Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

Opera

Free
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
Excellent
Average User Rating:
out of 3876 votes out of 0 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    41.0.2353.69
  • Total Downloads:
    13,516,900
  • Date Added:
    Nov. 24, 2016
  • Price:
    Free
  • File Size:
    40.14MB
  • Downloads Last Week:
    2,290
  • Platform:
    Windows
  • Product ranking:
    #3 in Web Browsers

Editors' Review

+

Opera shares most of its guts with Google Chrome, but the Web browser distinguishes itself with features like a built-in ad blocker, claims of improved battery life on laptops, and the option to watch YouTube videos in a floating window.

Pros

Supports most Chrome extensions: Since Opera and Chrome have so much code in common, it's not difficult to create native Opera versions of popular extensions like LastPass, uBlock Origin, Reddit Enhancement Suite, and Pocket. And if a developer hasn't created an Opera version yet, Download Chrome Extension can install extensions directly from the Chrome Web Store, so Opera users shouldn't miss out on many Chrome add-ons.

Saves laptop battery life: Opera does some clever wizardry in the background to extend battery life on a laptop. We can't guarantee any particular number, because battery life depends a lot on your screen's brightness and resolution, and whether you're streaming HD videos or just browsing Wikipedia. Either way, enabling or disabling power saving is a quick toggle at the top of your screen.

Handy YouTube video pop-outs: When you browse YouTube with Opera, you can click an additional button in the top of the video frame to pop the video out to a separate window. You can drag it around and resize it, and it will float on top of other windows. That is, it won't disappear if you put another app window in the foreground, so you can multitask without losing your video. The original browser tab where you found that video must remain open, though.

Cons

Default security and privacy settings could be better: Opera Software routinely advertises its browser as a "safe" option. However, it uses navigation prediction services that require sending (anonymized) data about your usage habits over the Internet to be analyzed by a remote server. This can be disabled, but it's not by default, and you have to search Google to figure out how these services work and what they expose. Form autofilling is also enabled by default -- another feature that favors convenience over safety. If an unauthorized person gets access to your device, they can pull up what you've entered into a form just by experimenting with the alphabet, potentially giving them your home address, phone number, and other sensitive info. Opera also has a setting to "protect me from malicious sites," but the setting doesn't explain what this entails.

Searching for extensions is hit-or-miss: We got some odd search results on Opera's website when looking for extensions to install. Searching for Gmail produced two pages of extensions, which was good. But searching for Google produces only six extensions, none of which are Gmail. Why does a more generic query return a fraction of the results and exclude an obvious ingredient?

Installing Adobe Flash is relatively tricky: Adobe's once-universal Internet streaming video tech is finally on its way out, but many legacy websites still require it. Unlike Chrome, Opera does not have Adobe Flash built in. Googling for ways to add it produces outdated instructions from Adobe and Opera Software about enabling a setting that no longer exists. You have to go to the Adobe Flash plug-in webpage (once you've Googled it) while using Opera; the website uses its own voodoo to determine which Flash installer to deliver to you. But you won't see the download button if you have an ad blocker enabled.

Bottom Line

Since Opera is basically Chrome's fraternal twin, if it wants to compete with Chrome, it has to be better, and that's a hard act to follow. However, Opera's benefit to battery life is one point in its favor -- Chrome has a reputation for inefficient battery use. And some users will appreciate the video pop-out. Since you can get all the major Chrome extensions without much fuss, it's hard to make a case against Opera. It's definitely a worthy Web browser in its own right and might make Google reconsider some of its decisions on Chrome.

 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+
  • Current Version

    0 stars Be the first to review this product
  • All Versions

    4.3

    out of 3876 votes

    • 5 star 2527
    • 4 star 569
    • 3 star 322
    • 2 star 172
    • 1 star 286
  • My rating

    0 stars

    Write review

Results 1–10 of 3554

4 stars

"Very good one"

November 19, 2016  |  By Munawar84

2016-11-19 00:34:25  |  By Munawar84

 |  Version: Opera 41.0.2353.56

Pros

Speed dial and very easy to navigate. No problem if you open 50 tabs. Downloading and uploading is quite fast.

Cons

The ad blocking should be more improved. Still go to one link to another.

Summary

Overall a very good browser for Windows though it has some similarities with chrome and safari. The speed is faster.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Speed Dial is the feature that this browser wins with!"

September 29, 2016  |  By vblancer

2016-09-29 23:40:14  |  By vblancer

 |  Version: Opera 38.0.2220.31

Pros

Most importantly it is not owned by Google. Speed Dial. Speed Dial. Did I mention Speed dial? Fire Fox has a pseudo speed dial add on but it is pain in the butt to set up and use, very awkward. Easy, very easy and intuitive to navigate Opera does what I want a browser to do. Good support I think.

Cons

The only con I can think of is that some websites will not accept it but that is hardly Opera's fault. That is like blaming the car for bad driving!!

Summary

Is my #1 go to browser with Firefox a distant second. As stated above I do not like Google for personal and very important to me reasons so Chrome is not even considered even though one sneaky update or down load or another tries to sneak it onto my desk top what seems like about every time I download any new program!! This just further fuels my hate.....yes HATE...of Google a sleazy bunch of ....well I assume this is family friendly so I will not go there! Opera does everything I want a browser to do. I did disable the ad blocker and install another one but this was a picky, picky thing on my part. As for the complaints about security if you notice every one of them is a choice kind of thing. I PAY for one of the very best anti virus programs and it comes with a very secure auto complete. Short of being burglarized and that burglar knowing my pass words (I have a dog for THAT) I feel safe.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Fast and Lightweight"

September 29, 2016  |  By kenj547

2016-09-29 13:22:39  |  By kenj547

 |  Version: Opera 40.0.2308.62

Pros

I ave been using this now on Linux Mint and it is fast and easy to use.

Cons

None that I have encountered

Summary

Highly Recoment. It is also very good in Windows 10

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

4 stars

"Good for laptops Broken Add-on page solution Version 40"

September 22, 2016  |  By BOBRGR

2016-09-22 06:05:53  |  By BOBRGR

 |  Version: Opera 39.0.2256.71

Pros

Built in VPN seems to work OK
Automatic power saver mode may extend battery life
Free

Cons

Add-on page broken See below
Lacks customization options of Firefox
Bookmarks/Favorites poorly handled, cumbersome Should be a button on menu not a separate toolbar Some add-ons do this but very poorly

Summary

Add-on page broken FIX: Enable VPN...Settings, Privacy, enable VPN. The extensions page should now display and allow add-ons to be installed. By the time you read this they may have it fixed...but it appears to have been a problem for some time.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"It will not install"

September 20, 2016  |  By Lassar

2016-09-20 09:40:24  |  By Lassar

 |  Version: Opera 39.0.2256.71

Pros

Can't say, because I can't even get it to install.

Cons

Will not install.

Get a message saying "downloading Windows XP compatible installer"

"Download failed"

At 39 megabytes, the installer should not need to download anymore files.

Summary

Opera needs to get their act together.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

1 stars

"Not supported by XP"

July 09, 2016  |  By littlebuzzon

2016-07-09 12:11:08  |  By littlebuzzon

 |  Version: Opera 38.0.2220.41

Pros

Don't know, can't load

Cons

Cnet editors get paid without doing any research

Summary

Version 36 is the last one you can download on XP. PLEASE edit your review, NOT XP compatible.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

5 stars

"Really fast browser with all the features I need"

June 27, 2016  |  By henfalle

2016-06-27 00:35:16  |  By henfalle

 |  Version: Opera 38.0.2220.31

Pros

Really fast, Saves me a ton of battery compared to Chrome. Built-in Adblock. Built-in VPN (in developer version). Really sweet pop-out video functionality. Nice and slick UI

Cons

Can't think of anything compared to Firefox and Chrome. Prefer Opera actually.

Summary

My new favorite browser

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

2 stars

"Fair Browser."

June 24, 2016  |  By thorlo6

2016-06-24 15:09:13  |  By thorlo6

 |  Version: Opera 38.0.2220.31

Pros

Usually comes up and connects to the internet faster than Chrome. Has one of my favorite things other Browsers don't have, Speed Dial!

Cons

There are a number of websites that does not allow the use of Opera and it will not operate on those sites at all. Since I have to use several of these sites for personal reasons, I have to use Chrome.

Summary

Since I was tired of the slowness of Chrome, the turtle crawl of IE, and just plain don't like Firefox or Safari I went to using Opera. Loved it while I was using it, but, since as mentioned in the cons, several websites would not let me use it I had to go back to Chrome. Over all Chrome is a better browser.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Simply the best"

June 17, 2016  |  By userdown159

2016-06-17 03:34:13  |  By userdown159

 |  Version: Opera 38.0.2220.29

Pros

Best release

Cons

None can be found

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"#1 Browser."

April 02, 2016  |  By CNETUser0001

2016-04-02 12:24:51  |  By CNETUser0001

 |  Version: Opera 36.0.2130.32

Pros

1. Fast.
2. Easy on the resources.
3. Won't load tabs until you need them!!!
4. Has all the features you'll ever need.

Cons

I wish it had print formatting capabilities similar to Firefox and IE.

Summary

My default browser. One of the first programs I install on any PC I use.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

Results 1–10 of 3554

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for Opera
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 41.0.2353.69
Chromium was updated to version 54.0.2840.99. We fixed some nasty crash on dragging bookmarks bar elements.
General
Publisher Opera Software
Publisher web site http://www.opera.com/?utm_medium=tp&utm_source=cnet&utm_campaign=redirect
Release Date November 23, 2016
Date Added November 24, 2016
Version 41.0.2353.69
Category
Category Browsers
Subcategory Web Browsers
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Windows XP/2003/Vista/Server 2008/7/8
Additional Requirements None
Download Information
File Size 40.14MB
File Name Opera_41.0.2353.69_Setup.exe
Popularity
Total Downloads 13,516,900
Downloads Last Week 2,290
Pricing
License Model Free
Limitations Not available
Price Free

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +