Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

iExplorer for Mac

$39.99
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
Good
Average User Rating:
out of 57 votes out of 0 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    3.9.12
  • Total Downloads:
    138,854
  • Date Added:
    Aug. 24, 2016
  • Price:
    Free to try (Certain features are restricted.); $39.99 to buy (Buy it now)

Editors' Review

+

Advanced users often want to work with the root directories on their iPods, but this can't be done using iTunes. With iExplorer for Mac, you can manage your iPod media and work with root directories and other advanced features. Still, its price may be too high for most people.

Available as a free trial version with some limitations, the full program costs $35.00 as an upgrade. Exactly which features are limited in the free trial is not listed or apparent from use. The app was quick to install and load. iExplorer for Mac immediately determines if an iPod or iPhone is connected and prompts the user to connect one if not. As quickly as iTunes would, iExplorer reads the plugged-in device and gives an initial list of songs available. Surprisingly, it also appeared to sync with iTunes and listed other devices linked to the account that were not connected. While testing we noticed that the interface was well-designed and looked similar to the one native to iTunes. The basic media management features were also easy to use.

Access to root directories may be a good option for advanced users or those with jailbroken phones, but less experienced owners should be more careful due to the ability to delete necessary files.

In short, advanced users may find iExplorer's features worth the price, but for others a free program may be a better option.

 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+

Results 1–10 of 57

5 stars

"Great Product"

October 25, 2015  |  By WayneLeviKruz Hedges

2015-10-25 22:31:51  |  By WayneLeviKruz Hedges

 |  Version: iExplorer 3.8.3

Pros

Great Product

Cons

Reviewing Product

Summary



Updated on Oct 25, 2015

Product Great if Review Process Easier...

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"As advertised..!!!!"

October 04, 2015  |  By maran747

2015-10-04 23:52:13  |  By maran747

 |  Version: iExplorer 3.8.2

Pros

Fast and easy

Cons

Don't have any so far, everything has been great

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

4 stars

"It actually works!"

September 27, 2015

2015-09-27 07:00:57

 |  Version: iExplorer 3.8.1

Pros

It transfers most of your music.

Cons

If it wasn't purchased then it won't transfer

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"really great"

September 09, 2015  |  By ndaraujoo

2015-09-09 06:12:06  |  By ndaraujoo

 |  Version: iExplorer 3.7.7

Pros

helped my achieve what i need to do which was put all my music on my iTunes

Cons

a little slow, didn't tell me when it was done and you have to close the app and restart it for it to notice a change

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"totally works"

July 30, 2015  |  By Tamir Aisic

2015-07-30 05:27:47  |  By Tamir Aisic

 |  Version: iExplorer 3.7.7

Pros

I deleted all my music on my mac accidentally and it brought it back from my iPhone

Cons

While downloading it is hard to know when it is gonna finish

Summary

great great great
saved all my hard work

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

4 stars

"Great App, Highly Recommend"

July 05, 2015

2015-07-05 19:38:13

 |  Version: iExplorer 3.7.6

Pros

Simply to use and easy to understand

Cons

Will not transfer everything from iPhone

Summary

This is a great app to use especially since my music on my iPhone randomly deletes. The app basically does everything for you, just select transfer and go. But i have had problems trying to transfer everything from my library. It stops half way through but other than that great app.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Fantastic product"

May 27, 2015  |  By protofiatlux

2015-05-27 22:51:57  |  By protofiatlux

 |  Version: iExplorer 3.7.4

Pros

Very fast transfer of music files from original iPod Classic, iPods 4 & 5, iPads 2 & 3, so far. I'd been wondering what the solution would be for me when the hard drive on my Classic gives up the ghost & I couldn't recover all that music. Problem solved for $35!!

Cons

While music transfer is reasonably fast, building more than a dozen or so playlists is very slow, to the point you might suspect the program has frozen. This seems a minor trade-off for the tremendous benefits of this software.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"works great!"

April 09, 2015

2015-04-09 19:18:51

 |  Version: iExplorer 3.6.8

Pros

works like a charm no problems so far.

Cons

pricy but still worth it if you are in to music as much as i am.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Amazing app!"

February 14, 2015  |  By lennon.wiser.3

2015-02-14 20:37:17  |  By lennon.wiser.3

 |  Version: iExplorer 3.6.4

Pros

It's like jailbreaking and SSH'ing into your iPhone without any of the hassle in a really easy to use interface!

Cons

None, at all!

Summary

If you are looking to transfer files and media from your iPhone or an old iPod, it's by far the only way to go!!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"malicious program"

January 17, 2015  |  By stepon2

2015-01-17 16:44:50  |  By stepon2

 |  Version: iExplorer 3.6

Pros

none. malicious program.

Cons

difficult to use.
installs Spigit
changes search engine and home page to Yahoo
reconfigures iTunes to not recognize iPhone

Summary

I installed iExplorer from download.com.
It installed Spigit, which is a malicious adware program that is difficult to remove, changed the search engine and home page to Yahoo, and configured iTunes so it did not recognize my iPhone. All of this for a free trial.

Reply to this review Read reply (1)

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

Results 1–10 of 57

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for iExplorer
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 3.9.12
Fixes issue that could prevent the Preferences Window from opening.
Various bug fixes
General
Publisher Macroplant
Publisher web site http://www.macroplant.com
Release Date August 24, 2016
Date Added August 24, 2016
Version 3.9.12
Category
Category MP3 & Audio Software
Subcategory Music Management Software
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Mac OS X 10.10/10.11/10.7/10.8/10.9
Additional Requirements None
Download Information
File Size 21.44MB
File Name iExplorer-4.0.1.0.dmg
Popularity
Total Downloads 138,854
Downloads Last Week 136
Pricing
License Model Free to try
Limitations Certain features are restricted.
Price $39.99

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +

More Products to Consider

Close[x]

Submit a problem report for iExplorer

Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.

Problem:

The Download.com Installer isn't working as expected

The download link does not work

The software has a newer version

The product contains malicious software

Other

Description:

Please select a feedback type.

Please enter a description.

Submit Problem Report

Close[x]

Problem Report submitted

Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.

OK