• Navigation
  • open search





Urbanspoon - Restaurant & Food Reviews

Download Editors' Rating:
Average User Rating:
out of 4 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
  • Total Downloads:
  • Date Added:
    Mar. 28, 2015
  • Price:
    Free; iTunes account required.

Editors' Note: The download button opens the iTunes App Store, where you may continue the download process. You must have iTunes installed with an active iTunes account in order to download and install the software. This download may not be available in some countries.

Editors' Review


Curious diners have a new friend in Urbanspoon, a practical dining discovery app that shows a playful side when you let it. Otherwise, it gets to the serious business of finding you food. GPS or various forms of manual input shine a light on the restaurants nearby. While there's also browsing by popularity or neighborhood or searching by name, the most interesting and invigorating feature is the slot machine on the main screen. Enthusiastically shake the iPhone (or press "shake") to set individual wheels in motion. They'll randomly land on a nearby neighborhood, cuisine, and price range. Padlocks just below each column let you secure a requirement--shaking again honors your assigned constants and spins the other variables.

Maps, click-to-call, critic reviews, and Urbanspoon-user ratings are available for each selection. We can't stress how nice the internal browser is for reading reviews and directions without needing to restart the app, though on some occasions they were extremely slow to load. We'd also like to see links to restaurant Web sites, while Urbanspoon is at it.

read more +

Publisher's Description

read more +
User Reviews

Results 1–4 of 4

3 stars

"Does what it needs to"

June 14, 2011  |  By terrabyter

 |  Version: Urbanspoon 1.17


Finds a good amount of restaurants


Could use more functionality

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

2 stars

"Urbanspoon is fine, but check out GoodFood"

February 24, 2009  |  By MikeGoodrec

 |  Version: Urbanspoon for iPhone 1.06


Shake feature.


No interactive maps of nearby restaurants; shake feature is clever but totally random; focus on external reviews rather than user contributions


Urbanspoon was a good start, but GoodFood (by Goodrec) is a newer and better alternative to finding local restaurants.

It has a fully interactive map view like Google Maps, as well as fun and useful ways to filter content and an easy way to make your own short recs. It's a bit like the twitter of restaurant reviews.

GoodFood is available in the iTunes store at http://goodrec.com/downloads/goodfood/iphone/

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

3 stars

"Not Quite perfect"

October 28, 2008  |  By HarveNYC

 |  Version: Urbanspoon for iPhone 1.0


Finds plenty of restaurants quickly and accurately.
Uses the iPhone's GPS to find Restaurants Near you.


Does Not give you a list of a particular Cusine using the GPS (For Instance: French Restaurants Near Me)
For me, that's the one thing it's missing.


Can be very helpful if you don't know what's around you, but really didn't do what I needed.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

4 stars

"Urbanspoon app in the iPhone"

August 21, 2008  |  By agsGeoff

 |  Version: Urbanspoon for iPhone 1.0


Great app, finds more restaurants that I knew existed in my area


If only it would link to the restaurant website, if it exists, so that you could see menu or at least the restaurant hours. We find ourselves having to call the restaurant to see if they are open late or on Sundays

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

Results 1–4 of 4

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for Urbanspoon - Restaurant & Food Reviews
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

see all reviews +

Full Specifications

What's new in version 3.5.421
We are thrilled to have been welcomed into the Zomato family! Zomato is present in 22 countries, has over 1 million restaurant listings, and more than 95 thousand reviewers.We are releasing a new logo in this update! This new logo uses the spoon from Urbanspoon and carries Zomato's theme color - a perfect mixture of both the brands. We also fixed a critical bug causing slow load times.
Publisher Urbanspoon
Publisher web site http://www.urbanspoon.com/
Release Date July 11, 2008
Date Added March 28, 2015
Version 3.5.421
Category Home Software
Subcategory Miscellaneous Home Software
Operating Systems
Operating Systems iOS
Additional Requirements Compatible with iPhone 3Gs, iPhone 4. iTunes account required.
Download Information
File Size 7.9MB
File Name External File
Total Downloads 5,073
Downloads Last Week 1
License Model Free
Limitations Not available
Price Free

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
read more +

More Products to Consider


Submit a problem report for Urbanspoon - Restaurant & Food Reviews

Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.


The Download.com Installer isn't working as expected

The download link does not work

The software has a newer version

The product contains malicious software



Please select a feedback type.

Please enter a description.

Submit Problem Report


Problem Report submitted

Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.