Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

TrashMe for Mac

$6.99
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
0
No Rating
Average User Rating:
out of 12 votes out of 0 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    2.1.14
  • Total Downloads:
    10,829
  • Date Added:
    Nov. 07, 2016
  • Price:
    Purchase; $6.99 to buy
  • File Size:
    1.22MB
  • Downloads Last Week:
    7
  • Platform:
    Mac
  • Product ranking:
    #7 in Uninstallers

Editors' Note: Clicking on the Download Now (Visit Site) button above will open a connection to a third-party site. Download.com cannot completely ensure the security of the software hosted on third-party sites.

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+

Results 1–10 of 12

5 stars

"Version 2.1.11 is one of best uninstallers out there!"

October 13, 2015  |  By Stephenborisoff

2015-10-13 05:20:00  |  By Stephenborisoff

 |  Version: TrashMe 2.1.7

Pros

TrashMe finds more files to uninstall in more hidden places in the operating system safely and accurately than practically any other uninstaller.

Cons

None worth mentioning

Summary

Many reviewers in the past are irked that TrashMe costs money and is not free. I feel that for such a fine product that does so many things that the developer deserves to be paid for his work! What work? The prevailing assumption is that TrashMe only finds the same number of files as freebees. This is dead wrong. Using a tool such as Find Any File by Thomas Templeton, one can enter into its search the name of the developer and / or the unique name of an installed app and one can see very nearly all of the files related to the app spread around the operating system. Then, one may use TrashMe and search the same app for the files to uninstall. TrashMe finds more files than most other uninstallers, especially the freebees like AppCleaner. This is particularly true of the multitude of files that many apps put into the hidden folder "Private" and its sub-folders (.bom and .plist file remnants). In addition, TrashMe as a lot of other features like a Cache Cleaner and the ability to reveal hidden files. The developer says he is going to add more features in the next version like a batch log deletion ability. Why can't users realize the value here and come up with the small amount of money the developer is asking. It boggles the mind. In my opinion, better IS better and one should pay for it. Its only fair and its a win-win situation over the competition of freebees which can't do what this app can do. I do not work for the developer! I am being objective after testing the product.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"Originally release as freeware"

August 03, 2012  |  By throost

2012-08-03 06:16:09  |  By throost

 |  Version: TrashMe 2.1.2

Pros

Originally released as free software

Cons

I won't buy an app that was originally released as free software. It's a matter of integrity.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (1)  

5 stars

"Brilliant app, but at $6.99, it's not free, CNET"

August 06, 2011  |  By bazlane

2011-08-06 14:02:26  |  By bazlane

 |  Version: TrashMe 2.0.1

Pros

Efficient and reliable way to delete apps and their related files.

Cons

None at all, except CNET says it's still free, but it's actually $6.99. It's worth a lot more than that, so download it and let the developer benefit from his excellent work.

Summary

Just drag the app you want deleted to the TrashMe icon and it will locate the other files associated with it and send them all to the trash at the click of your mouse. You can either proceed with the deletion or not. Never had a problem with this app and I've used it a lot to clear my HD.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

4 stars

"It seems to do what it's supposed to do."

March 27, 2011  |  By kenmoss05

2011-03-27 19:16:20  |  By kenmoss05

 |  Version: TrashMe 1.5.2

Pros

Set it and forget it.

Cons

Haven't found any yet.

Summary

Price is right and it works.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"It crashed my mac instead of opening"

March 27, 2011  |  By evyart11

2011-03-27 18:00:29  |  By evyart11

 |  Version: TrashMe 1.5.2

Pros

None. I trashed it

Cons

It crashed my mac instead of opening

Summary

Find something else to use.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"easy to install and works"

March 22, 2011  |  By yogie44

2011-03-22 03:12:42  |  By yogie44

 |  Version: TrashMe 1.5.2

Pros

easy to use and it works very well

Cons

nothing so far

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

4 stars

"Adequate and functional."

December 29, 2010  |  By The_Defenestrator

2010-12-29 22:38:07  |  By The_Defenestrator

 |  Version: TrashMe 1.5.1

Pros

It deletes applications and related files/folders better than simply dragging an app to the trash. Fairly intuitive, and also can clean out preference panes, widgets, and apps in the download folder.

Cons

It missed a few obvious folders of a few programs that I ended up deleting manually.

Summary

Better and more effective than simply dragging and dropping apps directly to trash.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Easy & Free App Deletion"

September 20, 2010  |  By theothersparky

2010-09-20 08:34:34  |  By theothersparky

 |  Version: TrashMe 1.4.3

Pros

It's free, and works well as an app deleter/preference pane remover.

Cons

It can be a bit time-consuming to delete a bunch of apps/widgets this way, but, that said, it is free so I'm not complaining. One note: you may have some problems when you empty the trash, depending on the nature of the file(s) you are removing.

Summary

Excellent fast free app/preference remover for anyone with some mac experience. Novices or people worried about accidental deletions may want to buy something like Amnesia instead.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"As good as the paid-for alternatives; better than most."

September 17, 2010  |  By rayjay

2010-09-17 12:25:13  |  By rayjay

 |  Version: TrashMe 1.4.3

Pros

With "Smart Detection" switched on it automatically checks for related files of any app that's trashed.

Cons

None that I've found

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Works great! Easy to use. Cleans out the junk well."

September 14, 2010  |  By markomdmph

2010-09-14 15:56:12  |  By markomdmph

 |  Version: TrashMe 1.4.3

Pros

Easy and quick.

Cons

None. It works for me.

Summary

I use it frequently: It works as advertised and doesn't cause any harm along the way.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

Results 1–10 of 12

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for TrashMe
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 2.1.14
  • Improved stability with macOS Sierra (10.12)
  • Fixed several bugs
General
Publisher Jib
Publisher web site http://tunesart.airisgps.fr/index.php
Release Date November 07, 2016
Date Added November 07, 2016
Version 2.1.14
Category
Category Utilities & Operating Systems
Subcategory Uninstallers
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Mac OS X 10.6/10.7/10.8/10.9
Additional Requirements None
Download Information
File Size 1.22MB
File Name External File
Popularity
Total Downloads 10,829
Downloads Last Week 7
Pricing
License Model Purchase
Limitations Not available
Price $6.99

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +