Your web browser stores copies of the images and text that you see in the cache folder on your hard disk, as well as a list of the sites that you have visited in a history file. And the email you delete may be in the email trash can until you remember to empty it. Anyone can look through these files and see what information you've been looking at on the web (e.g. personal financial information, web site passwords, other private information). Clearing your browser cache isn't enough. Clearing these files won't remove the file contents from the hard drive - it just removes the file name from the directory, leaving the data intact and vulnerable. It can still be recovered. To erase it permanently, use NetShred.
What's new in this version:
- Support for iCab 2, Opera 5, IE 5.1
- Support for shredding IE Download Cache, and more complete shredding of AOL Browser Cache
- A cleaner preferences interface