Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

VueMinder Lite

Free
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
Excellent
Average User Rating:
out of 94 votes out of 0 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    2016.09
  • Total Downloads:
    261,559
  • Date Added:
    Aug. 14, 2016
  • Price:
    Free

Editors' Review

+

VueMinder Lite is a feature-rich calendar that will keep you on schedule, thanks to its reminders and desktop overlay and that syncs with Google Calendar and Outlook and offers you the ability to subscribe to dozens of public calendars of various types.

Pros

Google and Public calendar support: When you start VueMinder Lite for the first time, you'll go through a brief setup process where you can subscribe to public calendars and sync with your own Google Calendar. We were particularly impressed with the catalog of public calendars available, ranging from religious and national holidays, to weather and sports, to even scientific and historic calendars.

Desktop overlay: The first time we minimized the main window of VueMinder Lite, we were very surprised to still be looking at it on our desktop. The optional desktop overlay is on by default and is very customizable; we could pick and choose its timespan, show and hide optional panels, resize it, and even change its transparency levels.

A multitude of features: From the moment you set eyes on this application, you'll know that it means business. In this free version of the software you'll find features that even paid products don't offer, such as the ability to be notified not only some time before the beginning of an event, but also before its end.

Cons

An up-to-date Windows 7 installation is required: It's not often that an app depends on system updates to function, but that's the case here. If you want to use the software's Google Calendar integration on a PC with Windows 7 or earlier, you need to ensure that it is up to date or at the very least that it has update KB2468871 installed.

Bottom Line

If you rely on your calendar to keep you on track throughout your day, you'll definitely benefit from VueMinder Lite. Even if you tend to use your smartphone as your hub for calendars and reminders, the nice desktop overlay that this software provides offers a really convenient and fast way to see what's next on your agenda.

 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+

Results 1–10 of 94

2 stars

"Spyware-Norton removed it automatically"

January 11, 2016  |  By bojiboy2k

2016-01-11 09:12:04  |  By bojiboy2k

 |  Version: VueMinder Lite 2016.00

Pros

Awesome calendar. Used it for the last 2 yrs, great

Cons

Eveything was fine until but this month I got 2 updates. The next day Norton removed the entire program says unsafe. Tried to reinstall, Norton found it unsafe.

Summary

I hope the developer will look into this

Reply to this review Read reply (1)

Was this review helpful? (0)   (1)  

5 stars

"THE BEST -- Hands Down"

July 29, 2015  |  By thenson229

2015-07-29 20:15:57  |  By thenson229

 |  Version: VueMinder Lite 11.2.9

Pros

The lite version does more than most free calendar organizer do. Separate calendars for different people, many categories, color coded. You can select to look at only one or several calendars merged. The reminders are great.

Cons

Need paid version for text reminders.

Summary

This is perfect if you spend most of your time at your desk or your laptop. I haven't tried it yet on my windows tablet.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

5 stars

"Best free app of any kind that I've ever downloaded"

January 19, 2015  |  By bighairtexan

2015-01-19 13:01:47  |  By bighairtexan

 |  Version: VueMinder Lite 11.2.6

Pros

Easy to use
easy to personalize
pop up reminders with or without sound
intuitive

Cons

I really can't think of any. Going from MacBook and iCal I was concerned about finding an equally user friendly calendar but not an issue.

Summary

I've been a Mac/Apple user for many years and I could do use the iCal in my sleep. Going to an Asus with Windows, I was very concerned I'd have to relearn a calendar app and would find it lacking. Cnet raved about VueMinder so I decided to give it a try. VueMinder has iCal beat, hands down. If you want it to, it announces your upcoming events either w/ a tone or w/ voice. "Tuesday 11:30 Dr. Smith."
It allows more than ample room for notes and you can set up customized repeating events. I love it.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

1 stars

"OK but SLOW"

September 09, 2014  |  By Spiderhulk63

2014-09-09 21:30:55  |  By Spiderhulk63

 |  Version: VueMinder Lite 11.2.3

Pros

Simple and Easy

Cons

Slow to load, slow to open entries, and I have a 2.7 ghz with 6gb ram and very little software running besides Office/Word. So it should not be so slow.

Summary

I downloaded the lite version, and then paid $50 for the pro version, and in spite of a year of updates, it never got any faster, and I really only use it as a back-up calendar.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (1)  

5 stars

"Finally found it! The best schedule organizing program!"

April 16, 2014  |  By MeimanB

2014-04-16 19:14:31  |  By MeimanB

 |  Version: VueMinder Lite 11.0.5

Pros

* Too many Pros to list.
* The free edition is so good!
* Features like: recurring dates and descriptions and locations ability to show Working hours and so much more!
* A better alternative to Google Calendar.
* So simple it does not occupy much of RAM or physical memory.
* Just get it.

Cons

* Maybe one could be the Design of program if acting too picky. Actually w/e is there is in the perfect balance: many programs whether complicate it or simplify it too much.

Summary

Okay, so I was looking for a good calendar to get organized. A lot of them cost $. Important to note, a lot of them do not give this simple ability: time-schedule that you can easily edit as if you are using a physical day planner in front of you, with the exception that VueMinder is much better. I think I will completely settle in this software from physical planner. I am in love with this! Big "thank you" to the team who made it. Well done!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

4 stars

"Attractive, Reliable, Comprehensive"

February 17, 2014  |  By LadyNetworker

2014-02-17 19:20:29  |  By LadyNetworker

 |  Version: VueMinder Lite 11.0.2

Pros

More features than I'll ever probably need, so covers everything that I need now. Multiple calendars can be made and lots of color-coding as needed. Nice transparency feature for desktop. Choice between popup or desktop alerts. Plenty of space and features to add lots of info about each events.

Cons

Have to keep a window open (can minimize) in order for desktop calendar to show. Not an issue. I just like to keep my taskbar cleaned up.

Summary

Great free, desktop calendar. Am so glad that I found it.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

4 stars

"An efficient program to control my schedule"

January 27, 2014  |  By Lauren_J

2014-01-27 17:38:06  |  By Lauren_J

 |  Version: VueMinder Lite 10.1.9

Pros

be able to float the program widget on background.

Cons

there is some hesitation between click and execution.

Summary

when i get in trouble about program, support team give the prompt and accurate answer to solve problem. so, i really appreciate it.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Loaded with features and very customizable."

November 15, 2013  |  By LadyNetworker

2013-11-15 11:00:58  |  By LadyNetworker

 |  Version: VueMinder Lite 10.1.9

Pros

Two different types of alerts. You can test to see which one you prefer. Attractive interface. Can create what seems to be an unlimited number of calendars, and even calendar groups.

Cons

In order for calendar to display on desktop, must have window opened always, either minimized or maximized. If this window is exited, desktop calendar closes and icon in notification area leaves. Just a small thing really. Just didn't expect to have to have an additional window open at all times.

Summary

Love this calendar. Lite has everything that I need.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Simply Outstanding Calendar application"

August 01, 2013  |  By atunis58041

2013-08-01 17:49:53  |  By atunis58041

 |  Version: VueMinder Lite 10.1.9

Pros

Covers all the bases - nothing imaginable is left out. Syncs with Google Calendar. Offers an impressive list of customizations.

Cons

May be a bit overwhelming for many users. Take the time to read through the help files, and you will be impressed with what can be done with this software - it's worth spending the time understanding how it works.

Summary

Simply the best calendar available, with an extraordinary list of extras!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

2 stars

"Too much of everything."

June 24, 2013  |  By bustertoad

2013-06-24 07:10:56  |  By bustertoad

 |  Version: VueMinder Lite 10.1.9

Pros

Easy download and install.

Cons

Too large, too complicated and just too overwhelming. I was misled by the term "lite". I was expecting a small unobtrusive program to run in the back ground and notify me when I ask it to. I couldn't even figure out how to get the notification function to work. Overkill for what I needed.

Summary

Misled by the word"lite". I uninstalled this program.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (1)  

Results 1–10 of 94

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for VueMinder Lite
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 2016.09
Version 2016.09:
  • Corrected various problems related to recurring events sometimes duplicating and reminders not dismissing or snoozing.
  • Corrected formatting of event descriptions when imported from an ICS file that was previous exported from VueMinder. Previously, the descriptions would import only as plain text.
  • Corrected the list of exported events shown after exporting a calendar to an ICS file. Recurring event variations were listed twice.
  • Updated the Catalan and Portuguese translations.
  • Other minor corrections and improvements.
General
Publisher VueSoft
Publisher web site http://www.vueminder.com
Release Date August 12, 2016
Date Added August 14, 2016
Version 2016.09
Category
Category Productivity Software
Subcategory Calendar & Time Management Software
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Windows XP/2003/Vista/Server 2008/7/8/10
Additional Requirements .NET Framework 4.0/4.5/4.6
Download Information
File Size 14.65MB
File Name VueMinder_Lite_Setup.exe
Popularity
Total Downloads 261,559
Downloads Last Week 431
Pricing
License Model Free
Limitations Not available
Price Free

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +

More Products to Consider

Close[x]

Submit a problem report for VueMinder Lite

Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.

Problem:

The Download.com Installer isn't working as expected

The download link does not work

The software has a newer version

The product contains malicious software

Other

Description:

Please select a feedback type.

Please enter a description.

Submit Problem Report

Close[x]

Problem Report submitted

Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.

OK