Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

VueScan for Mac

$29.95
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
Good
Average User Rating:
out of 935 votes out of 0 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    9.5.61
  • Total Downloads:
    195,181
  • Date Added:
    Dec. 07, 2016
  • Price:
    Free to try (Limited supported devices); $29.95 to buy
  • File Size:
    8.09MB
  • Downloads Last Week:
    6
  • Platform:
    Mac
  • Product ranking:

Editors' Review

+

VueScan for Mac is a software package designed to take the place of the software that comes commercially packaged with scanners. It provides a very easy-to-use and easy-to-learn interface for scanning photos and documents into your system. It also works with a great number of older scanners that may not have supported software that works with more modern iterations of the operating system.

Pros

Great interface: The interface in VueScan for Mac is extremely easy to understand. The buttons are all very clearly labeled, and within every screen the options and settings are very easy to see, adjust, and understand. Even if you're not an expert with a lot of scanning experience, you should have no problem using the software.

Color adjustment features: When you scan something into VueScan, it has a number of options that allow you to adjust the color of your scanned image. By selecting a preset from a drop-down menu, you can easily adjust the color quality of your image. You can also adjust things manually if you want to get more particular about your final files.

Resurrects old equipment: One of the best things about VueScan is that it can make old equipment useful again. It connects to many older, flatbed scanners that are no longer supported by their manufacturers. This one piece of software can help you use a favorite piece of equipment again.

Cons

Slow operations: Although VueScan is very useful, especially because it works with so much old hardware, it is quite slow. Compared to the packaged applications that come with modern scanners, this software takes quite a bit of time to complete most operations.

Bottom Line

If you've got an old scanner that you love and want to keep using it, VueScan is a great program to purchase. It works as well or better than the software that came with most old scanners. What's even better is many scanners that are no longer supported will work with this program.

Editors' note: This is a review of the trial version of VueScan for Mac 9.4.46.

 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+

Results 1–10 of 394

1 stars

"Do not use the free version!"

October 20, 2015  |  By Agiuntini

2015-10-20 05:56:50  |  By Agiuntini

 |  Version: VueScan 9.5.27

Pros

ABSOLUTELY NONE.

Cons

1) Thought I could use some sort of free version for basic scanning use. I did and when I reviewed my scanned document it had 'Vue Scan Buy it now' written all over, so it made it unexploitable.
2) It closed all my Chrome tabs I had opened and took me quite a while before I could find most of them because...
3) I had to surf the web for quite some time to remove the malware amending my search engine preferences in all my browsers. A nightmare, do not bother.

Summary

DO NOT DOWNLOAD. It's a real waste of time.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"Buggy Installation - will not accept Registration"

January 29, 2014  |  By constructo

2014-01-29 14:29:29  |  By constructo

 |  Version: VueScan 9.4.23

Pros

As usual VueScan is easy to use. Large readily viewable preference panels enables user to have good control over the scan in a variety of formats. However ...

Cons

Having used VueScan for many years, contrary to the previous versions and upgrades, this version just WILL NOT RETAIN CLIENT INFORMATION (Serial number, client number, etc.) on my system. I have gone through the recommendations of the Vuescan help list, purged my preferences from the Preferences Folder, and rebooted the scanner and the computer umpteen times; all to no avail. I was working quite successfully with the previous version of the program. Although the program installs successfully, and accepts the codes and registration information - i.e. all windows change to OK after the information is entered - the information is not retained, or processed,and the application keeps coming back asking me to purchase the program. SO - I am hoping I can reinstall the previous version since it was working GREAT. (My System: iMac 2008 Edn, with OSX v10.9.1. 2GHz. Intel Core Duo processor, 6GB 800 MHz DDR2 SDRAM)

Summary

The program installs successfully, and accepts the codes and registration information - all windows change to OK after the information is entered - but the entered information is not retained, and the application keeps coming back asking me to purchase the program. I cannot get the program to retain and acknowledge the registration information - WHICH IS EXACTLY THE SAME AS THE INFO PROVIDED ON THE INVOICE.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

5 stars

"Buy it now"

December 25, 2013  |  By ezslides

2013-12-25 18:49:54  |  By ezslides

 |  Version: VueScan 9.4.17

Pros

This software will let you scan with any scanner and get great results. I have used it for years, and it always just works under any Mac OS (or Windows, for that matter). People who complain about it not working with Photoshop should be aware that Adobe created that problem with the OS and chose not to correct it. If you play around with Vuescan a bit, you will not have a problem with the interface, and it will give you great scans every time. Pay the price once and use it forever - all updates are free. It's a lot cheaper than buying a new scanner every couple years because the old one won't work in the new OS. I've used software from different hardware manufacturers and always come back to this one for all of my scanners. Oh, and you can save your files anywhere, with consecutive, specialized names in multiple formats (jpeg, tiff, pdf, etc.), or print scans automatically

Cons

NONE, Not any, nada.

Summary

If you can't understand the interface you probably have a lot of issues with software in general.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

3 stars

"Previous versions good, this one....?"

November 29, 2013  |  By davidweeks

2013-11-29 12:24:52  |  By davidweeks

 |  Version: VueScan 9.4.05

Pros

Previous version does what it says on the tin.

Cons

Sadly, this version does not connect with my Epson Scanner, so I'm using the earlier .04 version of the App.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

3 stars

"Decent, but don't use if you shoot with Ektar"

November 12, 2013  |  By kdaphoto

2013-11-12 23:32:34  |  By kdaphoto

 |  Version: VueScan 9.3.21

Pros

Works with wide range of scanners, especially old. Results are good with TMAX. Decent control over scan.

Cons

Don't use if scanning Ektar because scans are so heavy with cyan they are unusable. You cannot get rid of it in post produciton. Asked for help, he didn't have an answer. Pointed to some suggestons in the manual, but it is out of date.

Summary

Decent software except for Ektar, then it's useless.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Perfect for"

October 24, 2013  |  By fernemer

2013-10-24 13:08:05  |  By fernemer

 |  Version: VueScan 9.3.15

Pros

I have been using it for years with different scanners and VueScan has always worked fine either with documents and photos. I use it in Germany with the Garman interface and i am always surprised about the functionality of VueScan. And when it "didn't work" it was always may own fault and every time Ed was very patient and helpful.

Cons

None so far.

Summary

Try it - use it - and be satisfied.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"THE most responsive product support on the planet!"

October 24, 2013  |  By eleven22

2013-10-24 04:27:47  |  By eleven22

 |  Version: VueScan 9.3.15

Pros

It. Just. Works. With virtually any scanner. I wouldn't be surprised if it interfaces with my toaster-oven. ;) And if there's an issue, Ed Hamrick is all over it.

Cons

I wish this app were bundled with all scanners.

Summary

VueScan was not playing nice with the duplex scanning via ADF on my Epson WF 7520. I had an ongoing dialog and shared log files and comments with Mr. Hamrick over a span of a 5 or 6 weeks. With each successive update btwn my first contact and today, the solution got closer and closer — and as of today's release of v9.3.15, he nailed it! I now have 100% scanning functionality. Thank you, Ed!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

5 stars

"Does a great job with old scanners."

October 11, 2013  |  By glwade

2013-10-11 14:24:18  |  By glwade

 |  Version: VueScan 9.3.09

Pros

Allows the use of old scanners long after the manufacturers stop upgrading their drivers. I just produced some beautiful scans from an old Epson scanner that I hadn't used in several years. The software was very easy to use, and recognized the scanner instantly.

Cons

Well, price. But if I were writing and maintaining this software, I'd be tempted to charge even more!

Summary

Great software, invaluable when you really need when you really need to use an old scanner, or someone else's scanner and you don't have their drivers.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (2)   (0)  

4 stars

"The only app on the market that supports my hardware."

August 13, 2013  |  By Stephanie Mitchell

2013-08-13 09:31:27  |  By Stephanie Mitchell

 |  Version: VueScan 9.2.23

Pros

VueScan lets me keep my investment in my old but good and fully functional hardware instead of consigning it to landfill. OCR works well for capturing text, even though it can't capture layout and font details like dedicated OCR apps.

Cons

Complex interface, inability to double-click a preferences file to launch, 64-bit version is very awkward to download.

Summary

VueScan continues to support my elderly yet still fully functional HP ScanJet 5300c even though HP stopped producing drivers for it with the arrival of OS X. Once the settings are set, I can scan a stack of prints with single-button ease even though my scanner has no document feeder. All the features of my elderly Minolta negative scanner are also supported. This gives me a consistent interface for all my scanning needs.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (2)   (0)  

1 stars

"As bad as it gets :-("

July 22, 2013  |  By MacCollector

2013-07-22 06:43:55  |  By MacCollector

 |  Version: VueScan 9.2.22

Pros

+ It probbaly supports a lot of scanners but in a terrible way.
+ You get one year of free updates, but you don't need them.

Cons

- Its the worse User Interface I have ever used on a Mac. I suppose you have to be PC freak to appreciate these weird way of handling a slide scan.
- Every attempt to scan a slide gets me mad and you have to start over from the beggining again.
- Saving dialog is not automatic as you'd expect. File is tored inside Prefernces folder!?
- Look at Apple and LEARN. There are so many setting that are of little use and are not explained with pictures but with loooong explanations.
- Scanning 4 slides "DIAs" in one go is almost impossible.

Summary

Don't buy it...!
Use Apple's built-in version. It's much simpler and much more to the point without a lot of frustration, hunt and seek for the settings that might help you.
VueScan has just about NO thoughts at all about how we think and act as humans. A user interface that is so complicated is of no use regardless of the number of options and alternatives, when you cannot figure out how to get your job done.

1 Use Apple's print/scan options in Control Panel
2 Use your scanners own driver if it is understandable and capable doing the job.
3 Use VueScan if all other fails.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (4)  

Results 1–10 of 394

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for VueScan
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 9.5.61
  • Added support for 25 new Brother scanners
    • DCP-J567N
    • DCP-J767N
    • DCP-J968N
    • MFC-J2330DW
    • MFC-J2730DW
    • MFC-J3530DW
    • MFC-J3930DW
    • MFC-J5330DW
    • MFC-J5335DW
    • MFC-J5730DW
    • MFC-J5830DW
    • MFC-J5930DW
    • MFC-J6530DW
    • MFC-J6535DW
    • MFC-J6580CDW
    • MFC-J6730DW
    • MFC-J6930DW
    • MFC-J6935DW
    • MFC-J6980CDW
    • MFC-J6995CDW
    • MFC-J737DN
    • MFC-J837DN
    • MFC-J887N
    • MFC-J907DN
    • MFC-J997DN
  • Added support for plugin for Photoshop CC 2017
  • Added preliminary support for Plustek ePhoto Z300
  • Fixed problem with duplex scanning with some Fujitsu scanners
  • Fixed problem with some older HP scanners
  • Fixed problem with duplex scanning on HP CM2320fxi
  • Fixed problem with some Canon DR-series scanners
  • Fixed problem with duplex scanning with Epson WF-7610 and WF-7620
  • Fixed problem with HP PageWide Pro 577 WiFi connection
  • Made default for OCR output plain text format (not RTF)
General
Publisher Hamrick Software
Publisher web site http://www.hamrick.com/
Release Date December 07, 2016
Date Added December 07, 2016
Version 9.5.61
Category
Category Drivers
Subcategory Scanner Drivers
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Mac OS X 10.10/10.11/10.6/10.7/10.8/10.9
Additional Requirements None
Download Information
File Size 8.09MB
File Name vuex3295.dmg
Popularity
Total Downloads 195,181
Downloads Last Week 6
Pricing
License Model Free to try
Limitations Limited supported devices
Price $29.95

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +