Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

SpamSieve for Mac

$30
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
Outstanding
Average User Rating:
out of 146 votes out of 0 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    2.9.26
  • Total Downloads:
    9,806
  • Date Added:
    Oct. 19, 2016
  • Price:
    Free to try (30 days); $30.00 to buy
  • File Size:
    13.42MB
  • Downloads Last Week:
    1
  • Platform:
    Mac
  • Product ranking:

Editors' Review

+

SpamSieve integrates with many different mail programs to provide a more complete service to keep spam messages out of your Inbox. The more you use this program, the more effective it will be for you and the less likely you are to see unwanted messages or to miss those you do want.

Pros

Integration options: This app can integrate with all kinds of mail programs, including Apple Mail, Airmail, Mailsmith, Outlook, and more. You can also use it with Web-based mail services like Gmail, Yahoo, and AOL, and it's compatible with iCloud as well.

Increasing accuracy: Once you have this app installed, it will immediately begin to filter your messages. But if you just sit back and expect it to do its job, you probably won't be too impressed. It works fine without input, but the more feedback you give it, by marking junk messages that wind up in your Inbox as spam and important messages that wind up in your Spam box as reputable, the more you'll get out of the program. Through this feedback, it will become better and better at identifying and sorting your incoming emails until you won't have to worry about losing reputable mail to your Spam box again.

Cons

Complicated setup: Teaching the app what messages you want in your Inbox and which you don't does take some time and effort. And that's not the only investment of time you'll have to make in this program. Just setting the app up is somewhat of a complicated process, even with the detailed instructions.

Bottom Line

SpamSieve works well, and it's a good option to consider, especially if you find a lot of spam messages sneaking into your Inbox. It integrates with so many mail programs, and it does a good job of learning and adapting to your needs. You can try it for free for 30 days with all features active. To continue using it beyond the trial period, you'll have to pay $30 for a full license.

Editors' note: This is a review of the trial version of SpamSieve for Mac 2.9.16.

 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+

Results 1–10 of 123

4 stars

"This spam filter really works"

September 21, 2013  |  By kdanti

2013-09-21 14:31:04  |  By kdanti

 |  Version: SpamSieve 2.9.8

Pros

Once trained spam email that makes to my inbox is very infrequent. Much better than all other spam filters I use. This included spam assassin and apple mail spam filter. It's really nice to have a spam free inbox. Something I haven't had since the invention of spam.

Cons

The $30 cost for a spam filter seems high. If this was a lifetime subscription it might be more acceptable. This cost may make me live with the poorer filters that cost me nothing.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Best Spam Filtering Program for the Mac"

September 06, 2012  |  By dudemanla

2012-09-06 21:07:31  |  By dudemanla

 |  Version: SpamSieve 2.9.4

Pros

I have been using SpamSieve (spam filtering) for several months now after Intego's Anti-Spam stopped being updated for 10.8. I am very happy with this program and works with Mac Mail. The maker of this app is very helpful and responds quickly to questions. Five out of Five mice rating :) I actually enjoy training the messages and watching them disappear. I am a Mac tech here in Los Angeles and without hesitation recommend this to my clients when they tell me they have a spam problem on their Mac.

Cons

None that I found.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

4 stars

"Still testing..."

May 29, 2012  |  By ASONGBIRD

2012-05-29 11:11:37  |  By ASONGBIRD

 |  Version: SpamSieve 2.9.1

Pros

Seems to make quick adjustments for accuracy and it seems to work well shunting the junk to the proper folder. Easy to set up with Mac Mail program.

Cons

Hung up this morning, necessitating reboot of computer to solve.

Summary

Still testing; seems to do good sorting job; waiting til test time runs its course to finalize opinion.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"This is an excellent product."

May 15, 2012  |  By Daffie

2012-05-15 15:30:10  |  By Daffie

 |  Version: SpamSieve 2.9.1

Pros

SpamSieve was very easy to install, and from the very start caught all but a few spam messages. If a spam message goes into the "good" mail or vice versa it's very simple to train it to go to the correct place. So far SpamSieve has a 99% correct rate!

I'm very very pleased!

Cons

None so far.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"Not worth the effort and painful to uninstall"

January 11, 2012  |  By noirmouton

2012-01-11 13:11:46  |  By noirmouton

 |  Version: SpamSieve 2.8.8

Pros

There are none.

Cons

No gain over Apple's standard junk mail feature and extremely difficult to uninstall.

Summary

Apples junk mail filter is just as good, there's nothing to gain from using Spamsieve. Much worse it's very difficult to delete this program after you've installed it. Right now after deleting everything as suggested by Spamsieve I've got a Spam folder that keeps coming back on Apple's mail client and every single email is going there. I'm going to waste hours of my time trying to fix this piece of junk's installation. Don't buy but even more importantly don't even try.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Eliminates spam, better than Mail's junk filter"

August 17, 2011  |  By RustyIron

2011-08-17 18:28:57  |  By RustyIron

 |  Version: SpamSieve 2.8.6

Pros

Very accurate

Cons

Takes a couple minutes to set up, and you have to read the directions.

Summary

I've been using Spamsieve for years. When upgrading to Lion, I decided to get rid of all superfluous software, which resulted in my deleting Spamsieve and enabling Mail's junk filter. After a couple weeks, I grew tired of all the errors of the built in junk filter, so I reinstalled Spamsieve. I'm looking forward to once again enjoying my email experience without the frustration of dealing with spam.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"I've counted on SpamSieve for years"

July 15, 2011  |  By wmoyes

2011-07-15 13:52:43  |  By wmoyes

 |  Version: SpamSieve 2.8.6

Pros

Once you train SpamSieve to recognize what you consider spam, it works seamlessly behind the scenes to keep junk out of your Inbox. Tech support is great if you have questions.

Cons

none......

Summary

I've been using SpamSieve for nearly 10 years. I think it's the best spam filter I've ever used.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Without a doubt the best spam filter for Mac!"

March 02, 2011  |  By RAKline

2011-03-02 10:35:58  |  By RAKline

 |  Version: SpamSieve 2.8.5

Pros

Continually updated - extremely few false positives and false negatives.

Cons

None I'm aware of.

Summary

Try it and see what you think.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"No difference between my Apple junk mail filter and SS"

March 01, 2011  |  By DarlieBE

2011-03-01 15:11:21  |  By DarlieBE

 |  Version: SpamSieve 2.8.5

Pros

2.8.3 locked up Apple Mail

Cons

Way too expensive.

Summary

Too complex.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (3)  

5 stars

"Works nicely with Mail on 10.6.6"

January 11, 2011  |  By franky3003

2011-01-11 02:32:34  |  By franky3003

 |  Version: SpamSieve 2.8.4

Pros

Excellent Program! Easy to handle (despite of the first setup), very effective!

Cons

The setup is a little bit unituitive. - Would be cool to have 100% automatic setup, at least for Apple's standard email program (you have to manually set up the rules for spamsieve)

Summary

Excellent Program! Easy to handle (despite of the first setup), very effective!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

Results 1–10 of 123

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for SpamSieve
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
General
Publisher C-Command Software
Publisher web site http://c-command.com
Release Date October 19, 2016
Date Added October 19, 2016
Version 2.9.26
Category
Category Communications
Subcategory E-mail Software
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Mac OS X 10.10/10.6/10.7/10.8/10.9
Additional Requirements None
Download Information
File Size 13.42MB
File Name SpamSieve-2.9.26.dmg
Popularity
Total Downloads 9,806
Downloads Last Week 1
Pricing
License Model Free to try
Limitations 30 days
Price $30

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +