Spotify makes your plays, posts, and playlists public by default, so everyone can see that you're totally into Carly Rae Jepsen, Wham, or any number of bands that your fellow music fans might not find respectable. And if you're connected via Facebook, Spotify can share your musical business over social media, too. Don't give up those guilty pleasures -- avoid public humiliation by changing your Spotify settings.

Note: Some info can't be hidden, including your Spotify username, your Facebook name and profile photo, connections, recently played artists, and public playlists.

spotify-playlist.png

Hide your activity on Spotify

Android

Unfortunately, there is currently no way to stop automatic sharing to Spotify followers on Android.

iOS and desktop

1. Click Edit, then Preferences.

2. Uncheck "Share my activity and what I listen to with my followers on Spotify."

3. (iOS only) Toggle Publish Activity off.

Hide your Spotify activity on Facebook

spotify-social.png

Android and iOS

1. Open the sidebar.

2. Tap the Settings icon.

3. Select Social.

4. Under Facebook, toggle off "Show on Facebook" (Android) or Show Activity (iOS).

Desktop

1. Click Edit in the top menu, then Preferences.

2. Uncheck "Share my activity and what I listen to on Facebook."

Conceal all your activity with a Private Session

For extra clandestine status, use Spotify in a Private Session. This is essentially an incognito mode -- friends won't be able to tell that you're on Spotify, let alone what you're listening to. However, you can only enter a Private Session for six hours at a time.

private-session.png

Android

1. Tap the hamburger menu, then Settings.

2. Switch Private Session on.

iOS

1. Tap Your Library in the bottom rail.

2. Tap Settings, then Social.

3. Toggle Private Session on.

Desktop

1. Click the drop-down arrow in the top right.

2. Select Private Session.

Hide your playlists

spotify-secret-playlists.png

Android and iOS

1. Above your playlist, tap the More icon.

2. Select Make Private (Android) or Make Secret (iOS).

Desktop

Hide your existing playlists by right-clicking them and selecting Make Secret. However, anyone who's already following the playlist or has its URL to it can still see it.

Going forward, you can make new playlists private:

1. Go to your profile page.

2. Click Edit, then Preferences.

3. Uncheck "Automatically make new playlists public."

Joshua Rotter is a copy editor for Download.com and covers iOS.