Icon of program: Uganda Constitution 1995 …

Uganda Constitution 1995 Offfline for Android

By SpDigitalAppsZoneFreeUser Rating

Key Details of Uganda Constitution 1995 Offfline

  • Uganda Constitution 1995 Offfline...
  • Last updated on February 22, 2024
  • There have been 3 updates
  • Virus scan status:

    Clean (it's extremely likely that this software program is clean)

Enlarged image for Uganda Constitution 1995 …

Developer's Description

Uganda Constitution 1995 Offfline...

Uganda Constitution 1995 Offfline

The first constitution of Uganda was the product of the Ugandan Constitutional Conference and took effect at the moment of independence (9 October 1962). It provided for a system of Parliamentary democracy underpinned by constitutional supremacy.[1] It provided for a complex system of devolution within Uganda: the Kingdom of Buganda gained particularly strong powers of self-government; the Kingdoms of Bunyoro, Tooro and Ankole, and the Territory of Busoga also gained the status of "federal states" and were permitted to retain their own legislatures; while the remaining districts and the territory of Mbale were controlled directly by the central government.[1] The 1962 constitution provided for most members of Parliament to be elected directly. The sole exception to this rule was Buganda, where MPs were selected by an electoral college made up of members of the Lukiiko (Buganda's own sub-national Parliament).

The 1962 constitution was amended three times: first, and most importantly, it was amended in 1963 to replace Queen Elizabeth II (represented by the Governor-General of Uganda, Sir Walter Coutts) as the head of state with the largely ceremonial positions of President and Vice-President, making Uganda a de-facto republic; in 1964 it was amended to make minor changes to the date on which the Legislative Assembly of the Kingdom of Tooro should stand dissolved; and in January 1965 it was amended for a third and final time to give effect to the outcome of the lost counties referendum.

From 1963 to 1966, Uganda was referred to as the 'Sovereign State of Uganda', because of the strong monarchical element in the Ugandan constitutional set-up.

Note: This App is made for Educational purpose only.

Explore More