Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

Quake demo

Free
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
0
No Rating
Average User Rating:
out of 543 votes out of 543 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    1.06
  • Total Downloads:
    1,464,867
  • Date Added:
    Oct. 18, 1996
  • Price:
    Free to try
  • File Size:
    8.67MB
  • Downloads Last Week:
    14
  • Platform:
    Windows

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+
  • Current Version

    4.7

    out of 543 votes

    • 5 star 503
    • 4 star 3
    • 3 star 1
    • 2 star 0
    • 1 star 36
  • All Versions

    4.7

    out of 543 votes

    • 5 star 503
    • 4 star 3
    • 3 star 1
    • 2 star 0
    • 1 star 36
  • My rating

    0 stars

    Write review

Results 1–10 of 215

5 stars

"Where modern 3D FPS gaming all started."

September 21, 2015  |  By MindfieldzX

2015-09-21 20:17:37  |  By MindfieldzX

 |  Version: Quake demo 1.06

Pros

Timeless classic! Still enjoyed by a strong community of devoted fans, still has custom maps being developed, mods, and engines!

Cons

Quake1 demo does not work out of the box! Easily resolved by visiting Quakeone.com forums, can even be taken online!!!

Summary

Quake1 demo, by itself, is practically useless on modern Windows operating systems. The community of avid Quake1 gamers / community are waiting to help you make use of this fantastic demo though, just visit us at Quakeone.com and we'll get your started in reliving a cult classic FPS.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Jesus Christ! Awesome."

February 09, 2014  |  By fujitsulover

2014-02-09 19:20:20  |  By fujitsulover

 |  Version: Quake demo 1.06

Pros

Installs on FreeDOS 1.1

Cons

Nada; Nothing; N/Ahehe

Summary

Thank you God! This game helps me pass the time as if I do not have any time left. hehe

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

4 stars

"Better than I remember."

October 05, 2012  |  By tomd7735

2012-10-05 20:18:13  |  By tomd7735

 |  Version: Quake demo 1.06

Pros

Good graphics after I set it up properly with DOSbox.

Cons

Sometimes hangs up; hopefully not when I'm attacking a monster!

Summary

It runs well on my old machine with only 504 mb RAM.

Updated on Oct 5, 2012

The trick is to run it in an alternate environment - DOS.
To do this download and install an app called DOSbox and follow the directions. It helps if you remember some DOS commands.

Updated on Oct 5, 2012

"We're sorry, it's not possible for you to vote on your own review."
I don't see why not. I mean, after all, even the Prez can vote for himself!
Besides, it was the most intelligent, cognitive review here...;o}

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

4 stars

"Love this game"

January 24, 2012  |  By Klizz

2012-01-24 04:39:18  |  By Klizz

 |  Version: Quake demo 1.06

Pros

Great game for its time, and still fun to explore and play.

Cons

Newer comps don't run this game. However, you can get around this by creating a "fake server" to play the game with. I still have my old Quake disc and it's pretty easy to do. There are guides online that will tell you how to do this.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"Does not work."

March 02, 2010  |  By Jensenka60506

2010-03-02 20:34:51  |  By Jensenka60506

 |  Version: Quake demo 1.06

Pros

I remember playing this game as a child and wanted to play the game again.

Cons

Game is too old to play and my pc will simply not allow it to run. Not a complete computer genius but I think that there's something with the memory/bus speed that won't allow it to run.

Summary

Bottem line is if you want to play this game you better hope you have one of those "ancient" pc's.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"this download site sucks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!it does not work " VEEEERY DISAPOINTED""

September 30, 2007  |  By melnik77

2007-09-30 08:37:58  |  By melnik77

 |  Version: Quake demo 1.06

Cons

tried several times to download this game !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! your system sucks! The game does not work! Thanks for nothing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

",nkl"

August 15, 2007  |  By QUAKEFAN1

2007-08-15 17:05:20  |  By QUAKEFAN1

 |  Version: Quake demo 1.06

Cons

dident run!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

4 stars

"gud gud!"

July 05, 2007  |  By mrkaran

2007-07-05 09:22:42  |  By mrkaran

 |  Version: Quake demo 1.06

Pros

its really gud,except u know how to play it!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"doesn't work"

July 31, 2006  |  By redsoxwhistler

2006-07-31 14:43:49  |  By redsoxwhistler

 |  Version: Quake demo 1.06

Cons

the program is not fully working, incomplete

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Simply a great game"

March 07, 2006  |  By NodrogVS

2006-03-07 13:11:52  |  By NodrogVS

 |  Version: Quake demo 1.06

Pros

I remember this game when I was little. It is truley the ansestor of all modern shooters.

Cons

Sadly, I dosn't run. Where do the good times go?

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

Results 1–10 of 215

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for Quake demo
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
General
Publisher id Software
Publisher web site http://www.idsoftware.com/
Release Date October 18, 1996
Date Added October 18, 1996
Version 1.06
Category
Category Games
Subcategory Action Games
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Windows/95
Additional Requirements Pentium, DOS 5.0 or later or Windows 95, 8MB RAM (16MB with Windows 95), 30MB disk space, VGA
Download Information
File Size 8.67MB
File Name quake106.zip
Popularity
Total Downloads 1,464,867
Downloads Last Week 14
Pricing
License Model Free to try
Limitations Not available
Price Free
Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +
Close[x]

Submit a problem report for Quake demo

Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.

Problem:

The Download.com Installer isn't working as expected

The download link does not work

The software has a newer version

The product contains malicious software

Other

Description:

Please select a feedback type.

Please enter a description.

Submit Problem Report

Close[x]

Problem Report submitted

Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.

OK