Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

ObjectDock

$9.99
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
Excellent
Average User Rating:
out of 805 votes out of 0 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    2.20
  • Total Downloads:
    13,121,965
  • Date Added:
    Oct. 28, 2014
  • Price:
    Free to try (30-day trial); $9.99 to buy (Buy it now)
  • File Size:
    19.82MB
  • Downloads Last Week:
    1,296
  • Platform:
    Windows
  • Product ranking:

Editors' Review

+

ObjectDock gives you the look and functionality of a Mac interface right on your Windows computer by adding a customizable dock at the bottom of the screen. From here, you can quickly open important programs, and you can even tell the program to mimic the mouse-over zoom effect found on a Mac.

Pros

Configurable and customizable: The initial Dock this app creates contains some basic programs and an icon for the Windows Start Menu. But through the Settings Menu, you can customize the Dock to display whatever programs you want. And you can even specify whether you want all open programs to show up there or not.

Two-part interface: In addition to the Dock at the bottom of the screen, this app also creates a tabbed interface that you can access by clicking on a small bar at the top of the screen. Here you'll find the Settings Menu, and you can also access all of your other programs, especially if you chose to eliminate the Windows Toolbar when you set up the app.

Cons

One size: The icons in the Dock are only one size, and they are rather large. Depending on the size of your screen, this may mean that they interfere with what you're trying to do in other programs from time to time.

Variable responsiveness: Programs didn't always open the first time we tried to click on them in the dock. Although they did always open eventually, it sometimes took multiple attempts.

Bottom Line

ObjectDock is a quick and easy way to give your Windows computer a Mac look. It offers lots of options for customization, which means you can set it up in a way that best suits your needs. While there are some stylistic and performance issues that you may not want to put up with, you can try the app out for free for 30 days to decide if it's worth spending $9.99 to purchase.

Editors' note: This is a review of the trial version of ObjectDock 2.20.

 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+

Results 1–10 of 729

1 stars

"Conflicts with USB SAFELY REMOVE seems to "lock" drives"

February 16, 2015  |  By craig.knapp1

2015-02-16 18:47:17  |  By craig.knapp1

 |  Version: Not Found

Pros

18FEB2015..I had used Object Dock for about a year. It replaced and improved the look of the Windoze Taskbar.

Cons

I always found that Object Dock conflicted with USB SAFELY REMOVE (which allows one to properly "stop" USB drives before disconnecting them from the computer). USB SAFELY REMOVE always reported that OBJECT DOCK had any USB Drive I was attempting to eject "locked", even when selecting FORCE STOP, it could not kill Object Dock.

About a month ago I tried WinStep's Nexus Dock and found that USB SAFELY REMOVE now allows me to eject USB drives with no issues, and my system seems to run faster.

System: Win7, 32Bit, 4GB RAM, 2x 2TB HD, video card 1GB RAM, Quad-core, desktop system.

Summary

Though nice looking, the conflicts with USB SAFELY REMOVE and appearing to be resource intensive, I have switched to WinStep's Nexus Dock.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

2 stars

"Odject Dock Pro"

October 30, 2014  |  By ghost559

2014-10-30 21:43:13  |  By ghost559

 |  Version: Not Found

Pros

No XP support

Cons

Can't create categories

Summary

Rotten company. I payed for the pro version. I use XP. And after that, they dropped XP support. Really. Would it be so hard to add XP support.

Reply to this review Read reply (1)

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

4 stars

"WORKS FINE WITH XP!!!"

February 06, 2014  |  By JimO2005

2014-02-06 07:54:52  |  By JimO2005

 |  Version: Not Found

Pros

I like a clean desktop with minimal icons and neat order.

Cons

Very similar to rk launcher but havent used long enough to find many cons

Summary

I downloaded this without reading min req. As I installed, said it wouldnt work with XP, finished install anyway so I could uninstall but actually it works fine with XP so I'll leave it!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

1 stars

"Worst Dock-tool ever."

December 26, 2013  |  By Lesslog

2013-12-26 14:05:43  |  By Lesslog

 |  Version: Not Found

Pros

Peaceful UI, looks good from a far.

Cons

Isn't a freeware software. It's the same as the other Dock software.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (1)  

3 stars

"Frustrating"

December 04, 2013  |  By retreaded

2013-12-04 14:50:32  |  By retreaded

 |  Version: Not Found

Pros

Looks Cool, Responds well

Cons

Always gets in the way of mouse commands. I know that it is easily hidden, but the double action (hide and then asking if you want to hide, is frustrating when one is in a hurry and busy with a project.
If the dock involved could be slid along to clear the required click command, it would be great.

Summary

It is OK but it is such a pest I have removed it. Cute and decorative, pretty and ornimental, but useless as it is, for serious work.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

1 stars

"no XP, no good."

November 24, 2013  |  By maryann_30

2013-11-24 09:49:37  |  By maryann_30

 |  Version: Not Found

Pros

Used to be good.

Cons

Stardock is not the universe authority. They will not dictate to me when I am going to upgrade to Win7. No one is asking for something they did not have before, they had XP support, but dropped it. So, now we follow.

Summary

Stardock needs to withdraw.

Reply to this review Read reply (1)

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

2 stars

"Stardock dropped XP, so I dropped them."

October 05, 2013  |  By ghost559

2013-10-05 21:08:48  |  By ghost559

 |  Version: Not Found

Pros

Can get to your shortcuts fast.

Cons

Have to quit the dock because it doesn't let videos be seen.

Summary

Good bye Objectdock.

Reply to this review Read reply (1)

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

3 stars

"Crashes A Lot"

July 26, 2013  |  By purplefeen

2013-07-26 07:49:28  |  By purplefeen

 |  Version: Not Found

Pros

Looks great, works for a while

Cons

It slows down your startup considerably and after about 2 months it crashed every time I restarted my computer.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (2)   (1)  

1 stars

"DO NOT INSTALL-Loaded w/Malware, Hijacks search engine"

March 14, 2013  |  By timjaxfl

2013-03-14 19:19:32  |  By timjaxfl

 |  Version: Not Found

Pros

It works OK but I don't want all the malware

Cons

it will take you a while to get rid of it

Summary

0

Reply to this review Read reply (1)

Was this review helpful? (0)   (2)  

3 stars

"Terrible support for paid version; other serious limits"

February 02, 2013  |  By SaipanJill

2013-02-02 12:04:24  |  By SaipanJill

 |  Version: Not Found

Pros

I love the version of this product that runs on the Dell (DellDock?) So I checked out the free, and paid, version for my Lenovo ThinkPad.

Cons

First, the support is practically non-existent.

Second, I write software. I want to run my development exe with different start up values. With tabbed docks, you can group shortcuts into a folder, or group, BUT you can ONLY run 2 short-cuts that refer to the same exe!!! I often want to start 3 or more. This is a serious limitation for me.

Summary

I just asked for my money back (HAH!) and will move on to something else.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

Results 1–10 of 729

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for ObjectDock
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 2.20
Version 2.20:
  • Tabbed docks
  • System tray support
  • Icon reflections
  • Background blur-behind
  • Brand new User Interface and revamped menus;
  • Now displays all running programs in your dock, allowing for pinning & unpinning ("Show Applications" mode);
  • Mouseover effects previously only available
  • Ability to show minimized-windows-only in the dock;
  • Ability to have the dock always on top, but autohide when there is a maximized window (on by default);
  • New weather module with greatly increased reliability and built-in location search;
  • New true-stretch background drawing mode (among other tags) for improved skinnability;
  • New high-quality artist-prepared bundled backgrounds;
  • New icon-transparency setting, with new 'ghost mode';
  • Drastically improved background browser.
General
Publisher Stardock
Publisher web site http://www.stardock.com
Release Date October 28, 2014
Date Added October 28, 2014
Version 2.20
Category
Category Desktop Enhancements
Subcategory Desktop Customization
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Windows 7/8
Additional Requirements None
Download Information
File Size 19.82MB
File Name External File
Popularity
Total Downloads 13,121,965
Downloads Last Week 1,296
Pricing
License Model Free to try
Limitations 30-day trial
Price $9.99
Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +