Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

Virtual Audio Cable

$35
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
Average
Average User Rating:
out of 19 votes out of 0 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    4.15
  • Total Downloads:
    510,155
  • Date Added:
    Jan. 04, 2016
  • Price:
    Free to try (2-cable trial); $35.00 to buy

Editors' Review

+

Virtual Audio Cable installs software audio input and output interfaces on your PC that can be used to take the sound coming from one app and turn it into microphone input for another. The software is odd in that there is no main window where you can pair input and output apps together; it is instead done right from those apps' settings.

Pros

Deep Windows integration: Each "cable" that Virtual Audio Cable installs is actually a pair of software input and output devices. This setup is completely independent of your actual microphone and loudspeakers, not relying on them in any way -- so much so that you can use this software even on a machine that has no hardware audio input and output devices.

Advanced cable settings: There is a control panel where you can customize the sound that's traveling through the virtual cables, including specifying the number of worker threads, the audio format range, the number of cables, and controlling the stream buffer. We recommend trying the default settings and using the control panel only if necessary; also, make sure that your PC exceeds Windows' minimum hardware requirements or your audio may stutter.

Cons

A steep learning curve: Since the software operates in an unusual way from the vast majority of apps, it is vital that a quality tutorial is made available on first launch. Unfortunately, that's not the case; you're left with a documentation that has its most informative section, Usage Examples, buried near the end of it.

Not all apps are compatible: Due to its mode of operation, which requires that you search for audio input/output options in the settings pane of third-party apps, this software is incompatible with any third-party apps that don't allow custom audio input/output sources to be set.

Dangerous software upgrades: Be sure to uninstall your current version of the software if you intend to install an updated one. Not doing so will mess up your virtual cables.

Bottom Line

Although a powerful piece of software, Virtual Audio Cable lacks intuitiveness. Even its documentation is not structured optimally, as it is there to provide a college course in audio input/output technologies rather than get you up and running in as little time as possible.

Editors' note: This is a review of the trial version of Virtual Audio Cable 4.14.

 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+

Results 1–10 of 19

5 stars

"Unique piece of software"

October 17, 2015  |  By bls12888

2015-10-17 21:14:01  |  By bls12888

 |  Version: Virtual Audio Cable 4.14

Pros

Although I use this tool for testing audio software on a laptop not equipped with bunch of inputs and outputs, it's extremely versatile audio routing utility with many use cases. Works great, highly recommended.

Cons

None really. Some complain about "you have to uninstall before upgrade", that is a minor inconvenience.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"DO NOT USE THIS PROGRAM"

April 05, 2013  |  By Compiemunky

2013-04-05 09:16:56  |  By Compiemunky

 |  Version: Virtual Audio Cable 4.12

Pros

none, couldn't get it working

Cons

once set up and pressed start I got BSOD and it fried my laptop motherboard
didn't offer any support

Reply to this review Read reply (1)

Was this review helpful? (0)   (2)  

2 stars

"Ridiculously Annoying. Period."

January 05, 2013  |  By the_muse77

2013-01-05 23:54:54  |  By the_muse77

 |  Version: Virtual Audio Cable 4.12

Pros

It's free.
Super easy to install.
Great way to integrate Winamp into Ventrilo.

Cons

The major problem I have here is that it has the "trial" announcement.

Summary

I downloaded this to make a "Jukebox" channel for my vent server. But there's this "trial" announcement every 10 seconds. It gets old REALLY fast. I'd recommend it, other than that. I could probably tolerate it if it was every 5 minutes, or even every 3 minutes. But no. Every 10 seconds. That killed it for me. One song into my raid, I had to stop everyone so that I could uninstall it. I do NOT recommend.

Reply to this review Read reply (1)

Was this review helpful? (0)   (2)  

5 stars

"It's exactly what I'm looking for!"

September 08, 2012  |  By Doctursea

2012-09-08 20:32:19  |  By Doctursea

 |  Version: Virtual Audio Cable 4.12

Pros

If you're a streamer it helps with skype calls, desktop audio, music, etc.

If you don't have a natural stereo mix this is a great program.

Easy to use

Cons

No free version

The main website isn't put together well

A little too pricey

Summary

I've been looking for a program like this for months, and this one sadly isn't well publicized. I can see this being used for streaming alot. Sadly the "trial" version can't be used one real streams, because it spam says "TRIAL" approximately every 10 seconds. It's a good program, sloppy but it'll get what you need done.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

1 stars

"Insanely annoying"

July 30, 2012  |  By Laithoron

2012-07-30 21:58:55  |  By Laithoron

 |  Version: Virtual Audio Cable 4.12

Pros

None that I can think of.

Cons

This will repeatedly say, "Trial" every 10 seconds until you can manage to get it successfully uninstalled.

Summary

MAKE CERTAIN that you do NOT have the virtual cable in use by any apps when you attempt to uninstall it, or the uninstall process will break and you'll be in for a world of pain.

Reply to this review Read reply (1)

Was this review helpful? (0)   (1)  

5 stars

"Easy to use"

June 14, 2012  |  By wdreeve

2012-06-14 13:29:41  |  By wdreeve

 |  Version: Virtual Audio Cable 4.12

Pros

I found the virtual audio cable to be very easy to setup and it worked very well. It is obvious many reviewers were too lazy to read the documentation or even try to understand what they were doing. The documentation is very good but you have to read it to understand it.

Cons

Too bad it's not free. The Trial version has an annoying voice announcement every few seconds.

Summary

Good product....

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (1)  

1 stars

"wanted to have a music bot but...trial"

February 09, 2012  |  By Rml_92

2012-02-09 00:38:07  |  By Rml_92

 |  Version: Virtual Audio Cable 4.10

Pros

takes up space on your computer

Cons

TRIAL! TRIAL! TRIAL! TRIAL! TRIAL! TRIAL! TRIAL! TRIAL! TRIAL! TRIAL! TRIAL! TRIAL! TRIAL! TRIAL! TRIAL! TRIAL! TRIAL! TRIAL! TRIAL! TRIAL! TRIAL! TRIAL! TRIAL! TRIAL! TRIAL! TRIAL! TRIAL! TRIAL!

Reply to this review Read reply (1)

Was this review helpful? (0)   (1)  

1 stars

"Trial is not usable!"

October 28, 2011  |  By JonBuoy

2011-10-28 13:06:16  |  By JonBuoy

 |  Version: Virtual Audio Cable 4.10

Pros

Good setup configuration

Cons

The trial version randomly (1-5 sec interval) speaks "TRIAL" over the audio streams!!

Can easily create a feedback loop that remains at bootup (prior to login) when an app such as Skype has defined one of the "cables" as an output device and "Stereo Mix" is an active "listen" device. Though easily corrected, it is QUITE THE SURPRISE after rebooting and returning at some later time and noticing that the speaker has been spewing white-ish noise from the feedback loop!

OS is Windows 7.

Summary

The restriction on the trial version is MORE SEVERE than just only 2 cables, unless you like the female voice repeating "TRIAL"!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (1)  

4 stars

"ok!!!!!,!!!!!!!!!!"

November 12, 2010  |  By f24margo

2010-11-12 21:21:07  |  By f24margo

 |  Version: Virtual Audio Cable 4.10

Pros

quality HI,!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Cons

duscrepsion

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (2)  

4 stars

"Very good tool but with some noise"

November 02, 2010  |  By raguks

2010-11-02 10:28:20  |  By raguks

 |  Version: Virtual Audio Cable 4.10

Pros

Easy to setup, works right away.

Cons

There is some noise rendering this less useful.

Summary

A must have for audio enthus. Good but lack great sound quality some how.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

Results 1–10 of 19

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for Virtual Audio Cable
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 4.15
  • Added KSEVENT_PINCAPS_FORMATCHANGE event support.
  • Replaced source line summer with a multiplexer.
  • Added recording side volume control.
  • Added cable information window with stream information list.
  • Added event log feature.
  • Fixed some bugs in KS version of Audio Repeater.
  • Added some options and useful information display to KS version of Audio Repeater.
  • Added MMCSS task registration to Audio Repeater to control thread priority.
  • Fixed a bug in resuming the streaming after sleep/hibernation.
  • Added Ctrl-C support in Audio Repeater "Wave in" and "Wave out" fields to copy device name to the clipboard.
  • Increased small buffer movement uniformity between VAC driver and applications.
General
Publisher Eugene Muzychenko
Publisher web site http://software.muzychenko.net/eng
Release Date December 31, 2015
Date Added January 04, 2016
Version 4.15
Category
Category MP3 & Audio Software
Subcategory Streaming Audio Software
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Windows 2000/XP/2003/Vista/Server 2008/7
Additional Requirements None
Download Information
File Size 590.76KB
File Name vac415.zip
Popularity
Total Downloads 510,155
Downloads Last Week 1,547
Pricing
License Model Free to try
Limitations 2-cable trial
Price $35

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +

More Products to Consider

Close[x]

Submit a problem report for Virtual Audio Cable

Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.

Problem:

The Download.com Installer isn't working as expected

The download link does not work

The software has a newer version

The product contains malicious software

Other

Description:

Please select a feedback type.

Please enter a description.

Submit Problem Report

Close[x]

Problem Report submitted

Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.

OK