Distrust is a free Firefox add-on that claims to erase all traces of your browsing history. After encountering a hit-and-miss performance, we wouldn't trust this add-on for protection.
The add-on can be accessed via the Firefox Tools' menu or by clicking the small status bar icon. The first has only two options: Starting/Stopping Distrust Session and Distrust Preferences, but the Preferences menu lets you select filtering options, such as browsing history, download history, disk cache, and cookies. After taking the program through its paces with a session of surfing, we found that browsing history was erased, but download history and cookies were left behind. When we enabled the add-on using the status bar icon, it didn't sync up with the Tools' menu interface. We could only stop the session using the same status bar icon.
Though Distrust was able to successfully clear browsing history, Firefox's built-in cleaning tools get the job done more thoroughly.
Hide surfing trails that the browser leaves behind. Also known as Private Browsing. Once turned on this extension monitors FireFox for its activities. Once turned off Distrust will remove history items cache and cookies that were used during the distrust session.