Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

Opera

Free
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
Excellent
Average User Rating:
out of 3871 votes out of 0 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    39.0.2256.43
  • Total Downloads:
    13,466,787
  • Date Added:
    Aug. 02, 2016
  • Price:
    Free
  • File Size:
    38.1MB
  • Downloads Last Week:
    8,087
  • Platform:
    Windows
  • Product ranking:
    #3 in Web Browsers

Editors' Review

+

Opera shares most of its guts with Google Chrome, but the Web browser distinguishes itself with features like a built-in ad blocker, claims of improved battery life on laptops, and the option to watch YouTube videos in a floating window.

Pros

Supports most Chrome extensions: Since Opera and Chrome have so much code in common, it's not difficult to create native Opera versions of popular extensions like LastPass, uBlock Origin, Reddit Enhancement Suite, and Pocket. And if a developer hasn't created an Opera version yet, Download Chrome Extension can install extensions directly from the Chrome Web Store, so Opera users shouldn't miss out on many Chrome add-ons.

Saves laptop battery life: Opera does some clever wizardry in the background to extend battery life on a laptop. We can't guarantee any particular number, because battery life depends a lot on your screen's brightness and resolution, and whether you're streaming HD videos or just browsing Wikipedia. Either way, enabling or disabling power saving is a quick toggle at the top of your screen.

Handy YouTube video pop-outs: When you browse YouTube with Opera, you can click an additional button in the top of the video frame to pop the video out to a separate window. You can drag it around and resize it, and it will float on top of other windows. That is, it won't disappear if you put another app window in the foreground, so you can multitask without losing your video. The original browser tab where you found that video must remain open, though.

Cons

Default security and privacy settings could be better: Opera Software routinely advertises its browser as a "safe" option. However, it uses navigation prediction services that require sending (anonymized) data about your usage habits over the Internet to be analyzed by a remote server. This can be disabled, but it's not by default, and you have to search Google to figure out how these services work and what they expose. Form autofilling is also enabled by default -- another feature that favors convenience over safety. If an unauthorized person gets access to your device, they can pull up what you've entered into a form just by experimenting with the alphabet, potentially giving them your home address, phone number, and other sensitive info. Opera also has a setting to "protect me from malicious sites," but the setting doesn't explain what this entails.

Searching for extensions is hit-or-miss: We got some odd search results on Opera's website when looking for extensions to install. Searching for Gmail produced two pages of extensions, which was good. But searching for Google produces only six extensions, none of which are Gmail. Why does a more generic query return a fraction of the results and exclude an obvious ingredient?

Installing Adobe Flash is relatively tricky: Adobe's once-universal Internet streaming video tech is finally on its way out, but many legacy websites still require it. Unlike Chrome, Opera does not have Adobe Flash built in. Googling for ways to add it produces outdated instructions from Adobe and Opera Software about enabling a setting that no longer exists. You have to go to the Adobe Flash plug-in webpage (once you've Googled it) while using Opera; the website uses its own voodoo to determine which Flash installer to deliver to you. But you won't see the download button if you have an ad blocker enabled.

Bottom Line

Since Opera is basically Chrome's fraternal twin, if it wants to compete with Chrome, it has to be better, and that's a hard act to follow. However, Opera's benefit to battery life is one point in its favor -- Chrome has a reputation for inefficient battery use. And some users will appreciate the video pop-out. Since you can get all the major Chrome extensions without much fuss, it's hard to make a case against Opera. It's definitely a worthy Web browser in its own right and might make Google reconsider some of its decisions on Chrome.

 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+
  • Current Version

    0 stars Be the first to review this product
  • All Versions

    4.3

    out of 3871 votes

    • 5 star 2525
    • 4 star 567
    • 3 star 322
    • 2 star 172
    • 1 star 285
  • My rating

    0 stars

    Write review

Results 1–10 of 3549

1 stars

"Not supported by XP"

July 09, 2016  |  By littlebuzzon

2016-07-09 12:11:08  |  By littlebuzzon

 |  Version: Opera 38.0.2220.41

Pros

Don't know, can't load

Cons

Cnet editors get paid without doing any research

Summary

Version 36 is the last one you can download on XP. PLEASE edit your review, NOT XP compatible.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Really fast browser with all the features I need"

June 27, 2016  |  By henfalle

2016-06-27 00:35:16  |  By henfalle

 |  Version: Opera 38.0.2220.31

Pros

Really fast, Saves me a ton of battery compared to Chrome. Built-in Adblock. Built-in VPN (in developer version). Really sweet pop-out video functionality. Nice and slick UI

Cons

Can't think of anything compared to Firefox and Chrome. Prefer Opera actually.

Summary

My new favorite browser

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

2 stars

"Fair Browser."

June 24, 2016  |  By thorlo6

2016-06-24 15:09:13  |  By thorlo6

 |  Version: Opera 38.0.2220.31

Pros

Usually comes up and connects to the internet faster than Chrome. Has one of my favorite things other Browsers don't have, Speed Dial!

Cons

There are a number of websites that does not allow the use of Opera and it will not operate on those sites at all. Since I have to use several of these sites for personal reasons, I have to use Chrome.

Summary

Since I was tired of the slowness of Chrome, the turtle crawl of IE, and just plain don't like Firefox or Safari I went to using Opera. Loved it while I was using it, but, since as mentioned in the cons, several websites would not let me use it I had to go back to Chrome. Over all Chrome is a better browser.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Simply the best"

June 17, 2016  |  By userdown159

2016-06-17 03:34:13  |  By userdown159

 |  Version: Opera 38.0.2220.29

Pros

Best release

Cons

None can be found

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"#1 Browser."

April 02, 2016  |  By CNETUser0001

2016-04-02 12:24:51  |  By CNETUser0001

 |  Version: Opera 36.0.2130.32

Pros

1. Fast.
2. Easy on the resources.
3. Won't load tabs until you need them!!!
4. Has all the features you'll ever need.

Cons

I wish it had print formatting capabilities similar to Firefox and IE.

Summary

My default browser. One of the first programs I install on any PC I use.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"They took 5 browsers, Streamlined them in Opera"

January 15, 2016  |  By gman21858

2016-01-15 19:49:25  |  By gman21858

 |  Version: Opera 34.0.2036.47

Pros

it's fast, it learns as it goes, speed dial puts all your top items at your finger tips and you can get it no matter what your doing. I'm always looking at browsers to see what others are doing, I did this to Opera over a year ago and it's now my default browser.

Cons

Sometimes I run into a web site or page doing business or playing games and run into the not compatible but I write into the web site tell them whats up and before you know it, it's compatible. I just have to tell them it's the same as chrome, Safari, Fire Fox they are just not up to speed on Opera yet. When they are Opera is going to gain the big MO and be right up there with Google Chrome, Fire Fox, Microsoft Edge and IE 8,9,10,11,... Windows 10 which I have excepts Opera no problem.

Summary

If I have said it once or a million times just check it out for your self, the first thing you will notice are the similarities with Chrome, Safari, but Opera streamlined every thing and I think it's what makes it so fast even under a load, like I can download, upload, have 50 windows open, be playing a game and checking my bank and paying bills and you wouldn't even know any thing else is going on. I've done every thing above but I didn't have 50 windows I only had about 15, oh ya I was also listening to I heart radio and watching AFV on youtube. Look it's all about choices and what you like vs what you might like better. Give it a try a good try keep it as your default and you will see for yourself.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

5 stars

"Great Browser!"

January 15, 2016

2016-01-15 12:45:54

 |  Version: Opera 34.0.2036.47

Pros

* Goob Perfomance.
* Opera services.
* Clear interface.

Cons

*No email client.

Summary

* Best browser today.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Do yourself a favor and try it!"

December 30, 2015  |  By tdaso

2015-12-30 03:19:59  |  By tdaso

 |  Version: Opera 34.34.0.2036.47

Pros

Extremely good looks, fast, customizable.

Cons

Some minor customization issues

Summary

I'm writing about Opera developer 36. The reason for this (second) post is that I read here ridiculous and misleading reviews. Somebody says it doesn't support cut & paste (this is the statement of the year!!!) another says it crashes a lot (It's my default browser and it never crashes) somebody else says it's slow (search the internet to see that it is close or even equal to chrome in speed), even CNET rating comes from an ancient version of Opera. What's going on here? So, judge for yourselves - give it a try and don't believe reviews from people who don't bother even spending a couple of hours with a software they claim they tested!
Opera has everything going for it and a drop-dead gorgeous start page that is light years ahead of the competition!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

1 stars

"No copy and paste ability"

December 16, 2015  |  By Noirfan

2015-12-16 22:38:27  |  By Noirfan

 |  Version: Opera 34.34.0.2036.47

Pros

Fast download and what works, works smoothly.

Cons

Useless without the ability to cut, copy and paste.

Summary

DELETED!!!!

Reply to this review Read replies (2)

Was this review helpful? (0)   (1)  

3 stars

"It's Just OK"

December 16, 2015  |  By kenj547

2015-12-16 16:30:17  |  By kenj547

 |  Version: Opera 34.34.0.2036.47

Pros

It works.Fairly good. Nothing about it stands out

Cons

No drop down menu which I prefer

Summary

I use FireFox. It generally works pretty well and is predictable. I thought I would give this a try. I do like having a drop menu and I'm not fond of the Boxes on the start page

Reply to this review Read replies (2)

Was this review helpful? (0)   (1)  

Results 1–10 of 3549

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for Opera
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 39.0.2256.43
  • A revamped video pop out
  • A personalized newsreader
  • Customizable block lists to the native ad blocker
  • Other features
  • Browser VPN
  • Quick fix for clearing third-party data crash.
General
Publisher Opera Software
Publisher web site http://www.opera.com/?utm_medium=tp&utm_source=cnet&utm_campaign=redirect
Release Date August 02, 2016
Date Added August 02, 2016
Version 39.0.2256.43
Category
Category Browsers
Subcategory Web Browsers
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Windows XP/2003/Vista/Server 2008/7/8
Additional Requirements None
Download Information
File Size 38.1MB
File Name Opera_39.0.2256.43_Setup.exe
Popularity
Total Downloads 13,466,787
Downloads Last Week 8,087
Pricing
License Model Free
Limitations Not available
Price Free

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +

More Products to Consider

Close[x]

Submit a problem report for Opera

Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.

Problem:

The Download.com Installer isn't working as expected

The download link does not work

The software has a newer version

The product contains malicious software

Other

Description:

Please select a feedback type.

Please enter a description.

Submit Problem Report

Close[x]

Problem Report submitted

Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.

OK