When you delete a file from your system, it's gone, right? If you used the delete method built into Windows, it's not gone from your disk until it's overwritten by other data, and even then it's recoverable. To purge a file from your PC, you need a stronger tool, one that offers secure delete methods and multiple overwriting paths. Secure Wipe is a free tool that makes it easy to delete single or multiple files and folders and be confident that they are gone.
Secure Wipe's user interface is very plain--just two entry fields, one for folders and another for files. You can add items by browsing or by dragging and dropping them into the appropriate field, or even the wrong one; Secure Wipe will still delete them. Clicking Erase processed our files quickly, posting a Successfully Erased message when it was finished. We clicked the Settings tab, which let us choose from six wiping methods ranging from overwriting with 1 pass to 35 passes with the Gutmann method. We could also choose to delete subfolders, enable Silent Mode, and other options. The Help and About buttons both offer a Web link that includes documentation and a video tutorial.
You should use a secure delete utility like Secure Wipe any time you want to destroy a file and make it unrecoverable. Secure Wipe proved capable of doing that with the greatest of ease, and we recommend it for the job.
Secure Wipe is small utility that runs in the background which allows you to completely remove sensitive data from your hard drive by overwriting it several times with carefully selected patterns. When you delete a file, the operating system does not really remove the file from the disk; it only removes the reference of the file from the file system table. The file remains on the disk until another file is created over it. Secure Wipe removes all the data traces from the hard disk permanently.
None. When I tried to use the 'free' software a pop-up requiring a license key appeared. When I clicked on the 'register' button the same pop-up reappeared.
When I deleted it from my system it left behind (at least) one folder. When I tried to delete that it would not let me, saying files were in use. When I checked task manager I discovered that the 'deleted' program was enabled in startup and running a process. Disabled startup and ended the process, rebooted, then tried again. Same thing, even though it was not showing disabled in startup and was not running a process. ALERT! UPDATE! Checked my e-mail and had a message from someone I would not normally expect to e-mail me with a link. When I clicked on the link my anti-virus program warned me the site exhibited dangerous characteristics and might try to steal my data. POSSIBLE VIRUS/MALWARE!!! BEWARE!!!