Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

MyDefrag

Free
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
0
No Rating
Average User Rating:
out of 124 votes out of 31 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    4.3.1
  • Total Downloads:
    117,855
  • Date Added:
    May 21, 2010
  • Price:
    Free

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+
  • Current Version

    4.5

    out of 31 votes

    • 5 star 22
    • 4 star 7
    • 3 star 0
    • 2 star 0
    • 1 star 2
  • All Versions

    4.3

    out of 124 votes

    • 5 star 64
    • 4 star 47
    • 3 star 4
    • 2 star 1
    • 1 star 8
  • My rating

    0 stars

    Write review

Results 1–10 of 31

5 stars

"For a user that cares about their HDD"

October 08, 2015

2015-10-08 22:30:58

 |  Version: MyDefrag 4.3.1

Pros

The ability to create your own scripts (ONLY advanced users should do this)
The default scripts are awesome for regular users
Very detailed mapping of the HDD and what is going on
Scripts are broken down into "zones" and allows specific placement of Windows files for best optimization

Cons

Very few and in between... the default monthly script sorts all files not Windows related by name, which is a bit unnecessary. This can easily be changed with a FastFill() line instead of SortByName(Ascending), that being said you can change the FastFill() in the weekly scripts to FastFill(WithShuffling) for quicker results.

Overall, it's a great program that was well thought out and I wish the site was still up!

Summary

For the advanced user of Windows... it's amazingly easy to create or modify current scripts to your liking, say if you are a gamer and want to bring your games further to the front of the drive, etc.

For the basic user, the default scripts work wonders as they allow more gaps between boot sectors, regularly used programs, and so forth. This means when you have installed new software it won't automatically go to the back of your hard drive making it run slower.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"BEST PROGRAM EVER!!"

June 26, 2015  |  By AnthonyDam

2015-06-26 05:52:42  |  By AnthonyDam

 |  Version: MyDefrag 4.3.1

Pros

It is very thourough. Also you may try the "my defrag optimized scripts" (google it as it is) for better results in my opinion. The only program that actually makes a difference in prigram loading.

Cons

None maybe the gui but don't care. The detailed map of hdd is AWESOME!

Summary

USE IT!!!!! Works flawlessly on win8.1x64

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Lightweight and very thorough"

March 09, 2015

2015-03-09 09:55:08

 |  Version: MyDefrag 4.3.1

Pros

Only defrag program that I've found to completely defragment a HDD on the first attempt. While probably unnecessary, I would have to run other popular defrag programs multiple times to get completely fragmented.

Also defrag's based on how you use the storage device.

Cons

Simple user interface but as long as it gets the job done, that doesn't bother me.

No option to defrag individual files.

Summary

I was a big Defraggler fan until I ran into some issues with the new update. I've tried IObit, Auslogics, and another I'm forgetting the name of. This will be my go to defrag program.

Despite not having been updated in awhile, it works perfectly with Windows 7 and 8/8.1.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"TOTAL LIE-ARRHEA"

December 24, 2013  |  By navelbutton

2013-12-24 07:01:05  |  By navelbutton

 |  Version: MyDefrag 4.3.1

Pros

no pros at all!

Cons

A LOT OF CONS, TOO MANY TO LIST HERE.

Summary

THIS PROGRAM HAS A VIRUS. DO NOT DOWNLOAD IT. E-mail me at jesuschrysler1@live.com

Reply to this review Read reply (1)

Was this review helpful? (0)   (2)  

5 stars

"Great Defrag program, period."

September 04, 2013  |  By Blues22475

2013-09-04 09:45:34  |  By Blues22475

 |  Version: MyDefrag 4.3.1

Pros

Does Defragmenting efficiently and effectively.
Interface is straight-forward and improved for easier access.
Customizable scripts and commands to run for more advanced users.

Cons

The defrag interface (were it shows you everything while defragging) is quite ugly.

Summary

Other than the interface, this program does its job very well. Out of several defragmenter programs I have used in my lifetime, this one is the best (better than Windows' and some others like Auslogic's Defrag).

Have used this on several machines and have had no issues at all. If you don't want to defrag this tool also lets you optimize your Hard Drive.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

5 stars

"The best defragger for Windows (Vista) I've found."

June 02, 2013  |  By seyhall

2013-06-02 16:22:14  |  By seyhall

 |  Version: MyDefrag 4.3.1

Pros

It's fast.
It has a script language for the techies.
It comes with scripts already made for non techies.
It automatically schedules itself to run at 5am.
Disk map is very detailed, and you can zoom in and out.
It's free.

Cons

I wish it wouldn't do just one run. If you stop it or it finishes defragging a disk, you can't then defrag another disk. You have to quit the application and then start it again.

There's no color key in the application.

The gui could be fancier.

Summary

Get it. Install it. It's great. But as always, download only directly from the publisher because the CNet installer is (a) unnecessary, and (b) loaded with toolbars and other foolishness.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (2)   (0)  

5 stars

"Best defrag program PERIOD"

November 02, 2012  |  By creamedcorn

2012-11-02 11:28:07  |  By creamedcorn

 |  Version: MyDefrag 4.3.1

Pros

Fast
Automated
Basic stuff is simple
Fully customizable (via scripts) for advanced users
Scripts
More scripts

Cons

It can't make coffee
It probably makes no difference if you have a solid state drive

Summary

If you are looking for the best program to optimize your hdd performance then this is it. It runs completely off of scripts so you can use the ones it comes with or write your own. For those of us who play games that access the hard drive constantly (i.e. WoW), we can customize the scripts to put those files at the beginning of the drive so that they perform wonderfully, even on a full hard drive. There is documentation on the website so anyone who has done some light programming should feel right at home with writing scripts. This is an absolute must for power users.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

5 stars

"Simply the BEST Defrag Program out there"

May 11, 2012  |  By Zowie2010

2012-05-11 11:11:22  |  By Zowie2010

 |  Version: MyDefrag 4.3.1

Pros

Every other defrag program I've tried defrags the files OK, but leaves them scattered all over your hard drive. Therefore, while 25% of your drive may be "free space", it's contained in thousands of tiny little fragments of free space. This program not only defrags yours files, but gives you nearly unlimited options as to how to reorganize them on your hard drive so you have large, contiguous blocks of free space.

The hard drive map is VERY detailed (see the Con below). However, once you get used to it, it is fantastic to see exactly where your files are located and where the free space is on your hard drive.

You can move your cursor over any portion of your hard drive map, and it tells you the name of the file located in that portion of your hard drive and how many fragments it is divided into.

Cons

The first time you open the GUI, it looks like abstract art. Unlike most defrag programs, it is showing you the status of each and every block and sector of your hard drive.

It would be nice if there were a color key on the screen to remind you what all the color patches mean on your hard drive. You have to go to Help to get this information.

Summary

Download this one and forget the rest!

Reply to this review Read reply (1)

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

5 stars

"Looks aren't everything"

January 24, 2012  |  By spelingchampeon

2012-01-24 14:12:22  |  By spelingchampeon

 |  Version: MyDefrag 4.3.1

Pros

Free. Fast. It seems to do a great job, and what's not to like.

Cons

Haven't found a way to start the program and have it shut down the computer automatically when complete.. but not a big deal.

Summary

This is a basic defrag program that doesn't have the pretty interface. It's almost like running DOS again. The screen looks old, but it's not about the appearance, it's about the job it does.. and it does it very well.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

5 stars

"Best defrag since Norton Speedisk"

January 03, 2012

2012-01-03 06:40:40

 |  Version: MyDefrag 4.3.1

Pros

The only free defrag I've found that will move start-up files to the front of the disk as well as this one, and sorts all files.

Cons

Interface but for free, who's complaining?

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

Results 1–10 of 31

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for MyDefrag
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 4.3.1
Version 4.3.1 adds the Windows "bootstat.dat" file to the build-in list of special exceptions.
General
Publisher Jeroen Kessels
Publisher web site http://www.kessels.com/
Release Date May 21, 2010
Date Added May 21, 2010
Version 4.3.1
Category
Category Utilities & Operating Systems
Subcategory Maintenance & Optimization
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Windows 2000/XP/2003/Vista/Server 2008/7/XP 64-bit
Additional Requirements
Download Information
File Size 1.99MB
File Name MyDefrag-v4.3.1.exe
Popularity
Total Downloads 117,855
Downloads Last Week 11
Pricing
License Model Free
Limitations Not available
Price Free

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +