Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

WOT (Web of Trust) for Firefox

Free
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
Outstanding
Average User Rating:
out of 172 votes out of 0 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    20151208
  • Total Downloads:
    113,850
  • Date Added:
    Aug. 16, 2016
  • Price:
    Free

Editors' Note: The Download Now link will prompt a local download of the Firefox extension. To install the extension directly, open the file using your Firefox browser.

Editors' Review

+

Like Angie's List and other reputation services, WOT is powered by individuals with real-world experiences to share. WOT for Firefox places WOT's trust meter between Firefox's address bar and search bar for instantaneous feedback about the Web sites you visit. It turns from green to yellow to red as the danger increases and displays site ratings when you click it. You can also share your experiences and views through your free WOT account and social media options.

WOT for Firefox runs not only in Firefox but also Firefox-based browsers; even 64-bit Cyberfox. During the setup process, we could sign in or create an account, which enables feedback and social features. But you don't have to sign up for WOT; it works just fine without an account, as we verified. Signing up for a free WOT account is easy, though, (you can do it through Facebook) and minimally intrusive. Clicking MyWOT opened our account page. We could access WOT's settings from the icon's menu or from Firefox's add-ons page. Setup finished with a Guided Tour of WOT's features, but more support options are available.

WOT's icon is perfectly placed to be visible but unobtrusive -- easy to spot when the color changes, but otherwise part of the background. Hovering the cursor displays the site's rating; clicking the icon displays the site's Trustworthiness, Vendor Reliability, Privacy, and Child Safety ratings. We could choose between warning pop-ups or warning pop-ups and site-blocking, configure reputation icons, and enable Parental Control, among other options. We browsed to a questionable site. WOT's icon turned red to flag the site's poor reputation (That's why we picked it!). WOT for Firefox kept us informed, which helped keep us safe.

 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+

Results 1–10 of 166

5 stars

"Great extension! Blocks dangerous sites as it should!"

August 09, 2016  |  By redmannn

2016-08-09 03:35:34  |  By redmannn

 |  Version: WOT (Web of Trust) for Firefox 20150708

Pros

Have had WOT installed for 3 months now and have no complaints. As a news junkie it can be hard to tell the good from the bad and I end up clicking through a lot of links. WOT has warned me several times about links that are not safe and for that I thank them!

Cons

Could be easier to rate sites without needing to get very specific.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"Not to be trusted"

March 15, 2016  |  By Michael Feliciano

2016-03-15 16:31:31  |  By Michael Feliciano

 |  Version: WOT (Web of Trust) for Firefox 20150708

Pros

None, the plugin uses way too much CPU usage, reviews are biased

Cons

I tried to get a review of my site after acquiring the domain. I had people posting false information that had nothing to to with my company whatsoever. Everyone on the site pretended to be some type of expert but they clearly were not intelligent or tech savvy. There is no moderation whatsoever so anyone can literally post anything without any repercussions. There is definitely a herd mentality in action. I would stay away from this site at all costs. If you're a business just ignore them. Nobody takes anything on there serious.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"do not use it"

June 03, 2015

2015-06-03 16:52:56

 |  Version: WOT (Web of Trust) for Firefox 20130915

Pros

nothing good

Cons

computer crashes
virus
never leaves
tracks
ratings sold
members attack for no reason other than win points and receives WOT awards
members visit thousands of sites on the net and find not one green site?
Con

Summary

I witnessed with my own eyes a person who has safe site everywhere, trashed because she got upset and said something in the forums. she deleted this, but now they have attacked and her own good customers ratings are gone - she has about 20 - because she has 2 reds, Her site is now deemed "get out of here" red. Of course, she can always buy her ratings back ! This site is not to be trusted, don't download this tool your computer will crash and don't visit their site.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

1 stars

"Ransomware"

April 09, 2014  |  By OceanLevi

2014-04-09 20:07:12  |  By OceanLevi

 |  Version: WOT (Web of Trust) for Firefox 20130915

Pros

If you pay to have features unlocked, you get access to web sites ratings.

Cons

Political expression is censored
Some news sites are censored
It is not an antivirus and cannot replace it
Is very difficult to fully remove
Tracks your browsing habits and phones home

Summary

Web of Trust has turned into something called "Ransom-ware". This means that you will no longer be able to access ratings unless you pay a yearly fee! This is exactly what the WoT community frowns upon as it is considered malware.

Beware of the Web of Trust (WOT) Virus!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (2)   (0)  

1 stars

"Don't Bother"

December 18, 2013  |  By BuehlerMoving

2013-12-18 14:25:26  |  By BuehlerMoving

 |  Version: WOT (Web of Trust) for Firefox 20130915

Pros

Nothing good to talk about

Cons

Waste of time
power happy people that bash your site to death no matter what you do
end result - bad score regardless

Summary

Don't even bother trying. You are better off with no WOT score rather than trying to get a good one. They bash your site to death and even when you do everything that they recommend, it still isn't good enough. It's a waste of time and energy for a bad result in the end.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (3)   (0)  

4 stars

"Great add on for any browser."

December 14, 2013  |  By weegee2899

2013-12-14 14:19:45  |  By weegee2899

 |  Version: WOT (Web of Trust) for Firefox 20130915

Pros

Warns you about risky sites on google searches and a warning pops up when you go to a poorly rated site.

Cons

It's an add on, so it may slow down your browser.
Some sites that are good are rated bad.

Summary

Overall a good add on.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (2)  

1 stars

"Garbage in, garbage out"

October 19, 2013  |  By cnet-rocks

2013-10-19 07:31:02  |  By cnet-rocks

 |  Version: WOT (Web of Trust) for Firefox 20130915

Pros

it is free

Cons

unreliable

Summary

Sloppy, superficial reviews of web sites. Not useful, often entirely wrong.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (3)   (2)  

1 stars

"WOT has become a joke on its own."

August 27, 2013  |  By Soft4Boost

2013-08-27 08:30:04  |  By Soft4Boost

 |  Version: WOT (Web of Trust) for Firefox 20130515

Pros

There are so much false reportings!

Cons

Nothing, only lie

Summary

I have given up on it years ago due to the many false claims, it is too bad the don't fix it, but by the looks of it they won't. Anyone can claim anything bad about a site using them and they won't fix it! just check into it if you don't believe me. Used to be good when first come out but really now just a waist of time actually using it, IMHO!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

2 stars

""Power Users"..? a User should be a User*"

August 10, 2013  |  By jhudson253

2013-08-10 15:17:06  |  By jhudson253

 |  Version: WOT for Firefox 20090918

Pros

Just from what I've read so far, the principle was good, initially..

Cons

But if so-called 'Power-Users' can wipe out what the average User inputs, then the rankings, ratings Can't be trusted

Summary

Do away with "Power Users" and have the UNBIASED moderators actually READ all inputs and determine if the input is "valid" or just hyper-junk generated by a competitor or a "paying advertiser" (even tho' claims to the contrary are inferred, anything tied back to google Will tie back to its *adservices*.
The simple fact that porn sites can be marked as "Safe", for ANY browser, HAS to be a Red Flag for this add on, in My opinion*. I will Have to check the other recommendations before choosing Any.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

2 stars

"cant trust this add on"

July 30, 2013  |  By richymun4

2013-07-30 07:33:46  |  By richymun4

 |  Version: WOT (Web of Trust) for Firefox 20130515

Pros

none what so ever

Cons

how can you trust this add on its based on what people think is acceptable anyone can rate a web site down with this so of course they can rate it bad for their own agenda based on anything ie political views religious views this whole plug in is flawed.
Don't people see this is the case.

Summary

why use a tool that is flawed.

Updated on Jul 31, 2013

i used this for a few day i noticed users giving sites poor ratings for silly reason some political some just because they didn't like the product.One completely safe site it gave a red circle yet it gives a green circle to a porn site that injects malware and such on your pc even green circles torrent sites that are breaking the law.Its complete nonsense.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

Results 1–10 of 166

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for WOT (Web of Trust) for Firefox
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 20151208
  • Several bug fixes
  • Interface upgrades
  • 18 languages supported
  • General
    Publisher MyWOT Web of Trust
    Publisher web site https://www.mywot.com/
    Release Date December 08, 2016
    Date Added August 16, 2016
    Version 20151208
    Category
    Category Browsers
    Subcategory Firefox Add-ons & Plugins
    Operating Systems
    Operating Systems Windows XP/2003/Vista/7/8/10
    Additional Requirements None
    Download Information
    File Size 1.07MB
    File Name web_of_trust_wot_website_reputation_ratings-20151208-sm+fx.xpi
    Popularity
    Total Downloads 113,850
    Downloads Last Week 8
    Pricing
    License Model Free
    Limitations Not available
    Price Free

    Previous Versions:

    Add to my list Report a problem
     
    read more +