Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

VueScan

$39.95
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
Excellent
Average User Rating:
out of 82 votes out of 5 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    9.5.18
  • Total Downloads:
    103,512
  • Date Added:
    Jul. 08, 2015
  • Price:
    Free to try (Limited supported devices); $39.95 to buy
  • File Size:
    8.04MB
  • Downloads Last Week:
    3
  • Platform:
    Windows
  • Product ranking:

Editors' Review

+

You've got a scanner, but to scan images into your PC, you need software like VueScan from Hamrick Software. VueScan is compatible with most flatbed and film scanners, and their software, which means you can use it without making any changes to your PC or existing scanner software. VueScan's processing features can restore faded colors and perform other professional-type adjustments, but it's also easy to use. VueScan is free to try, though the trial version places a watermark on saved images. The free trial might also support fewer devices, though the list of supported devices is so long that we can't imagine what could be left off. VueScan supports Windows versions 2000 to 8.

VueScan automatically detected our USB flatbed scanner when it opened. It also displayed an optional tool tip, and the message box on the Input tab asked what we wanted to do, following up its question with specific examples and actions. These frequent on-screen explanations and other data showed VueScan's emphasis on ease of use and support. VueScan resembles many scanner utilities we've tried, with a main window showing Preview and Scan tabs and a left-hand navigation and control panel tabbed for Input, Crop, Filter, Color, Output, and Prefs. We had but one scanner, but VueScan lets you choose between multiple scanners and compatible image data sources, when available. The Scanner menu's Calibrate control automatically optimized VueScan's preview display, but the software offers many options for tweaking and fine-tuning images, color balance, and other parameters.

We loaded an image and pressed "Preview." VueScan's preview looked good, so we pressed "Scan," though we could also press "Guide Me" for more information or "Abort" to cancel the scan. A pop-up notified us about the output watermark; we pressed "OK." Our finished and saved scan opened inside Windows Photo Viewer with the watermark liberally applied, but otherwise a close reproduction of the original. Since you need a scanner to use VueScan, it's likely your scanner came with similar software. The full version of VueScan costs almost $40, so we'll stick with the utility that came with our scanner, but VueScan is a worthy alternative.

Editors' note: This is a review of the trial version of VueScan 9.2.19.

 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+

Results 1–5 of 5

4 stars

"Saves good old working scanners from dumpster"

September 17, 2016  |  By xxxeni

2016-09-17 07:16:16  |  By xxxeni

 |  Version: VueScan 9.5.18

Pros

It's all good mostly. Good software to keep your old good scanner and to kick ass of manufacturers who play by the criminal rules of Planned Obsolescence.

Cons

The crop box only matches the top edge of the image and you have to manually adjust the side and the bottom edges to crop it correctly for the scanning job to be complete.

Reply to this review Read reply (1)

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"Don't buy, you'll loose your money"

December 11, 2015  |  By veronica-

2015-12-11 23:40:37  |  By veronica-

 |  Version: VueScan 9.5.18

Pros

none, nothing works

Cons

We bought the product. It freezes the new PC with Windows 10 and the HP Officejet.

Summary

We spent hours to look over his website to solve the problem, but nothing worked. We wrote an email that it doesn't work for us and want our money back. Ed only did reply with a shortcut to the FAQ. We already went through this and told him we're too busy to go this over again. He replied in a very arrogant and sarcastic way. He seems a weird creature. I'm afraid I lost my money. Any one else with the same problem?

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"dont waste your time"

December 11, 2015  |  By saytravel

2015-12-11 18:18:13  |  By saytravel

 |  Version: VueScan 9.5.18

Pros

none...this is useless and not worth the time or interest

Cons

Junk software and requires id and numbers... useless

Summary

too many great apps and this is the worst.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"FREE TRIAL STILL PUTS WATERMARKS THROUGHOUT THE SCAN"

December 10, 2015  |  By somedaysoonish

2015-12-10 23:46:27  |  By somedaysoonish

 |  Version: VueScan 9.5.18

Pros

Would have been great if it did what it promised.

Cons

Unusable. "Free trial" has tiny watermarks a few millimeters apart that cover the whole document. What is the point of a free trial if I can't actually use the software to produce a file I can use? Swindles like this are the reason piracy exists.

Summary

Don't waste your time downloading the free trial if you want a scanned file you can actually use.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"FREE TRIAL STILL PUTS WATERMARKS THROUGHOUT THE SCAN"

December 10, 2015  |  By AndThisIsProbablyWhy

2015-12-10 23:41:53  |  By AndThisIsProbablyWhy

 |  Version: VueScan 9.5.18

Pros

Would have been great if it did what it promised.

Cons

Unusable. "Free trial" has tiny watermarks a few millimeters apart that cover the whole document. What is the point of a free trial if I can't actually use the software to produce a file I can use? Swindles like this are the reason piracy exists.

Summary

Don't waste your time downloading the free trial if you want a scanned file you can actually use.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

Results 1–5 of 5

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for VueScan
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 9.5.18
Version 9.5.18 added support for HP Color LaserJet MFP M277c and new Plustek scanners.
General
Publisher Hamrick Software
Publisher web site http://www.hamrick.com/
Release Date July 08, 2015
Date Added July 08, 2015
Version 9.5.18
Category
Category Digital Photo Software
Subcategory Digital Photo Tools
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Windows 2000/XP/Vista/7/8
Additional Requirements None
Download Information
File Size 8.04MB
File Name vuex3295.exe
Popularity
Total Downloads 103,512
Downloads Last Week 3
Pricing
License Model Free to try
Limitations Limited supported devices
Price $39.95

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +