sie der Browser-Schnittstelle zu ändern begrenzt. Im Gegensatz zu Firefox , Das gibt Add-on Entscheidungsträger eine Menge Spielraum, um den Browser-Look zu ändern, Chrome Mandate, die Erweiterungen erscheinen nur als Symbole auf der rechten Seite der Adressleiste. Der Vorteil unterhält ein einheitliches Aussehen im Browser, aber es ist definitiv begrenzt, wie viel der Browser angepasst werden können.

Auch mit seinen Einschränkungen hat die Browser-Interface-Design blieb ein zeitgenössisches Musterbeispiel, wie man den Browser-Bildschirm Fußabdruck zu minimieren, während übrigen leicht zu bedienen und vielseitig. Die neue DeskTop Auf der anderen Seite bringt schließlich Chrome OS ein Gefühl der Vertrautheit, die wichtig ist für jede neue PC Erfahrung.

Bietet
Chrome OS ist nicht ganz so angewiesen auf das Internet, wie es vorher war, aber es ist noch einigermaßen ohne sie verkrüppelt. Dies ist ein Fahrzeug, in erster Linie für die Führung eines Web-basierten Existenz. Als solche, welche Chrome OS tut, ist einen Raum schaffen, in dem Web-basierten Anwendungen funktionieren und gedeihen können. Das Betriebssystem selbst nicht viel tun - es ist ein Browser.

Allerdings ist es eine stark modded Browser, und es erreicht seine Hauptziel bekommen Sie auf dem Web so schnell wie möglich. Dies kommt sowohl aus dem Solid-State Drive (SSD) auf Ihrem Chromebook oder Chromebox und die verschiedenen Optimierungen, dass Google hat in baut Chrome . Dies ist, wo das zweite Bit des Genies in der Chrome OS kommt in: weil Everything ist Web-basiert, können Sie sich bei jeder Installation des Betriebssystems und sofort haben alle Ihre Anwendungen, Einstellungen und andere Personalisierungen an Ihren Fingerspitzen. Das ist immer noch eine unglaubliche Leistung.

Es ist ein wichtiger, auch als Chrome OS verbessert sich mit jeder regulären Iteration des Betriebssystems. In Chrome OS im ersten Jahr, aktualisiert es achtmal. Things Das waren ursprünglich Buggy, wie Touch-Pad-Unterstützung auf dem Demo-Hardware Cr-48, begonnen, richtig zu arbeiten. Viele Chrome Safe-Erweiterungen, die nicht auf die würde installieren Chrome OS beta, würde aber auf dem Browser, jetzt in Arbeit Chrome OS. Es ist derzeit auf einem Sechs-Wochen-Update-Zyklus.

Google hat auch seine Erfolge in anderen Abteilungen genutzt werden, um den Nutzen Chrome OS. Google+Hangouts Zum Beispiel als vorinstallierte App, sodass Sie Videokonferenzen haben als Option auf Anhieb kommen. Google-berüchtigt für nicht immer mit guten Integration zwischen ihren Dienststellen, so dass diese - und feste Google Play-Integration für Books , Filme und Musik - sind willkommen Verbesserungen.

Auch Willkommen ist Googles Entscheidung zu jedermanns erweitern Google Drive zu 100GB, wenn es ein Chromebook mit Ihrem Konto verknüpft erkennt. Die $ 250 Preis für die neuesten Samsung Chromebooks wird fast lohnt sich für dieses Upgrade allein.

Die Chrome OS hat eine nutzbare Datei-Browsing-System, zugänglich via Control-M oder im Werkzeug-Untermenü des Optionen Schraubenschlüssel. Wenn Sie einen Screenshot mit der Strg-Taste Next Window nehmen, zum Beispiel, finden Sie es lokal über den Datei-Browser gespeichert. Es unterstützt nun eine breite Palette von gängigen Dateiformate, einschließlich PDF, PPT, DOC, ZIP, RAR und XLS und den neueren Microsoft proprietäre Versionen dieser Formate wie PPTX.

Bekanntermaßen hat Google töteten die Caps Lock-Taste und ersetzt es mit einem engagierten Suchbegriff. Tippen Sie darauf, und eine neue Registerkarte öffnen, mit dem Cursor bereit in der Adressleiste. Was ist weniger gut bekannt ist, dass Sie den Schlüssel zu suchen Caps Lock neu zuordnen, und dass Google es einfach, durch das Menü Einstellungen unter System zu tun, dann Zusatztasten macht. Hier können Sie die Bindungen der Steuer-und Alt-Tasten sowie ändern. Aber auch fehlt, ist eine dedizierte Löschtaste, um Zeichen rechts vom Cursor zu entfernen.

Die Standardeinstellungen für die Hot-Keys gehören zu den besten Dinge über die Chrome OS. Halten Sie die Strg-und Alt mit dem Fragezeichen-Taste, um eine farbcodierte Karte von Kombinationen, die Sie verwenden können. Die Karte und die Farben ändern, je nach dem Schlüssel - Shift Control oder Alt - Sie drücken.

Google ist zu loben für den Aufbau eines Betriebssystems, das aus dem Schlaf geht in vollem Umfang Functional in was fühlt sich wie eine zweite. Es gibt einfach keine Verzögerung, und die Updates haben frühere lagginess in An-und Abmelden fixiert. Ihr Chromebook oder Chromebox kann nur der Schnellste sein PC Sie verwendet haben, wenn es um das Booten kommt, Herunterfahren, und an-und abmelden.

Zwei weitere Low-Profile, aber gut ausgeführten Funktionen in Chrome sind automatische Aktualisierung und Übersetzung. Chrome automatisch aktualisiert, wenn eine neue Version herauskommt. Dies macht es schwieriger, wieder zurück zu einer älteren Version, aber es ist höchst unwahrscheinlich, dass Sie möchten, die Herabstufung dieser Build von Chrome da dies die stabile Bauweise und nicht das beta-oder Entwickler-Version. Sie können die Build unter den drei umzuschalten unter Über Chrome . Das zweite Merkmal, automatische Übersetzung von Web-Seiten, ist für andere Browser als Google-Add-on, sondern weil es von Google kommt, ist es gebackene direkt in Chrome .

Bereits erwähnt ein wenig, ist das größte OS hängen-up in das Betriebssystem offline Unterstützung trotz der Verbesserungen. Chrome OS unterstützen die Kern Google Apps von Gmail , Google Calendar Und Google Docs offline, aber für die meisten Ihrer anderen Apps, wirst du im Dunkeln gelassen werden. Das könnte nicht ein Problem auf der Chromebox sein, Googles Antwort auf die Mac Mini, sondern auch für die portable Chromebooks, für eine stark hamstrung Erfahrung vorzubereiten. Wer außerhalb der Wolke Masse wird wahrscheinlich nicht zufrieden mit ihm.

Sie können mit Google Print Cloud Print , Erreichbar über die gemeinsame Druck-Hotkey combo of Control-P. Google hat die Probleme, die immer noch plagen Cloud-Printing erwartet, und so bietet es Anleitungen, wie es zu tun. Dennoch werden die meisten Menschen wahrscheinlich den Prozess viel zu fummelig, denn was ist einfach zu drucken, weg von einer grundlegenden Windows 7 Netbook dauert Aufwand einzurichten richtig von einem Chromebook. Cloud Print hat jetzt Zugang zu FedEx Filialen in den Vereinigten Staaten, die eine schöne Verbesserung für Remote-Druck ist gekommen.

Google sagt, dass die Sicherheit nicht ein großes Anliegen sein, in Chrome OS und dass es die sicherste Betriebssystem aller Zeiten ausgeliefert. Es gibt einige wechselt über zu: Flaggen und das Menü Einstellungen, mit denen Sie Inhalte, die Plug-Ins benötigt beschränken wird. Cookies können Bild-Management, JavaScript, Plug-ins, Pop-ups, Standortinformationen und Meldungen aus dem Content Schaltfläche Einstellungen angepasst werden. Dies umfasst das Umschalten spezifischen Plug-Ins, wie der integrierten Adobe Flash Plug-in und dem ChromePDF Reader .

Google stützt die meisten seiner Forderung eines sicheren Betriebssystems zu einer neuen Funktion in Chrome OS als "verifiziert Boot." Chrome OS prüft seine eigene Integrität beim Booten, und wenn es keine Änderungen erfasst, es erlaubt Ihnen, einen letzten bekannten guten Konfiguration wiederherzustellen.

Leistung
Die folgenden Benchmarks sind von der ursprünglichen Version des Chrome OS, dass auf dem Cr-48 ausgeliefert. Es wurden signifikante Verbesserungen seitdem und CNET werden die Ergebnisse unter so schnell wie möglich zu aktualisieren.

Benchmarking der ersten Beta-Version von der Chrome OS erwies sich als ein bisschen schwierig. Es ist schwierig, die Auswirkungen von verschiedenen wichtigen Programme, wie ein Produktivitäts-Suite oder zu messen Media Player , Auf dem Betriebssystem, weil sie existieren weitgehend in der Cloud. Da jedoch das Betriebssystem ist auch der Browser, konnten wir Browser Benchmark-Tests gegen sie laufen und vergleichen sie gegen die gleiche Version von Google Chrome , Sondern läuft auf eine Windows 7 Laptop.

Diese Tests sind zwar keine direkte Äpfel mit Äpfeln verglichen. Google hat noch nicht die Spezifikationen des Cr-48 freigegeben, sagte nur, dass es läuft ein Intel Atom-Prozessor. Die Windows 7 x86 Laptop wir verwendeten, ist ein High-Power Lenovo T400 Laptop, läuft auf einem Intel Core Duo T9400 2 bei 2,53 GHz mit 3 GB RAM. Allerdings haben sie eine Momentaufnahme dessen, was der Cr-48 mit Chrome OS ist in der Lage in dieser Zeit, und wir können erwarten, dass diese Zahlen zu verbessern, da Google weiterhin sowohl das Upgrade Chrome OS und Chrome Browser. Die beiden Laptops liefen fast identische Versionen des Chrome Browser. Getestet im Dezember 2010, wurde die Cr-48 läuft Chrome v8.0.552.341, während das Lenovo lief Chrome v8.0.552.215. (Zum Vergleich: Die Version von Chrome OS verfügbar Anfang Juni 2012 ist 12.0.742.77.)

Was können wir aus diesen Tests sehen, ist, dass die Hardware wird eine massive Auswirkung auf die Leistung sowohl der Browser und das Betriebssystem. Das ist nichts Neues, aber die Tatsache, dass die Cr-48 Version des Chrome Browser wurde so drastisch in allen drei Tests betroffen sagt uns, dass das, was Hardware Zukunft Computer-Hersteller zu unterstützen, wählen Chrome OS auf fast jeden Fall ändern, wie gut das Publikum sie empfängt.

Wir waren auch ein bisschen überrascht, dass die volle Kaltstart-und Log-on Verfahren, nicht eingerechnet die Zeit es brauchte, um in das geben Anmeldepaßwortes, gemittelt, um fast 30 Sekunden. Einige Windows 7 Computer haben, anekdotisch, gefunden zu booten kalt in ähnlichen Zeiten. Wie bereits erwähnt, hatte diesmal in die Hälfte von Anfang Juni 2011 geschnitten.

Natürlich ist die Echtzeit-und zeitsparende Funktion der Chrome OS ist der Lebenslauf von Gefolge, die praktisch sofort ist. Solange der Computer nicht heruntergefahren wird, wird es extrem schnell aufwachen.

Schlussfolgerung
Obwohl Chrome OS macht regelmäßig aktualisieren, ist die aktuelle Iteration besser nutzbar als auf dem das Betriebssystem war noch vor sechs Monaten. Die Gerissenheit eines PC ohne den traditionellen Elementen eines PCDeskTop wurden durch etwas erkennbar und nutzbar ersetzt. Solange Google, um das Projekt weiter unterstützt, Chrome OS wird weiter zu verbessern. Eines Tages, vielleicht eher früher als später, es könnte sogar bereit sein, für alle.

 
lesen Sie mehr +

Was müssen Sie über freie Software kennen?

Vollständige Spezifikationen

Neuerungen in Version 29.0.1547.74

Pfeffer-Blitz aktualisiert zur Version 11.8.800.170- r1

Allgemein

Herausgeber Google
Herausgeber Website http://www.google.com/
Veröffentlichungsdatum 18. September 2013
Hinzufügedatum 18. September 2013
Version 29.0.1547.74

Kategorie

Kategorie Hilfsprogramme und Betriebssysteme
Unterkategorie Betriebssysteme und Updates

Betriebssysteme

Betriebssysteme Linux
Zusätzliche Anforderungen Keine

Downloadinformationen

Dateigröße Nicht verfügbar
Dateiname Externe Datei

Beliebtheit

Gesamtanzahl der Downloads 360.972
Der letzten Woche 110

Preis

Lizenzmodell Kostenlos
Beschränkungen Nicht verfügbar
Preis Kostenlos

Google Chrome OS

Google Chrome OS

Download Editors' Rating:
3.5
Very good
Average User Rating:
2.8
out of 11 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    29.0.1547.74
  • Total Downloads:
    248,535
  • Date Added:
    September 18, 2013
  • File Size:
    Not available
  • Downloads Last Week:
    572
  • Operating Systems:
    Linux

Editors' Review

+

Welcome to the Chrome channel. Google's operating system started off in December 2010 as being little more than all Chrome, all the time. Updates made since then have given Chrome OS users better file format support, faster navigation, revised menus, dramatically improved offline abilities, and a traditional-looking desktop.

But if you loathe the Chrome browser, it's still highly unlikely that you'll enjoy this operating system. On the other hand, if you love Chrome, then Chrome OS is a big heaping helping of Chrome with some extra Chrome on the side and more Chrome for dessert.

Like Chrome the browser, Chrome-the-OS has a freely available open-source sibling, called Chromium OS. If you like coding and developing, this is likely going to be your best bet for exploring what makes Chrome OS tick.

Please note that because of the similarities between the Chrome-the-browser and the Chrome OS, parts of the Chrome review have been reproduced here where applicable.

Installation
Installation is not an issue for the Chrome OS since it comes preinstalled. There is a simple setup procedure, however. When you start up your system, it's recommended that you sign in using a Google account. You're not required to, and if you'd prefer, you can opt for the Guest mode.

Guest mode in Chrome OS cleverly uses the Chrome browser's trackless browsing mode, called Incognito. Incognito prevents guest users from leaving any traces of their session, as well as keeping them from making any changes to your apps and other settings.

After choosing your log-in method, you're asked to read through and accept the EULA. This will only appear for the initial log-in; it won't show up for subsequent uses and users. Next, you can take a photo of yourself with the Webcam, use a provided icon, or use your current Google account avatar. Gone from previous versions is the mandated Webcam photo. It took our avatar about 30 seconds to synchronize our existing account avatar from the cloud.

Chrome then takes anywhere from 30 to 60 seconds to synchronize your Google settings, if any, and then the computer is ready to be used. There's no doubt that the EULA is annoying, but we've never seen another new, unused operating system start so quickly.

Interface
Google has clearly spent some serious time developing the new interface. It looks and feels like a personal computer, finally, where before it was little more than a full-screen browser. There's an actual desktop that looks a bit cribbed from Windows 7, with Chrome-the-browser pinned to the far left of the Launcher, and other apps pinned right next to it.

The desktop itself shows only your background by default, but a Tic-Tac-Toe-style icon on the Launcher reveals all your installed apps over the desktop background. When you install an app, it'll appear here. The lower-right corner shows the time, Internet connection status, battery status, and shows your Google account avatar to indicate who's logged in. Click the avatar to show shutdown options and reveal more information and settings.

You can customize the background with one of several dozen options, or upload your own image. However, it must be either locally stored or in your Google Drive -- it won't pull in an image from a service like Facebook.

All the Settings have been moved to open in their own tabs, but you probably knew this from using Chrome-the-browser. Changes made in the browser tend to be reflected in Chrome OS about a month or so later.

The look of Chrome has changed remarkably little since its surprise debut in September 2008. Tabs are on top, the location bar -- which Google likes to call the Omnibar -- dominates the minimalist design, and the browser has few visible control buttons besides Back, Forward, and a combined Stop/Reload button.

On Chrome OS, the upper-right corner of the browser hosts a square icon and an X. The X is to close the browser window. Drag the box down to minimize the browser, drag it to the edges to "snap" it to the side and make it half the width of your screen, or click it to switch from windowed mode to full-screen mode. The window snap is another cue taken from Windows 7, but it's a clever and intuitive one, and works well in Chrome.

The interface's strongest point is also its weakness. What works well in the browser works well here, but the faults of one are reflected in the other, too. Some controls, such as page zoom, are readily available from the "wrench" options menu. Others, such as the extension manager, are hidden away under a Tools submenu. Hiding essentials like that remains an odd design choice to make. As is true about every aspect of this operating system, updates are much more likely to tweak the layout and design of the interface.

Chrome's extensions are fairly limited in how they can alter the browser's interface. Unlike Firefox, which gives add-on makers a lot of leeway to change the browser's look, Chrome mandates that extensions appear only as icons to the right of the location bar. The benefit maintains a uniform look in the browser, but it definitely restricts how much the browser can be customized.

Even with its limitations, the browser interface design has remained a contemporary exemplar of how to minimize the browser's screen footprint while remaining easy to use and versatile. The new desktop, on the other hand, finally brings to Chrome OS a sense of familiarity that is essential for any new PC experience.

Features
Chrome OS isn't quite as reliant on the Internet as it was before, but it's still reasonably crippled without it. This is a vehicle, first and foremost, for leading a Web-based existence. As such, what Chrome OS does is create a space where Web-based applications can function and thrive. The operating system itself doesn't do much -- it's a browser.

However, it's a heavily modded browser, and it achieves its main goal of getting you on the Web as fast as possible. This comes from both the solid-state drive (SSD) on your Chromebook or Chromebox, and the various optimizations that Google has been building into Chrome. This is where the second bit of genius in the Chrome OS comes in: because everything is Web-based, you can log in to any installation of the operating system and instantly have all of your apps, settings, and other personalizations at your fingertips. That's still an incredible feat.

It's an important one, too, as Chrome OS improves with each regular iteration of the operating system. In Chrome OS's first year, it updated eight times. Things that were buggy originally, such as touch pad support on the demo hardware Cr-48, started to work properly. Many Chrome-safe extensions that wouldn't install on the Chrome OS beta, but would on the browser, now work in Chrome OS. It's currently on a six-week update cycle.

Google has also leveraged its successes in other departments to benefit the Chrome OS. Google+ Hangouts, for example, come as a preinstalled app so you have video conferencing as an option right off the bat. Google's notorious for not always having good integration between its services, so this -- and solid Google Play integration for Books, Movies, and Music -- are welcome improvements.

Also welcome is Google's decision to expand everybody's Google Drive to 100GB when it detects a Chromebook associated with your account. The $250 price for the latest Samsung Chromebooks is nearly worth it for that upgrade alone.

The Chrome OS has a usable file-browsing system, accessible via Control-M or under the Tools submenu of the Options wrench. When you take a screenshot using the Ctrl-Next Window button, for example, you'll find it saved locally via the File Browser. It now supports a wide range of popular file formats, including PDF, PPT, DOC, ZIP, XLS and RAR, and the newer Microsoft proprietary versions of those formats like PPTX.

Famously, Google has killed the Caps Lock key and replaced it with a dedicated Search key. Tap it and a new tab will open, with the cursor ready in the location bar. What's less well-known is that you can remap the Search key to Caps Lock, and that Google makes it easy to do through the Settings menu under System, then Modifier keys. Here you can modify the bindings of the Control and Alt keys as well. But also missing is a dedicated Delete key to remove characters to the right of the cursor.

The default settings for the hot keys are among the best things about the Chrome OS. Hold down Ctrl and Alt with the question mark key to bring up a color-coded map of combinations that you can use. The map and colors change depending on which key -- Shift, Control, or Alt -- you're pressing.

Google is to be commended for building an operating system that goes from sleep to fully functional in what feels like a second. There's simply no lag time, and the updates have fixed previous lagginess in logging in and out. Your Chromebook or Chromebox may just be the fastest PC you've used when it comes to booting, shutting down, and logging in and out.

Two other low-profile but well-executed features in Chrome are autoupdating and translation. Chrome automatically updates when a new version comes out. This makes it harder to revert back to an older version, but it's highly unlikely that you'll want to downgrade this build of Chrome since this is the stable build and not the beta or developer's version. You can toggle the build among the three under About Chrome. The second feature, automatic translation of Web pages, is available to other browsers as a Google add-on, but because it comes from Google, it's baked directly into Chrome.

Already mentioned a little bit, the biggest OS hang-up in the operating system is offline support despite the improvements. Chrome OS will support the core Google apps of Gmail, Google Calendar, and Google Docs offline, but for most of your other apps, you'll be left in the dark. That might not be an issue on the Chromebox, Google's answer to the Mac Mini, but for the portable Chromebooks, prepare for a severely hamstrung experience. Anyone outside of the cloud crowd likely won't be comfortable with it.

You can print with Google Cloud Print, accessible via the common printing hot-key combo of Control-P. Google has anticipated the problems that still plague cloud printing, and so it offers instructions on how to do it. Still, most people will probably find the process way too fiddly because what's simple to print off a basic Windows 7 Netbook will take effort to set up properly from a Chromebook. Cloud Print does now come with access to FedEx stores in the United States, which is a nice improvement for remote printing.

Google says that security will not be a big concern in Chrome OS and that it's the most secure operating system ever shipped. There are some toggles via about:flags and the Settings menu that will allow you to restrict content that requires plug-ins. Cookies, image management, JavaScript, plug-ins, pop-ups, location information, and notifications can be adjusted from the Content Settings button. This includes toggling specific plug-ins, such as the built-in Adobe Flash plug-in and the Chrome PDF reader.

Google is basing most of its claim of a secure operating system on a new feature in Chrome OS called "verified boot." Chrome OS will check its own integrity when booting, and if it detects any changes, it will allow you to restore a last-known good configuration.

Performance
The following benchmarks are of the original version of the Chrome OS that shipped on the Cr-48. There have been significant improvements since then, and CNET will update the results below as soon as possible.

Benchmarking the first beta of the Chrome OS proved to be a bit tricky. It's hard to measure the impact of various essential programs, such as a productivity suite or media player, on the operating system because they exist largely in the cloud. However, because the operating system is also the browser, we were able to run browser benchmark tests against it and compare them against the same version of Google Chrome, but running on a Windows 7 laptop.

These tests are admittedly not a direct apples-with-apples comparison. Google has not yet released the specifications of the Cr-48, saying only that it's running an Intel Atom processor. The Windows 7 x86 laptop we used is a high-powered Lenovo T400 laptop, running on an Intel Core 2 Duo T9400 at 2.53GHz, with 3GB of RAM. However, they do provide a snapshot of what the Cr-48 with Chrome OS is capable of at this time, and we can expect these numbers to improve as Google continues to upgrade both the Chrome OS and Chrome browser. The two laptops were running nearly identical versions of the Chrome browser. Tested in December 2010, the Cr-48 was running Chrome v8.0.552.341, whereas the Lenovo was running Chrome v8.0.552.215. (By comparison, the version of Chrome OS available in early June 2012 is 12.0.742.77.)

What we can see from these tests is that the hardware will have a massive impact on the performance of both the browser and the operating system. This isn't news, but the fact that the Cr-48's version of the Chrome browser was so dramatically affected in all three tests tells us that what hardware future computer makers choose to support Chrome OS on will almost definitely change how well the public receives it.

We were also a bit surprised that the full cold-boot and log-on procedure, not counting the time it took to type in the log-on password, averaged to nearly 30 seconds. Some Windows 7 computers have, anecdotally, been found to boot up cold in similar times. As mentioned earlier, this time had been cut in half by early June 2011.

Of course, the real time-saving feature of the Chrome OS is the resume from wake, which is practically instantaneous. As long as the computer isn't shut down, it will wake extremely quickly.

Conclusion
Although Chrome OS does update regularly, the current iteration is more usable than where the operating system was even six months ago. The quirkiness of a PC without the traditional touches of a PC desktop have been replaced by something recognizable and usable. As long as Google continues to support the project, Chrome OS will keep improving. One day, and perhaps sooner rather than later, it might even be ready for all.

 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+

Results 1–2 of 2

3 stars

"Don't think its not without issues"

January 18, 2014  |  By Johnny_S

 |  Version: Google Chrome OS 29.0.1547.74

Pros

Minimal hardware required to run it
Quick startup and wake from sleep

Cons

Lacks any real Peripheral support
No plug and play for any printers (cloud print only)
No support for USB cellular dongles except a couple
Only runs Google app store applications (many web based)
Real support is lacking and relies more on self help

Summary

While Chrome OS along with Chromebooks can be useful, they have their share of pitfalls. This is not something to embrace unless your willing to forgo all familiar applications from Windows and OS X. Chrome OS is Linux but don't even think it will run Linux apps. Google has taken a very open OS kernel as Linux and locked it down so tight into its own ecosystem. Its very much not open anymore. Yes, you will find Chromium OS and Chromium browser in a developer compiler but its not layman friendly. You could also duel boot a Linux on Chromebooks but many Chromebooks have limited storage and not friendly at all on deleting Chrome OS partitions (which there are many). I basically use my Chromebook as a web access device. I seriously doubt I would ever buy another Chromebook unless Chrome OS become a more robust OS. I believe Google has tried to simplify the web experience but in my experience with Chrome OS its over simplified and handicapped.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

5 stars

"Chrome: Simplicity, Speed, Automation"

September 28, 2013  |  By kenilchattiero

 |  Version: Google Chrome OS 29.0.1547.74

Pros

No need to Backup
No need to install antivirus/firewall
Fast boot-resume
Nice design
Unique concept

Cons

Not much offline apps yet
Battery life
No matte display for Chromebook pixel
No magnetic power plug

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

Results 1–2 of 2

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for Google Chrome OS
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update your review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 29.0.1547.74
Pepper Flash updated to version 11.8.800.170-r1
General
Publisher Google
Publisher web site http://www.google.com/
Release Date September 18, 2013
Date Added September 18, 2013
Version 29.0.1547.74
Category
Category Utilities & Operating Systems
Subcategory Operating Systems & Updates
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Linux
Additional Requirements None
Download Information
File Size Not Available
File Name index.html
Popularity
Total Downloads 248,535
Downloads Last Week 572
Pricing
License Model Free
Limitations Not available
Price Free

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +

More Products to Consider

Close[x]

Submit a problem report for Google Chrome OS

Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.

Problem:

The Download.com Installer isn't working as expected

The download link does not work

The software has a newer version

The product contains malicious software

Other

Description:

Please select a feedback type.

Please enter a description.

Submit Problem Report

Close[x]

Problem Report submitted

Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.

OK