Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

SlimDrivers Free

Free
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
Very good
Average User Rating:
out of 3243 votes out of 139 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    2.2.45206.63218
  • Total Downloads:
    13,519,076
  • Date Added:
    Mar. 03, 2015
  • Price:
    Free

Editors' Review

+

SlimDrivers scans for available updates for all of your drivers, and then manages the download and installation process for you. Rather than having to figure out which programs might be out of date and then checking for updates individually, you can use this program to significantly streamline the process and keep all programs running smoothly.

Pros

Quick scans: When you first open the app, you can quickly complete a scan with just the click of a button. The scan encompasses all drivers on your machine that could be out of date and identifies locations for available update downloads.

Intuitive interface: The controls for this program are straightforward, with a large button for initiating a scan. Once the scan is complete, you'll see a list of the programs with updates available, and you can opt to download that update straight through the app, or you can choose to ignore updates for certain programs. When you begin each download, you can also instruct the app to create a restore point, so that if anything goes wrong, you can recover your software intact up to that point.

Cons

Slow downloads: The downloads we attempted through this app took a very long time to complete, sometimes between five and ten minutes. There were also several instances in which they failed completely.

Self-promotion: This app features a lot of banner as well as pop-up ads promoting other programs by this developer or for their paid products, which offer automatic updates. The free program only makes it possible for you to download updates, manually.

Bottom Line

SlimDrivers is a good free option if you want a quick way to check for driver updates for various programs on your computer. It may be best to avoid downloading thorough the app, as that can be a bit of an arduous process, but getting the search results is a quick and straightforward process. Especially if you don't have a lot of drivers, it's worth checking out this app. It's possible that the paid programs this developer offers complete downloads more quickly, but unfortunately you'll have to pay to find out.

 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+
  • Current Version

    4.6

    out of 139 votes

    • 5 star 105
    • 4 star 22
    • 3 star 4
    • 2 star 2
    • 1 star 6
  • All Versions

    4.5

    out of 3243 votes

    • 5 star 2219
    • 4 star 692
    • 3 star 112
    • 2 star 74
    • 1 star 146
  • My rating

    0 stars

    Write review

Results 1–10 of 139

5 stars

"Does exactly what it's supposed to do"

August 15, 2016  |  By calkid1951

2016-08-15 12:27:14  |  By calkid1951

 |  Version: SlimDrivers Free 2.2.45206.63218

Pros

Easy to install and use. Easy to understand interface.

Cons

I have nothing negative to say about SlimDrivers.

Summary

SlimDrivers is easy to use. When you run a scan it lists the drivers that are out of date. You can then click "update" next to each item and the program downloads the update and runs the install. Easy!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Working as Intended"

August 14, 2016  |  By Xidimapi

2016-08-14 08:03:37  |  By Xidimapi

 |  Version: SlimDrivers Free 2.2.45206.63218

Pros

Finds every single outdated driver on your computer and then notifies you of the details. As another commenter pointed out, there were drivers I thought I had caught but maybe you can't catch them all. You need to download each driver separately but that's better than a bulk download that might include drivers for some piece of bloatware you forgot to uninstall. I prefer making the decision on a driver-by-driver basis.

Cons

Too fast. Reminds me that I've forgotten to keep all my progams up to date. Doesn't do my taxes. Hasn't found me a date yet.

Summary

This program does exactly what it promises with a minimum of fuss and effort on my part and it reminds me infrequently enough to be welcome when it shows up. I can't imagine what the paid version does that's better. Maybe cleans out your garage?

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Excellent piece of software"

August 13, 2016  |  By athopkinson

2016-08-13 23:31:52  |  By athopkinson

 |  Version: SlimDrivers Free 2.2.45206.63218

Pros

Found 13 updates, including 10 cases were the drivers were six years out of date. There has been a notable increase in the speed of my computer

Cons

Each update has to be done one at a time. Couldn't find a way of downloading all at once.

Summary

Get it

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

4 stars

"A must have for everyone."

August 11, 2016

2016-08-11 10:08:38

 |  Version: SlimDrivers Free 2.2.45206.63218

Pros

Driver updates are some of the hardest updates to find because there are so many different vendors that have parts on your computer. This takes care of that for you. It is also free and doesn't come with any bloatware.

Cons

It sometimes finds drivers that are older to the ones you already have and some that are not relevant to your puter, period.

Summary

Anyone that does a clean install, or an upgrade will find this an invaluable friend. I use it every couple of months on all my computers after that. You don't have to go to a dozen sites to look, find and hope you picked the right one. These guys have saved IT Techs so many hours and we luv them for that! A must have!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Gostei, Muito bom!"

August 06, 2016  |  By flavioreis20

2016-08-06 05:48:01  |  By flavioreis20

 |  Version: SlimDrivers Free 2.2.45206.63218

Pros

Fácil de usar.

Cons

Ainda não achei.

Summary

É muito bom.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

4 stars

"Very good cleaner / optimizer"

July 21, 2016  |  By dreadnowt

2016-07-21 05:37:46  |  By dreadnowt

 |  Version: SlimDrivers Free 2.2.45206.63218

Pros

Quick. Finds things that other cleaners miss. It can do a bunch of things - remove cookies and spyware, check if things are up to date, defragments your hard drive, looks for driver updates. It is hard to complain about freeware that does all that and does it well.

Cons

The most recent edition pops up randomly and frequently. I took a point off for that. I prefer software that runs when I ask it too.

Summary



Updated on Jul 21, 2016

My review concerns both the Slimware Cleaner and the Drivers program.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"SATISFIED!"

July 17, 2016  |  By RaBeekman

2016-07-17 19:01:24  |  By RaBeekman

 |  Version: SlimDrivers Free 2.2.45206.63218

Pros

Can't beat for the price(free)simply awesome.

Cons

Didn't see any cons

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Life Saver!"

July 15, 2016  |  By Joseph_Tronilo

2016-07-15 08:36:16  |  By Joseph_Tronilo

 |  Version: SlimDrivers Free 2.2.45206.63218

Pros

Found all my hardware at no time and very easy to use 10**********

Cons

Didn't find any

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"quick and easy to use"

July 01, 2016  |  By nowzenman

2016-07-01 01:08:31  |  By nowzenman

 |  Version: SlimDrivers Free 2.2.45206.63218

Pros

easy to understand

Cons

nothing really

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Wonderful. Optimized my computer."

June 02, 2016  |  By 4staycln7

2016-06-02 04:02:12  |  By 4staycln7

 |  Version: SlimDrivers Free 2.2.45206.63218

Pros

Easy to install.

Cons

None that I know.

Summary

wonderful

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

Results 1–10 of 139

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for SlimDrivers Free
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 2.2.45206.63218
Version 2.2.45206 includes minor bug fixes and a new code-signing certificate.
General
Publisher SlimWare Utilities
Publisher web site http://www.slimwareutilities.com
Release Date March 02, 2015
Date Added March 03, 2015
Version 2.2.45206.63218
Category
Category Utilities & Operating Systems
Subcategory Operating Systems & Updates
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Windows XP/Vista/7/8
Additional Requirements None
Download Information
File Size 958.59KB
File Name SlimDrivers-setup.exe
Popularity
Total Downloads 13,519,076
Downloads Last Week 49,433
Pricing
License Model Free
Limitations Not available
Price Free

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +

More Products to Consider

Close[x]

Submit a problem report for SlimDrivers Free

Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.

Problem:

The Download.com Installer isn't working as expected

The download link does not work

The software has a newer version

The product contains malicious software

Other

Description:

Please select a feedback type.

Please enter a description.

Submit Problem Report

Close[x]

Problem Report submitted

Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.

OK