Remember when Facebook quit letting you chat in app and made you download Messenger? Now the same thing is happening to your Synced photos on iOS. You must download and log in to Moments before July 7 if you don't want Facebook to delete those images. (Don't worry about your other photos and albums on Facebook: Nothing will happen to them.)

Synced (called Synced From Phone on the desktop) was a private Facebook album of pictures copied from your iPhone to make social sharing easier. If you've tried to access that album recently, a pop-up alert has told you that your photos have been transferred to Moments, Facebook's syncing and private-sharing app. Facebook alerted users about the change via notifications and email earlier this month, temporarily making Moments the No. 1 free app in the App Store.

moments-ad.png

Apart from the nuisance of making you download yet another Facebook app, Moments has some handy features, such as:

  • After you go on a group outing or a vacation, Moments lets you privately share photos and videos with friends.
  • Moments groups photos and videos with similar faces together under Private Suggestions, to encourage you to send them to specific friends.
  • Moments enables you to download and delete photos you've synced to Facebook.

    moments-grouping.png

Again, if you want to preserve your Synced photos, you must download and log in to Moments before July 7. If you'd rather not be pressured into yet another Facebook app, then you'll need to download these photos directly to your laptop from the Photos section of your Facebook profile.

To download your Synced photos:

  1. Go to Facebook.com on your desktop.
  2. Click Photos, then Synced From Phone.
  3. Click the in-text link to download your photos.

More stories

Block topics on Facebook, Twitter, and the Web

Facebook maps its future at F8

Facebook Reactions: like or dislike?

Joshua Rotter is a copy editor for Download.com and covers iOS.