Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

VSDC Free Video Editor

Free
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
Excellent
Average User Rating:
out of 310 votes out of 21 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    5.1.2.567
  • Total Downloads:
    2,159,408
  • Date Added:
    Aug. 11, 2016
  • Price:
    Free; paid upgrade available
  • File Size:
    33.99MB
  • Downloads Last Week:
    15,744
  • Platform:
    Windows
  • Product ranking:

Editors' Note: Clicking on the Download Now (Visit Site) button above will open a connection to a third-party site. Download.com cannot completely ensure the security of the software hosted on third-party sites.

Editors' Review

+

VSDC Free Video Editor looks and feels just like a professional video editor. In fact, if feels almost identical to Final Cut Pro in a lot of ways. If you want to experience that style of in-depth video editing, this program is an epic way to do it for free. Be warned, though, that there's a steep learning curve unless you already have some experience.

This program checks in at about 26MB, which isn't gigantic, but is still relatively large. For that, you'll get a program that is a dead ringer for professional editing programs. It has the same sort of timeline editing style that lets you combine multiple cuts, add transitions, and render them into a complete project. As such, it isn't very easy to use unless you really know what you're doing. Few things are labeled or intuitive, and all of your tools are spread out across multiple menus. If you can find the features, there are plenty of ways to cut, reshape, and modify your video's picture and audio, though. You can even kick the quality up to 30 FPS and 1080p HD. VSDC Free Video Editor supports just about every video format you can think of, so you'll have no problem turning any video into a project.

This video editor gives you tons of control and editing power, but you'll have to know how to use it. The program could use a manual to help novice users comb through all of the features. Without that, VSDC Free Video Editor will take a lot of experimenting or previous editing know-how to figure out. It's worth spending plenty of time with, though.

 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+
  • Current Version

    4.3

    out of 21 votes

    • 5 star 17
    • 4 star 0
    • 3 star 1
    • 2 star 0
    • 1 star 3
  • All Versions

    3.8

    out of 310 votes

    • 5 star 193
    • 4 star 27
    • 3 star 10
    • 2 star 6
    • 1 star 74
  • My rating

    0 stars

    Write review

Results 1–10 of 21

5 stars

"This is the product you can recommend"

December 07, 2016  |  By Sunnymoney199

2016-12-07 07:39:11  |  By Sunnymoney199

 |  Version: VSDC Free Video Editor 5.1.2.567

Pros

For about 5 years I build my YouTube channel devoted to celebs parodies. My team shoots a full-featured movie parody, when I'm responsible for post-production.
At first I used Adobe (the trialest trial actually), but then I switched to VSDC and have no regrets about it. This is a high quality editor capable to make all base effects that we need. Its latests upgrades make it closer to young Adobe. Thnx for this product. It's the best free video editor I used for these last 5 ys.

Cons

I don't like automatic wizard option when I import more than 1 file.

Summary

I recommend VSDC to my friends.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"I'm VERY satisfied customer"

December 07, 2016  |  By Amjeshar

2016-12-07 06:47:36  |  By Amjeshar

 |  Version: VSDC Free Video Editor 5.1.2.567

Pros

I've been using the VSDC Pro Editor for about four months and I absolutely love it! It is extremely versatile, can be complex in the number of layers that can be used (being non-linear)and the deeper you explore it you discover interesting and ingenious ways of doing different effects by combining existing effects. I make short animated films (a combination of stop motion and computer effects) and have been able (so far) to do everything I've wanted to with the software.

Cons

I couldn't find them

Summary

Working out ways to accomplish things like the kaleidoscope effect near the end is what makes it so much fun to use your software. This was the second of a series; the first one was done using three different video editors and decided that yours was the best one, especially the Pro version. I am presently working on the third short, and intend to acknowledge your software in the credits.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"Can't even export 1 video"

December 04, 2016  |  By 56_kruiser

2016-12-04 19:23:33  |  By 56_kruiser

 |  Version: VSDC Free Video Editor 5.1.2.567

Pros

None for free version

Cons

AFter spending time to download and do editing, couldn't even export 1 file. Said I was using a "Pro" feture of hardward accelleration. Must upgrade to pay version.

With that kind of trap, I won't even consider purchasing the product.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Fantastic quality video editor for free"

November 25, 2016  |  By Miranda.M

2016-11-25 05:51:57  |  By Miranda.M

 |  Version: VSDC Free Video Editor 5.1.2.567

Pros

VSDC has everything I'd be looking for in a professional video editing program.
For me personaly the best features are: blending modes, color correction and numerous ways to work with text in a video. Also, having a built-in screen capture tool is convenient, because I use it a lot and now I don't need additional software for that.

Cons

It can be a bit overwhelming at the beginning, because the editor has A LOT to offer and some features are not very obvious at glance, but maybe it's just me.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"I don't know a better video editor for free. Seriously"

November 24, 2016  |  By Jonjo175

2016-11-24 01:12:54  |  By Jonjo175

 |  Version: VSDC Free Video Editor 5.1.2.567

Pros

Home video editing - that's my purpose of VSDC. I have 3 grandchildren (up to 5 years old) and I film all their bday parties, our family days off and just life moments.
I don't need some high video editing level - cut, crop, slideshow, transitions and background music.
For a long time I used the old version of VSDC and didn't want to upgrade. They said they added some filters, and I even didn't know what was it. Then my son updated the program and I should assume that filters of the new version are worth using, and the program itself looks good.
VSDC is quite easy to use, and here you an trust a 60-year old filmmaker.
Thanks to developers!

Cons

May crash, though seldom

Summary

A very interesting program

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"Can't Export Video on Free Trial"

November 23, 2016  |  By theREALzebatov

2016-11-23 18:22:55  |  By theREALzebatov

 |  Version: VSDC Free Video Editor 5.1.2.567

Pros

Works for what I needed it to (rotate the video).

Cons

Won't export after completing task.

Summary

It is telling me that I used "hardware acceleration" when all I did was rotate the video. No help anywhere. Guess you only get help when you pay for something. Pretty sad.

Reply to this review Read replies (2)

Was this review helpful? (0)   (4)  

5 stars

"Very good, surprised it's free!"

November 23, 2016  |  By greenpotatos

2016-11-23 07:58:01  |  By greenpotatos

 |  Version: VSDC Free Video Editor 5.1.2.567

Pros

Free!
Lots of options/filters
Fast
Easy to use after you get the hang of it

Cons

They definitely need a better help and how to section, you kind of need to learn it by trail and error right now but once you do it's pretty great

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

5 stars

"The program has all that I need"

November 08, 2016  |  By Jamboreo

2016-11-08 04:10:44  |  By Jamboreo

 |  Version: VSDC Free Video Editor 5.1.2.567

Pros

I just wanted to thank you for offering this software free. I am by no means a "pro" at video editing, but I will give it a try and offer my feedback after I get some experience. If it meets all my needs I will also be more than happy to donate the any amount as I have been looking for an easy-to-use and effective video editor for some time now. I have purchased a few different editors that were not "up to par" with my needs even and find it so frustrating to have shelled out hard earned money for a "useless" program. Anyway, again you have my thanks for offering a free software and I certainly hope that it will meet my needs.

Cons

A bit complicated interface

Summary

A high quality video editor

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

5 stars

"cool program"

November 02, 2016  |  By NickNN89

2016-11-02 08:13:51  |  By NickNN89

 |  Version: VSDC Free Video Editor 5.1.2.567

Pros

Sorry for my English, I used google translate. I'm a newbie in the video editing. All I want is to find a free video editor with brief video guides to process my phone vids. I tried filmora, but it is not really free. Then I gave a try to videopad but it offers some apps at installation. So by chance I found vsdc video tutorial on youtube and I should say this program is cool.

Cons

export in full hd only, no 2k or 4k export

Summary

This is the software I'm happy to recommend to my friends.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

5 stars

"Nice free app"

October 18, 2016  |  By Lera_tlt

2016-10-18 08:28:37  |  By Lera_tlt

 |  Version: VSDC Free Video Editor 5.1.2.567

Pros

I needed to make a video for my friend's birthday.
- I could easily add our photos and her favourite song.
- There are a lot of different filters, especially I loved Instagram ones

Cons

- The interface can seem difficult, but only at first sight

Summary

Saved time and money having come across that app

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

Results 1–10 of 21

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for VSDC Free Video Editor
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 5.1.2.567
Version 5.1.2:
  • Program's interface complete restyling - switching to a modern flat design
  • Optimized advanced multi-color Chroma Key
  • Enhanced text editing
  • Adding the H265/HEVC codec as an import format
  • H264 and HEVC hardware acceleration
  • Interface localization into Spanish
General
Publisher Flash-Integro
Publisher web site http://www.videosoftdev.com
Release Date July 29, 2016
Date Added August 11, 2016
Version 5.1.2.567
Category
Category Video Software
Subcategory Video Editing Software
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Windows 2000/XP/Vista/7/8/10
Additional Requirements None
Download Information
File Size 33.99MB
File Name External File
Popularity
Total Downloads 2,159,408
Downloads Last Week 15,744
Pricing
License Model Free
Limitations Not available
Price Free
Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +