Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

VSDC Free Video Editor

Free
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
Excellent
Average User Rating:
out of 297 votes out of 8 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    5.1.2.567
  • Total Downloads:
    2,034,833
  • Date Added:
    Aug. 11, 2016
  • Price:
    Free; paid upgrade available
  • File Size:
    33.99MB
  • Downloads Last Week:
    9,002
  • Platform:
    Windows
  • Product ranking:

Editors' Note: Clicking on the Download Now (Visit Site) button above will open a connection to a third-party site. Download.com cannot completely ensure the security of the software hosted on third-party sites.

Editors' Review

+

VSDC Free Video Editor looks and feels just like a professional video editor. In fact, if feels almost identical to Final Cut Pro in a lot of ways. If you want to experience that style of in-depth video editing, this program is an epic way to do it for free. Be warned, though, that there's a steep learning curve unless you already have some experience.

This program checks in at about 26MB, which isn't gigantic, but is still relatively large. For that, you'll get a program that is a dead ringer for professional editing programs. It has the same sort of timeline editing style that lets you combine multiple cuts, add transitions, and render them into a complete project. As such, it isn't very easy to use unless you really know what you're doing. Few things are labeled or intuitive, and all of your tools are spread out across multiple menus. If you can find the features, there are plenty of ways to cut, reshape, and modify your video's picture and audio, though. You can even kick the quality up to 30 FPS and 1080p HD. VSDC Free Video Editor supports just about every video format you can think of, so you'll have no problem turning any video into a project.

This video editor gives you tons of control and editing power, but you'll have to know how to use it. The program could use a manual to help novice users comb through all of the features. Without that, VSDC Free Video Editor will take a lot of experimenting or previous editing know-how to figure out. It's worth spending plenty of time with, though.

 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+
  • Current Version

    4.5

    out of 8 votes

    • 5 star 7
    • 4 star 0
    • 3 star 0
    • 2 star 0
    • 1 star 1
  • All Versions

    3.8

    out of 297 votes

    • 5 star 183
    • 4 star 27
    • 3 star 9
    • 2 star 6
    • 1 star 72
  • My rating

    0 stars

    Write review

Results 1–8 of 8

5 stars

"A product easy enough for newbies"

September 21, 2016  |  By Jenny.vitara

2016-09-21 00:13:47  |  By Jenny.vitara

 |  Version: VSDC Free Video Editor 5.1.2.567

Pros

Hello. I've been using VSDC to learn how to edit videos, and it works so nicely I upgraded to the Pro version, so thank you for putting out a product easy enough for newbies to learn but powerful enough for experienced people to take advantage of.
After using this thing for as many hours as I have, it's pretty amazing that there's only one thing I'd want to change about it. ;)
Thanks again. Have a good one.

Cons

A feature suggestion: I'd really like it if the program remembered the timeline-zoom level when switching back and forth between the effects tab and the main tab--or when switching between any tabs, really. A lot of times I'll need to-the-second accuracy when moving or placing the cursor, but if I put an effect in and switch back, it's zoomed itself all the way back out.
Not a huge deal, but when editing longer videos with lots of cuts and effects, I spend a lot of time moving sliders instead of editing stuff.

Summary

A good editing suite

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"A great tool for a practicing musician"

September 20, 2016  |  By Kali_lighter

2016-09-20 06:04:03  |  By Kali_lighter

 |  Version: VSDC Free Video Editor 5.1.2.567

Pros

A while ago, I discovered what a great asset it can be, for a practicing musician to record themselves.. to kind of keep practice documented.. and be able to look closely at what I actually look and sound like, as a way to mark progress.
I tried a lot of different video editors, and I have to say VSDC is the most powerful and user friendly one, I've come acrossed!

Cons

Language can be changed only after closing and repeat launching of the program. But it's not a significant disadvantage.

Summary

This is a truly user-friendly program with a great deal of functions. Thanks for having made it and keeping it free!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

5 stars

"I found the Editor exceeds standard array of functions."

September 15, 2016  |  By RedJackA

2016-09-15 23:53:04  |  By RedJackA

 |  Version: VSDC Free Video Editor 5.1.2.567

Pros

I found that your VSDC Free Video Editor exceeds standard array of functions required for my modest editing goals, but faced with a long video conversion: a 7:30 minutes video (a part of which was accelerated at 800%) was exported during 45 minutes.
But having a look at the exported video, I noted that the playback of accelerated fragment was smooth (the result that I never had in Movie Maker). Such a good quality of the exported video made me think that a long conversion was processed for a good reason. Therefore I have three questions:
1. Is it true that the accelerated video is converted longer to make a high quality (smooth) playback?

Cons

2. I have been going to pay for the Pro version, when found out that it's an annual subscription. But is it really worth it? As far as I understand, Pro version will use 100% of CPU resources opposed to the free version. What's the principle of hardware acceleration work? Is it connected with a video card performance?
3. I read that money can be returned within 30 days from the date of purchase. Does it mean it is the "trial period" during which you can try out the program, and if it does not live up to expectations, "cancel the purchase" and return the money?

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (2)   (0)  

5 stars

"Excellent free alternative to overpriced Adobe Premiere"

September 08, 2016  |  By YangMelisduko

2016-09-08 04:25:17  |  By YangMelisduko

 |  Version: VSDC Free Video Editor 5.1.2.567

Pros

So glad to work with a program of such a high quality. Believe this editor may become a serious Adobe After Effects rival over time. For example, only this program enables to make text movement like in Star Wars. Moreover, the program is truly free: no trial periods, watermarks on the output file - everything runs perfect.

Cons

As for cons... Despite impressive array of functions, the program doesn't have enough guides, so one needs to search for tutorials on YouTube

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (2)   (0)  

5 stars

"VSDC catching Pikachu"

September 07, 2016  |  By Ric_monkey

2016-09-07 23:48:58  |  By Ric_monkey

 |  Version: VSDC Free Video Editor 5.1.2.567

Pros

Hello there! My name's Ric, and I'm currently promoting my Youtube channel with PokemonGo gameplay series. PokemonGo is not a traditional desktop game, so one needs imagination and tricky video editor to make a decent gameplay.
Frankly, it's for the first time I used free editor for my work and have no regrets about it. I widely used chromakey and transparency options, not speaking about video and audio effects, and I shout admit VSDC is with comparing with Vegas, Movavi and even Pinnacle. Nice work!

Cons

I don't like preview playback. Sometimes the video's flickering, though the issue disappears after export. Anyway, a note for the developers.

Summary

A surprisingly good piece of software for editing routine of any complexity

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (2)   (0)  

1 stars

"You can edit but not save"

September 04, 2016

2016-09-04 23:21:23

 |  Version: VSDC Free Video Editor 5.1.2.567

Pros

Easy editing tools

Cons

Not actually free

Summary

I did a whole bunch of work editing a video, but then when I went to export it, it said I had used a pro feature, so I had to upgrade actually get my video. Since I had no idea which "pro" feature I had used, there was no way to fix it, so the whole thing was a waste of time.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (1)  

5 stars

"Am impressed by your free softwares which I make use"

August 22, 2016  |  By Castlertor

2016-08-22 01:31:35  |  By Castlertor

 |  Version: VSDC Free Video Editor 5.1.2.567

Pros

1. The Video editor user interface has been changed a great deal over the previous version, but a few incremental tweaks here and there do make it easier to work with.
2. Has finally is added a plugin that I've been waiting - the Warp Stabilizer, for instance, uses image-synthesis algorithms to correct for camera shake. It's well used for individual life moments

Cons

free professional-grade product

Summary

Although, I recommended the free version to my followers.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (2)   (0)  

5 stars

"I've chosen this editor for my first film contest"

August 17, 2016  |  By Nick_rogers

2016-08-17 02:18:02  |  By Nick_rogers

 |  Version: VSDC Free Video Editor 5.1.2.567

Pros

First off, let me say that I love the software! It is quite intuitive and very powerful yet flexible. I have really enjoyed using it and am constantly learning new aspects of it or developing different ways of doing things. I've done a short stop-motion/animated film that I want to enter in a competition. I had rather rough format restrictions - to have a Full HD quality with certain size limits. VSDC Free Video Editor (thanks to support team!) helped me to export a perfect quality movie.

Cons

I think plugin support will be an evident step ahead.

Summary

The software which I recommend to my colleagues.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (2)   (0)  

Results 1–8 of 8

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for VSDC Free Video Editor
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 5.1.2.567
Version 5.1.2:
  • Program's interface complete restyling - switching to a modern flat design
  • Optimized advanced multi-color Chroma Key
  • Enhanced text editing
  • Adding the H265/HEVC codec as an import format
  • H264 and HEVC hardware acceleration
  • Interface localization into Spanish
General
Publisher Flash-Integro
Publisher web site http://www.videosoftdev.com
Release Date July 29, 2016
Date Added August 11, 2016
Version 5.1.2.567
Category
Category Video Software
Subcategory Video Editing Software
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Windows 2000/XP/Vista/7/8/10
Additional Requirements None
Download Information
File Size 33.99MB
File Name External File
Popularity
Total Downloads 2,034,833
Downloads Last Week 9,002
Pricing
License Model Free
Limitations Not available
Price Free
Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +
Close[x]

Submit a problem report for VSDC Free Video Editor

Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.

Problem:

The Download.com Installer isn't working as expected

The download link does not work

The software has a newer version

The product contains malicious software

Other

Description:

Please select a feedback type.

Please enter a description.

Submit Problem Report

Close[x]

Problem Report submitted

Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.

OK