Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

ViceVersa Pro

$59.95
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
Excellent
Average User Rating:
out of 33 votes out of 0 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    2.5 build 2515
  • Total Downloads:
    113,232
  • Date Added:
    Jul. 10, 2015
  • Price:
    Free to try (30-day trial); $59.95 to buy (Buy it now)
  • File Size:
    3.77MB
  • Downloads Last Week:
    10
  • Platform:
    Windows

Editors' Review

+
This utility offers plenty of ways to back up and synchronize your data, but it isn't very easy to use. Version 2.0 doesn't much improve the complicated interface, which is burdened by weakly integrated tools. Worse still, you won't find wizards or dialog boxes to guide you, so you may find selecting files and folders both frustrating and annoying. In terms of backup capabilities, you have a number of options. For example, you may store compressed archives and lock them with a password or compare files in multiple locations and replace older copies. ViceVersa Pro also enables you to save several previous versions of documents and includes a pack of useful features and tools such as time synchronization and a scheduler, though it lacks FTP support. ViceVersa can run as a Windows service, without users logged in. Because of its smorgasbord of features and options, ViceVersa Pro could be a fit for advanced users willing to slog their way through its ill-conceived interface.
 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+

Results 1–10 of 32

5 stars

"Easy to use, extremely fast, reliable."

February 13, 2013  |  By j_Wintere

2013-02-13 17:05:34  |  By j_Wintere

 |  Version: ViceVersa Pro 2.5 build 2511

Pros

Robustly documented.
Well designed.
Nice User Interface.
Well supported.
VERY fast!!!

Cons

If you want to use the full power of ViceVersa, you'll have to invest time to learn it. The VVEngine scheduler add-on is absolutely amazing in what it can do (including real-time operation) and the extensive set of options.

Summary

Finally I tried the latest ViceVersa PRO 2.5: this is absolutely the best file synchronizer I have tried. Period. Highly recommended.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"Confirm lie/ripoff!!!"

January 10, 2013  |  By __Adam

2013-01-10 05:47:52  |  By __Adam

 |  Version: ViceVersa Pro 2.5 build 2511

Pros

The software generally does what it's supposed to do.

Cons

TGRMN falsely advertises free upgrades to minor versions then reneges after they already have your money. Fact - not opinion.

If you want to make sure you'll get what you pay for, purchase software from a different company. See comments below.

Summary

I can confirm what others are saying about not keeping their advertised promise of free upgrades for minor versions. I too purchased version 2.0 and was denied a free upgrade to version 2.5 (which is clearly a *minor* version upgrade!). My advice: look elsewhere. There are a lot of other options out there for similar software developed by companies who won't lie to you (and effectively steal part of your purchase price) by promising something and failing to deliver. TGRMN may get a few gullible suckers who are willing to pay again for something they already paid for, but I'm not one of them. Bad business and shameful.

Reply to this review Read replies (2)

Was this review helpful? (1)   (2)  

5 stars

"Easy to use and does the job reliably."

February 25, 2012

2012-02-25 08:33:02

 |  Version: ViceVersa Pro 2.5 Build 2504

Pros

1. Easy to use.
2. The interface to backup is intuitive.
3. Love the ability to schedule back-ups to multiple destination drives and folders.
4. I am a paranoid lad when it comes to hard drives, I don't trust them, so I back-up to multiples. I also back-up to and receive data from an external source. However, the external drive is not always connected to the computer. This program has the function where - if one of your source drives or destination drives is not connected to the computer - will allow it to ignore the external drive's lack of presence while continuing to perform the back-up to other drives.
5. The link to the Windows scheduler is built-in to the program. You can schedule back-ups to a time of day, or if the computer is idle after a time, or when you log on.
6. Affordable priced.

Cons

Requires a password to work the automatic function. Understandably, you would want a password to log onto your desktop, but if you have a family computer where you might have no password to get there, you'll have to create one if you wish to use this program with the built-in scheduler.

Summary

Would definitely recommend this software to my friends and business colleagues.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

5 stars

"An outstanding product, well designed and functional."

May 02, 2011  |  By mikemeek1

2011-05-02 05:08:03  |  By mikemeek1

 |  Version: ViceVersa Pro 2.5 Build 2502

Pros

Simple, easy to use, ergonomic. The help into the program (and on the website) is very clear and useful. Performs backups, file replication and bi-directional sync too.

Cons

No disadvantages

Summary

I have been using ViceVersa PRO for workstations sync for several years. Now I just started using it on servers with the new VVEngine add-on. It's wonderful : simple, easy to use and ergonomic. Not only is this product reasonably priced, it does things that no one else seems to want to do ... it's very flexible and customizable.

Reply to this review Read reply (1)

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Great Back-up Program"

February 19, 2011

2011-02-19 14:08:33

 |  Version: ViceVersa Pro 2.5 Build 2502

Pros

Reliable and able to tailor to your back-up needs. Back-ups and sync are not a headache with this program

Cons

None observed.

Summary

I've been using Vice Versa products for years and I have every confidence in it's reliability. I mean I've blown hard drives and main boards and thanks to this program I don't even sweat as I know I have everything important is safe.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

4 stars

"Not pretty, but effective."

February 12, 2011  |  By brentmo

2011-02-12 08:28:28  |  By brentmo

 |  Version: ViceVersa Pro 2.5 Build 2502

Pros

Set it and forget it.

Cons

Doesn't automatically reconnect remembered network drives. Forces me to open an Explorer window, click on network drive and then continue with syncing.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"I love it!"

January 11, 2011  |  By Rio7809

2011-01-11 00:16:17  |  By Rio7809

 |  Version: ViceVersa Pro 2.5

Pros

The new ViceVersa gadget for Windows 7 and Vista is just great! It's a new, separate add-on. I am using ViceVersa PRO on my server and both laptop and desktop. It has been working in the background non-stop.

Cons

None that I found so far.

Summary

Incredible value for money. The most flexible file sync software I tried, it comes with any options you can think off. And the Windows 7/Vista gadget puts the icing on the cake! Highly recommended.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"I've been searching for a while"

December 27, 2010  |  By dsiptyltd

2010-12-27 05:31:04  |  By dsiptyltd

 |  Version: ViceVersa Pro 2.5

Pros

Tthe ease of use is probably what strikes me most. I've tried a few, and This one is by far the easiest to use that I have tried. Be sure to download the widget as it makes it much simpler to use. I copy NAS to NAS easily. Its interface is simple too

Cons

VV Engine should come as standard with the pro package, as it is a must if using Windows. The initial screen is pretty basic, and you need to look around to understand the options, but once sorted, its easy to get started.

Summary

May programs I have tried don't let you copy a network drive to a network drive (NAS to NAS) Most let you copy hard drives to NAS, but few have the ease of use that this program has. The options in copying are plentiful, with all avenues covered from what I can see. The 30 day trial is well long enough to decide whether you like it or not. I'd purchase the pro version over the lesser version as it is still good value.

To get the best out of the system, you should also purchase VVengine. I had the system up and running in no time, and have since stopped using my equally expensive previous sync software that came with my NAS, as it leaves that software for dead.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (2)   (0)  

4 stars

"Good syncing program"

September 12, 2010  |  By sticky14u

2010-09-12 20:48:03  |  By sticky14u

 |  Version: ViceVersa Pro 2.5

Pros

Was very useful for syncing folders on hdd and flash drive.

Cons

A little difficult to use, need a good understanding of windows

Summary

It is good for simple syncing of folders and flash drives. Too complicated for other syncing jobs.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

5 stars

"Excellent syncronisation product"

September 02, 2010  |  By sjc1208

2010-09-02 07:37:20  |  By sjc1208

 |  Version: ViceVersa Pro 2.5

Pros

Fast, flexible, very stable, good interface, doesnt seem to have a problem with massive syncs - 55000 files, 30GB acros a slow link. Best of the bunch I tried - see below for more on that.

Cons

none - this was easily the best sync system for the money and I tried a whole bunch of them.

Summary

- Works fine across WebDav (via WebDrive in my case), various sync & compare methods (time, date, CRC).

- Runs on Windows 2008 64 bit no problems.

- Informative logs, good error control so it doesnt need to be watched and can just be left to get on with the sync.

- Good scheduling functionality and a nice ability to create defined shortcuts that can be scheduled via Windows or using their own scheduler.

- I tried at least 10 sync programs - some were unstable or fell over due to the size of the sync, some just hanged mid-sync without saying much about the problem.

On par with GoodSync, which is also excellent, but rediculously expensive for the server version (like 10 times the price of the standard version for what looks like the same software). ViceVersa easily wins due to cost / flexibility. Goodsync has more connectivity options, but WebDrive handles that easily - which can talk to FTP, Amazon S3, WebDav etc. I liked it enough to write this review, which I dont do often.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (2)   (0)  

Results 1–10 of 32

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for ViceVersa Pro
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 2.5 build 2515
  • Checked compatibility with latest available build of Windows 10.
  • Added profile option to 'Preserve last accessed timestamp of files being copied'. When this option is enabled, ViceVersa will preserve the last accessed timestamp of files being copied, if last accessed timestamps are enabled in Windows.
  • Added profile option to 'Include offline files'. When this option is enabled, ViceVersa will include files that are offline in the comparison and profile execution, e.g. files that are in source and/or target folders and have the Windows offline attribute set. By default, ViceVersa excludes these files automatically.
General
Publisher TGRMN Software
Publisher web site http://www.tgrmn.com
Release Date July 10, 2015
Date Added July 10, 2015
Version 2.5 build 2515
Category
Category Utilities & Operating Systems
Subcategory Data Transfer & Sync Software
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Windows 2000/XP/2003/Vista/Server 2008/7/8
Additional Requirements None
Download Information
File Size 3.77MB
File Name vvprod.exe
Popularity
Total Downloads 113,232
Downloads Last Week 10
Pricing
License Model Free to try
Limitations 30-day trial
Price $59.95

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +

More Products to Consider

Close[x]

Submit a problem report for ViceVersa Pro

Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.

Problem:

The Download.com Installer isn't working as expected

The download link does not work

The software has a newer version

The product contains malicious software

Other

Description:

Please select a feedback type.

Please enter a description.

Submit Problem Report

Close[x]

Problem Report submitted

Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.

OK