Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

Waterfox (64-Bit)

Free
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
Spectacular
Average User Rating:
out of 55 votes out of 4 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    34.0.4
  • Total Downloads:
    127,511
  • Date Added:
    Jan. 18, 2016
  • Price:
    Free
  • File Size:
    72.06MB
  • Downloads Last Week:
    262
  • Platform:
    Windows
  • Product ranking:
    #30 in Web Browsers

Editors' Review

+

Waterfox is a 64-bit version of Firefox. The browser's developers modified the Firefox source code specifically for machines running 64-bit versions of Windows. Software designed for 64-bit Windows editions can take advantage of faster RAM and processing speeds and greater stability in 64-bit systems. Just converting Mozilla's source code for 64-bit Windows doesn't do enough to make Waterfox stand apart from Firefox and other Firefox-based Web browsers; other unique tweaks help it exploit the speed of 64-bit systems. As the Waterfox Web site states, speed is its mission.

When we first opened Waterfox, it displayed our bookmarks and other personal data from Firefox. When it comes to looks and extras, Waterfox doesn't disappoint in a side-by-side comparison with the latest Firefox release. Waterfox has a family resemblance to other Mozilla-based browsers, with a dark blue Start button instead of Firefox's orange. Otherwise, Waterfox looks and functions like Firefox, including its various customizable features and options. Our add-ons, extensions, and plug-ins worked in Waterfox, too, including Microsoft's Office and Silverlight plug-ins. Waterfox also has regular updates.

We could tell with just a few quick trips to familiar sites that Waterfox is fast, so we visited some of our favorite browser speed test sites to see how it stacks up against the competition, including Firefox and our current default, Chrome. For the most revealing results, we threw Peacekeeper's HTML5 torture test at each, pitting Waterfox against the site's Chrome benchmark and our own copy of Chrome.

This online benchmarking tool separates the smartphones from the gaming desktops with a series of increasingly grueling tests that took some 5 minutes to run through. Waterfox bested Firefox but not Chrome, both in speed and HTML5-rendering capability, though the results were close enough to make it a matter of choice. Raw speed tests with CNET's Bandwidth Meter produced much closer results. Chrome held a consistent edge, but Waterfox is fast, too. Subjectively, it "feels" fast, which might be the advantages of 64-bit operation. In any case, we like Waterfox a lot. If you prefer Firefox but run 64-bit Windows, give Waterfox a try.

 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+

Results 1–4 of 4

1 stars

"Waterfox not as good as before"

February 29, 2016  |  By franxalot

2016-02-29 12:02:50  |  By franxalot

 |  Version: Waterfox (64-Bit) 34.0.4

Pros

Hasn't worked well enough or long enough to find any pros.

Cons

Very slow to load
Frequently freezes/resets/crashes

Summary

Have used both Firefox and Waterfox for many years and many versions using Windows 7, 8 and now 10.
WF was my favorite until this update because it uploaded quickly and handled everything I threw at it transparently. This latest version, however, has problems which don't go away. As stated above, it is VERY slow to load and has other problems in use. It frequently {every 5 min or so} freezes or resets itself to square one, losing whatever I'm working on.
It may be better/faster/smoother for some folks, but it doesn't show that side to me or my Asus laptop.
If another Waterfox upgrade is developed I'm willing to try once more, but until then I'm using Firefox.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"NEEDS TO BE IMPROVED"

February 12, 2016  |  By RoadRunnerUK1

2016-02-12 17:23:54  |  By RoadRunnerUK1

 |  Version: Waterfox (64-Bit) 34.0.4

Pros

It's FAST, uses little power and first impressions was GOOD - then it fell flat

Cons

Altered Settings to my personal use - it FAILED to save passwords, FROZE if the webpage had an active video playing (like MSN does), needed a re-boot to activate changes, doesn't have a Favourites Bar (that I could find).

Summary

Overall - VERY DISAPPOINTED - I went for it after reading the EDITORS Review, just goes to show - even he can get it wrong!!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"Used to be great; now garbage"

January 26, 2016  |  By wombatmatty

2016-01-26 15:02:49  |  By wombatmatty

 |  Version: Waterfox (64-Bit) 34.0.4

Pros

There aren't any pros anymore.

Cons

With each new release of Waterfox, the performance for me goes downhill, even on fresh installs with a fresh operating system. I had this one twenty different machines and I'm now uninstalling them all to use Firefox, which now has a 64 bit version.

Waterfox used to be fast, that is until the past few versions. It seems like the developer tried getting a little too fancy starting with the charity search (now ended). Each time I open the browser, search settings seem to default (even on fresh installs). Sometimes when searching using the upper right hand search bar takes me to a completely different search engine OR to my search settings. Pressing search again does what it should have done the first time.

There are way too many crashes and freezes now for my liking. Downloads very often fail for no reason with the inability to restart unless I browse to the link and click it again. It's not a particular website.

The waterfox process is also staying stuck in memory.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"Very poor clone"

January 19, 2016  |  By desertdan1

2016-01-19 05:45:11  |  By desertdan1

 |  Version: Waterfox (64-Bit) 34.0.4

Pros

Has none !!!

Cons

Uses all Firefox files! If you change settings on one it changes the other?????? and on top of that it uses 3 times the space Firefox does WTH? I know cnet love anything Mozilla but they should step up on this clone and rate it as junk!

Summary

Do not install this clone is one of the poorest I have seen!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

Results 1–4 of 4

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for Waterfox (64-Bit)
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 34.0.4
What's new in Waterfox 43.0.4?
  • Fixed crashing that occured when a user didn't have an exisiting Waterfox or Firefox profile.
  • Update base code for Windows & Mac releases to Firefox 43.0.4
  • Language packs are now available for download
What's new in Waterfox 43.0.1?
  • Fixed various crashes with less aggressive optimisation flags (Removal of -Qprec-div- -Qip -Qopt-prefetch)
What's new in Waterfox 43.0? Updates
  • Based on 43.0.3
  • Fixed UI malformation caused by Bug 1157984
  • Enabled aggressive optimisation flags (-O3 -Qprec-div- -Qip -Qopt-prefetch -Qparallel -QaxCORE-AVX2,CORE-AVX-I,AVX,SSE4.2,SSE4.1,SSSE3 -arch:SSE3), which should bring performance back up to par!
  • Updated enabled HTML5 features
  • Added Disconnect.me and Ecosia search engines to the search engine list
  • Full support for Windows XP (including WebGL, may have to disable Hardware Acceleration)
Changed
  • Removal of 64-Bit NPAPI whitelist
  • Removal of signed extension requirement
  • Removal of Encrypted Media Extensions (DRM)
  • Removal of all Mozilla Data Reporting services (properly)
Fixed
  • Fixed low resolution icons
  • Waterfox registry entries to not use the same as Firefox (Windows Only)
  • Automatic updates for Mac now work!
General
Publisher Waterfox
Publisher web site http://waterfoxproj.sourceforge.net
Release Date January 15, 2016
Date Added January 18, 2016
Version 34.0.4
Category
Category Browsers
Subcategory Web Browsers
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Windows XP/2003/Vista/Server 2008/7/8/10
Additional Requirements None
Download Information
File Size 72.06MB
File Name Waterfox 43.0.4 Setup.exe
Popularity
Total Downloads 127,511
Downloads Last Week 262
Pricing
License Model Free
Limitations Not available
Price Free

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +

More Products to Consider

Close[x]

Submit a problem report for Waterfox (64-Bit)

Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.

Problem:

The Download.com Installer isn't working as expected

The download link does not work

The software has a newer version

The product contains malicious software

Other

Description:

Please select a feedback type.

Please enter a description.

Submit Problem Report

Close[x]

Problem Report submitted

Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.

OK