Instagram 'You're All Caught Up'
(Credit: Screenshot by Lance Whitney)

Instagram is joining the movement to help people put down their phones.

The popular photo sharing service has added a new feature to its mobile app that lets you know when you have caught up with all of the posts from the people you follow. Known as "You're All Caught Up," the feature takes the form of a message that alerts you after you've viewed every post from the past 48 hours.

SEE: Keep your photos safe in the cloud with the best online photo storage (a Download.com guide)

Information overload is a common ailment with social media sites like Instagram. With so many posts popping up in your feed, you can easily lose track of which ones you've already viewed. Instagram's new feature is an attempt to make sure you haven't missed anything important and that you're not viewing the same posts over and over again. This has been an issue since Instagram changed its feed in 2016 from chronological order to a Facebook-like algorithm that prioritizes the posts it thinks you will like the most.

"Today, you'll start noticing a 'You're All Caught Up' message when you've seen every post from the last two days," Instagram said in a blog post. "We've heard that it can be difficult to keep track of your seen posts. With this message, you'll have a better understanding of your Feed and know you haven't missed recent photos or videos."

After you've gone through all your recent posts, the message appears at the top of your feed saying: "You're All Caught Up. You've seen all new posts from the past 2 day." But your older posts are still around and accessible. Below the message are the posts you've already seen along with ones older than two days.

To see the "You're All Caught Up" message, you'll need to download the latest update to Instagram for iOS or Android.

Facebook-owned Instagram has been busy the past few months launching one new feature after another. In June, the company rolled out updates that let you add music soundtracks to stories, video chat in Instagram Direct private messaging, access new camera effects, shop for products through Instagram Stories, and share photos or videos by people who mention you in their stories.

Next on the agenda, according to TechCrunch, is a "Do Not Disturb" feature reportedly slated for both Facebook and Instagram. Such an option would allow users to turn off notifications for 30 minutes, one hour, two hours, eight hours, one day, or until they're manually turned it on again.

Instagram's popularity has shot up since its launch in 2010 and its acquisition by Facebook in 2012. In late June, the company announced that it had reached 1 billion users, just under half of the more than 2 billion people on Facebook.

FOLLOW Download.com on Twitter for all the latest app news.

Takeaways

  1. Instagram has launched a new feature that alerts you when you've seen all posts from the past 48 hours from all the people you follow.
  2. The message is designed to help users make sure they haven't missed any important posts and aren't viewing the same posts over and over. That can give them the piece of mind to stop looking at their phones for updates so often in fear of missing new content.

Also see

Lance Whitney is a freelance technology writer and trainer and a former IT professional. He's written for Time, CNET, PCMag, and several other publications. He's the author of two tech books - "Windows 8 Five Minutes at a Time" and "Teach Yourself VISUALLY LinkedIn."