Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

PCmover Professional

$59.95
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
0
No Rating
Average User Rating:
out of 65 votes out of 5 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    8.20.636
  • Total Downloads:
    29,828
  • Date Added:
    Aug. 20, 2015
  • Price:
    Purchase; $59.95 to buy (Buy it now)
  • File Size:
    73.44MB
  • Downloads Last Week:
    9
  • Platform:
    Windows

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+

Results 1–5 of 5

2 stars

"OK for most, fails on complex set ups."

May 05, 2016  |  By burtontechsupport

2016-05-05 11:28:18  |  By burtontechsupport

 |  Version: PCmover Professional 8.20.636

Pros

Data move was smooth and didn't find the interface too bad but I am an IT tech. Most programs that it could move worked. However...

Cons

Totally failed to accommodate Outlook when ACT was also used. Said it had moved successfully but Outlook and ACT failed to work properly even though the rest of MS Office worked fine.

Summary

Overall not worth the cost, especially as a re-install of Windows meant buying a new licence for it to fail yet again when moving *just* MS Office.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"Inconsistent; poor interface"

April 26, 2016

2016-04-26 19:17:15

 |  Version: PCmover Professional 8.20.636

Pros

Worked one time with help of customer service, even transferred MS Office, sort of. Second "success" (Attempt #48) transferred everything BUT MS Office. Free customer service at 11 pm remoted in, turned off Firewalls and antivirus and got it going! Next morning, 95% success! Restarted after inadvertent suspend seamlessly.

Cons

See summary below.

Summary

Poor interface. Lots of color and flashy lettering, but the crucial messages are in small, black, plain font. Second effort (after Disk Restore) wouldn't work. Support said need to call 9-5 Eastern time to reset serial number. So much for 24 hour support. Numerous attempts after. Clue: When one counter is counting away, but the other is just sitting, start over, you're wasting time. Third call to support sevarl days later was obviously just a sales scam. Started off by warning me that free support was limited in scope. A few minutes later, tech woefully starts to tell me I need the $100+ dollar tech subscription, forgetting that I could see all he was doing on my two screens.... He hadn't bothered clicking "Next" to start the transfer. Clearly he was dead set on selling a subscription.

After telling his supervisor (who wouldn't listen to my complaint) they both should be jailed, hung up and fixed the minor problem myself (If you re-download on one machine, re-download both.... even tiny differences in build numbers are deadly.

Failed about 25 times after that first success. Then finally got it to work, although no transfer of MS Office second time.

So maybe just take the free version and reinstall your applications. You get what you pay for, and this is definitely still shareware.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"great product"

January 28, 2016  |  By alfaista

2016-01-28 07:40:20  |  By alfaista

 |  Version: PCmover Professional 8.20.636

Pros

very easy to use! steps are easy and clear to follow, did a great job!

Cons

none that I can see

Summary

wish I had found it sooner!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Did exactly what I needed it to!"

October 20, 2015

2015-10-20 17:49:18

 |  Version: PCmover Professional 8.20.636

Pros

Copied every program and file from my old laptop to my new one. The only one that didn't copy was my Microsoft Office program, but that may be a Microsoft thing. Even my desktop pic and icons were all there! Definitely MUCH easier than copying manually and reinstalling everything!

Cons

Quite slow when using the wireless internet option (as most probably would). I set mine to start when I went to bed and it still wasn't done 6 hrs later. Took about 8 hrs. I suggest getting the cable (either from laplink or a comparable one) as would prob be much quicker.

Summary

For the price, it's worth the hours of your time it would take to transfer and reinstall all you have on your old computer.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

4 stars

"Great product Easy to use. Excellent support."

October 14, 2015  |  By puuhina43

2015-10-14 12:08:50  |  By puuhina43

 |  Version: PCmover Professional 8.20.636

Pros

Easy to use. Excellent support. Works using wifi too.

Cons

None........

Summary

Using a cable is best. Transferring over wifi is quite slow, but overall it's quite a good product. I made a mistake and support helped clear it up quickly.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

Results 1–5 of 5

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for PCmover Professional
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 8.20.636
Version 10 includes support for Windows 10 migrations
General
Publisher Laplink Software
Publisher web site http://www.laplink.com/
Release Date November 07, 2014
Date Added August 20, 2015
Version 8.20.636
Category
Category Utilities & Operating Systems
Subcategory System Utilities
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Windows XP/Vista/7/8/10
Additional Requirements None
Download Information
File Size 73.44MB
File Name pcmover_en.exe
Popularity
Total Downloads 29,828
Downloads Last Week 9
Pricing
License Model Purchase
Limitations Not available
Price $59.95

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +