Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

ProXPN

Free
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
Excellent
Average User Rating:
out of 62 votes out of 5 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    4.0.2
  • Total Downloads:
    137,804
  • Date Added:
    Jul. 10, 2015
  • Price:
    Free
  • File Size:
    15.62MB
  • Downloads Last Week:
    153
  • Platform:
    Windows
  • Product ranking:

Editors' Review

+

ProXPN protects your privacy while surfing the Web by encrypting your data and providing you with an anonymous IP address. With this software running, you don't have to worry about anyone else getting access to your browsing history or other sensitive information.

Pros

Straightforward interface: Once you have ProXPN installed, you can navigate easily between the various options and features. There are tabs to separate the different sections of the app, and these include General, for logging in and connecting, as well as one for Location, among others.

VPN Guard: Another handy feature this app offers is the VPN Guard, which protects any apps you add to the list. You can activate or deactivate this feature at any time, and you can also add or remove apps with ease.

Cons

Confusing sign-up: In order to use this software, you have to create an account through the company's website. While there are free accounts available, clicking the Create Account button in the app takes you to a page that only offers paid subscriptions. To find the free sign-up option, you have to go to the developer's home page, and then create an account from there.

Slow connection: Connection speeds were inconsistent during our testing. At times, they seemed almost as fast as our normal speeds without the protection turned on, but at other times, there were definite lags.

Bottom Line

ProXPN provides an extra level of protection for your personal information, and it allows you to operate online anonymously. The Basic service is free, and it includes anonymous Web browsing, unlimited data transfer and connection time, and anonymous IP addresses. If you want more advanced features like PPT Connectivity, maximum VPN speed, Torrenting, VPN Guard, and more, you can upgrade to a Premium account.

 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+

Results 1–5 of 5

5 stars

"My proXPN review"

September 23, 2016  |  By JulianWalters

2016-09-23 13:34:18  |  By JulianWalters

 |  Version: ProXPN 4.0.2

Pros

I very rarely write any reviews but I need to give proxpn credit when credit is due. I'm using VPNs when online for the better part of the last 10 years and have had a number on different VPN providers. Some were "brand names" some were less known as Proxpn is.
Last year my subscription for the vpn I was using was about to expire and I started doing some research to get a new one. I'm hanging out on Twit a lot and they were talking about proxpn a lot and always with high praises . So I decided to ditch my "big name" VPN and try proxpn. Took me a minute to get it all set but after that I was and still am very impressed by the speed. I'm on Comcast and I get constantly 40-65 Mbps on download and around 10 on upload. This was about twice what I was getting from my than big name VPN provider. The Android app they had at the time was a little shaky and disconnected at times but it got updated and it's been excellent ever since. In brief - proxpn is surprisingly fast and rock solid.

Cons

no complains

Summary

Another thing I want to share and what indeed made me write this proxpn review. When i bought it I paid full price. I'm not sure if I didn't see the promo code box or they didn't have a discount running at the time but I paid full price for a year of service. A few weeks later I saw a coupon for 62% off and was a bit bumped i overpaid. I had nothing to lose so i pinged them an email explaining what happened, how i paid full price but now I saw a coupon and (I didn't have high hopes) asked if they can apply the discounted price back to my order somehow. As I said I didn't expect anything to come out of this but guess what - a few hours later I got an email from paypal saying i have a refund! Now this is something worth writing a review about. If they keep up the good work I wouldn't be searing for a new VPN when this subscription is over. The speed is on par and even better than the well known brands and the price is a fraction of what they charge. Wish I heard of proxpn sooner

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Proxpn is great VPN"

September 20, 2016  |  By adinardo

2016-09-20 12:21:19  |  By adinardo

 |  Version: ProXPN 4.0.2

Pros

I've been using proxpn since last Cyber Monday when it was on sale for like $45 and it haven't let me down even since. Very fast and very stable with close to no lag.Works good on my MAC and iPhone 6. very happy I switched from one of the better known VPNs to this one and paying a third of what i used to pay

Cons

nothing so far, works as expected

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"This is a great VPN"

August 15, 2016  |  By shery1987

2016-08-15 21:32:08  |  By shery1987

 |  Version: ProXPN 4.0.2

Pros

Super fast
Cheap
Great Iphone app
Had the free proxpn plan for a while but you really need the paid to get the full benefits

Cons

free version is kind of slow but for free it's expected, no problems with the paid so far

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Unbeatable price and quality"

January 02, 2016  |  By stenly19834

2016-01-02 13:14:05  |  By stenly19834

 |  Version: ProXPN 4.0.2

Pros

1) super low price
2) no slowing down
3)no sudden disconnection
4)good support

Cons

on complains

Summary

they run a lot of promotions, use google to find the current ones

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (2)   (0)  

5 stars

"proxpn works just fine"

September 23, 2015  |  By tghy012

2015-09-23 15:54:49  |  By tghy012

 |  Version: ProXPN 4.0.2

Pros

Have my VPN with proxpn for about a year now an so far so good - no problems , no drop of speed. Also works great on my iPhone

Cons

nothing so far

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (2)   (0)  

Results 1–5 of 5

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for ProXPN
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 4.0.2
Version 4.0.2 includes unspecified updates.
General
Publisher proXPN
Publisher web site http://proxpn.com
Release Date July 10, 2015
Date Added July 10, 2015
Version 4.0.2
Category
Category Security Software
Subcategory Privacy Software
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Windows XP/2003/Vista/Server 2008/7/8
Additional Requirements None
Download Information
File Size 15.62MB
File Name installproXPN.exe
Popularity
Total Downloads 137,804
Downloads Last Week 153
Pricing
License Model Free
Limitations Not available
Price Free

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +
Close[x]

Submit a problem report for ProXPN

Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.

Problem:

The Download.com Installer isn't working as expected

The download link does not work

The software has a newer version

The product contains malicious software

Other

Description:

Please select a feedback type.

Please enter a description.

Submit Problem Report

Close[x]

Problem Report submitted

Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.

OK