Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

Picasa for Mac

Free
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
Very good
Average User Rating:
out of 67 votes out of 0 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    3.9.141.306
  • Total Downloads:
    267,806
  • Date Added:
    Oct. 30, 2015
  • Price:
    Free
  • File Size:
    33.14MB
  • Downloads Last Week:
    663
  • Platform:
    Mac
  • Product ranking:

Editors' Note: Clicking on the Download Now (Visit Site) button above will open a connection to a third-party site. Download.com cannot completely ensure the security of the software hosted on third-party sites.

Editors' Review

+

While there are numerous apps that help you edit, organize, and share your digital images, many of them cost a lot and are geared toward users with experience in image editing. Picasa is an app from Google that offers only the basics and it won't cost you a dime.

The app's gray interface is on the plain side, but all of the options are easily accessible and even less experienced users should be able to jump right in. If you do run into difficulties, you can visit the Help center to view tutorials from the publisher and from other users. Picasa includes some basic editing tools, allowing you to crop your images or apply effects like sepia tone, but its most notable feature is facial recognition. This allows you to name an individual in your images so that person will be identified in future pictures you upload. We found this option worked best when the person was directly facing the camera, but it did make it easier to manage and find photos.

While the software could be used as a standalone photo-editing and management tool, it is designed to work with Google's photo sharing site, Picasa Web Albums. Like all things Google, it's tied into your Google account. If you don't have an account with Google or Picasa Web Albums, this software won't be as beneficial to you. For those who do use Picasa Web Albums, however, Picasa's simple integration makes it easy to edit and share your files online.

 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+

Results 1–10 of 67

1 stars

"Piece of **** on Mac OSX. Takes over everything. Invasi"

September 03, 2015  |  By Klodfone

2015-09-03 22:57:54  |  By Klodfone

 |  Version: Picasa 3.9.139.218

Pros

I did not let it run long enough to find out.

Cons

Takes over everything.
Forces you to let it scan everything and take possesion of all photos and graphics files in the machine.
Made a real mess and no options to control or put it on a leash

Summary

If you like an anal exam with a rubber glove and no grease then this bag of trouble is for you :)

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"Pointless since Facebook uploading was removed"

July 02, 2015  |  By Vanillaman

2015-07-02 00:50:25  |  By Vanillaman

 |  Version: Picasa 3.9.139.218

Pros

None at all

Cons

Picasa have savagely restricted the ability to share or upload, rendering their app useless. There is a fake app called `Picasa Uploader for Facebook'. However, it is a deceitful scam by the developer to get you to buy paid Pro version.

Summary

Picasa have removed abilities to share, rendering their app useless.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

4 stars

"it could be better"

June 10, 2015  |  By kmoim8o

2015-06-10 20:34:04  |  By kmoim8o

 |  Version: Picasa 3.9.139.218

Pros

I prefer to use MyBrushes which is fantasy to paint for mac http://mybrushes-app.com/MyBrushes-MAC.html

Cons

it could be better

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"awful - it just doesn't work"

January 06, 2013  |  By maxusmaxus

2013-01-06 04:18:54  |  By maxusmaxus

 |  Version: Picasa 3.9.1.535

Pros

-I love Picasa for PC, but this mac version is a complete disaster.

Cons

-Cannot import my pictures from iPhone (crashes all the time),
-HUGE problems to log in on picasa webalbums,
-crashes all the time.
-non retina display support

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"How do I migrate data (locations and faces) to iPhoto ?"

March 08, 2012  |  By osos10

2012-03-08 02:30:28  |  By osos10

 |  Version: Picasa 3.9.1.535

Pros

Map functionality (for this 1 star). Thats about it.

Cons

The face recognition is lousy (at best); the GUI is terrible; the way the program scans my mobile devices that are connected to the computer without letting me controlling that.

Summary

AWFUL software. GOOGLE stop snoozing into my devices and life, you know about me more than I want anyway. If anyone will be kind enough to explain how to migrate all the data (locations and faces) to iPhoto I'll appreciate it.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

2 stars

"bad for developers and beta testers"

November 07, 2011  |  By purplemaizenjm

2011-11-07 14:30:24  |  By purplemaizenjm

 |  Version: Picasa 3.8.9.390

Pros

nothing good about app

Cons

Picasa Downloaded everything on my computer even my beta testing bugs..I was wonder what was going on with all my apps I was testing so I cleaned my computer twice. This is no good I had to delete everything. It copies everything you make on the computer.
It even downloaded my developing tools and other apps I was developing. This app had to be destroyed.

Summary

Dont download this app unless u are going to use it for pics only. it is a clutter bug. I have a better app that works better and saves all apps on my computer on my Desktop.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (2)   (0)  

1 stars

"Picasa not allowed on my Mac"

May 29, 2011  |  By marinsky2

2011-05-29 10:20:42  |  By marinsky2

 |  Version: Picasa 3.8.9.390

Pros

would have been nice IF

Cons

Could not use Picasa as my Mac OSX is not Intel base

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (3)   (0)  

1 stars

"Didn't do what I wanted it to"

April 20, 2011  |  By dts3204

2011-04-20 00:12:16  |  By dts3204

 |  Version: Picasa 3.8.9.390

Pros

Didn't do what I wanted it to

Cons

Didn't do what I wanted it to

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (2)   (0)  

5 stars

"Excellent Product"

April 17, 2011  |  By milano6256

2011-04-17 15:55:03  |  By milano6256

 |  Version: Picasa 3.8.9.390

Pros

Nice user interface... easy to use!

Cons

Would like to work directly from a drive rather than having to import like thumbsplus

Summary

Nice product for what it is :-)

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (1)  

3 stars

"zzzzzzzzzzzzzz"

April 10, 2011  |  By elliotelliot

2011-04-10 21:40:54  |  By elliotelliot

 |  Version: Picasa 3.8.8.383

Pros

zzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Cons

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Summary

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

Results 1–10 of 67

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for Picasa
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 3.9.141.306
  • Re-branding from Google+ Photos to Google Photos
  • Disable, for the time being, uploads of face tags.
  • Addresses occasional crashes in network operations.
  • Addresses occasional crashes in file scanning operations.
  • Patches for image handling. We would like to thank Hossein Lotfi, Secunia Research, for helping to identify
  • issues in RAW handling.
  • Improved throughput and error handling in Google Photos Backup.
General
Publisher Google
Publisher web site http://www.google.com/
Release Date October 30, 2015
Date Added October 30, 2015
Version 3.9.141.306
Category
Category Digital Photo Software
Subcategory Media Management
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Mac OS X 10.10/10.5/10.6/10.7/10.8/10.9
Additional Requirements None
Download Information
File Size 33.14MB
File Name External File
Popularity
Total Downloads 267,806
Downloads Last Week 663
Pricing
License Model Free
Limitations Not available
Price Free

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +