Malwarebytes Anti-Malware User Reviews

CNET Editors' Rating 4.5 stars

Outstanding

Average User Rating stars

out of 6,048 user reviews

Back to product review

All User Reviews

Results 61-70 of 6044

  • 5.0 stars

    "Still the best when it comes to scanning malware!"

    July 27, 2014  |   By Batchoy2

    Version: Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.0.2.1012

    Pros

    Improved UI
    Easy to use
    Deep detection machine

    Cons

    It takes time to scan.

    Summary

    I still use and recommend Malwarebytes Anti-Malware as a sort of second opinion.

    Until now, it can detect alot of malwares that were not detected by your primary AV. The free version is enough. Just do manual scanning during your spare time.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (1)

  • 4.0 stars

    "Latest free version just as effective, but..."

    July 27, 2014  |   By limited_quartic

    Version: Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.0.2.1012

    Pros

    Fast, very effective virus detection and cleaner. Better than a l lot of paid AV software out there. Always keep as backup and follow up scanner and cleaner to your standard AV software.

    Cons

    New interface sucks and not as intuitive. Everyone seems to be on this Windows 8 look bandwagon, and MWB failed miserably at it. Paid upgrade begs/nags in your face at all times. Seems a bit slower than previous versions, particularly with signature file updates. The full paid version (including real time protection) causes havoc with AV software like Bitdefender.

    Summary

    MWB ruined a good thing, although the software is still very effective at finding and cleaning malware and viruses. Don't recommend the paid version with realtime scanning. It really slows your PC down and causes issues.. particularly with other AV software like Bitdefender. However, I guess if you have the real time version of MWB you shouldn't be running another real time AV, so maybe that was the issue. But they should go back to their earlier UI. This one is horrible.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 4.0 stars

    "New version not free"

    July 25, 2014  |   By richardkat

    Version: Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.0.2.1012

    Pros

    Adequate protection against adware

    Cons

    Seems no free version after trial

    Summary

    I would prefer a reasonable time priced lifetime subscription (3 units)

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 5.0 stars

    "A necessity on my computer."

    July 24, 2014  |   By SaverScriven

    Version: Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.0.2.1012

    Pros

    Conducive to work

    Cons

    Being used,I feel pretty good .

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 5.0 stars

    "Best free utility"

    July 22, 2014  |   By HogenSenft

    Version: Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.0.2.1012

    Pros

    Great tool, no nagging appearance.

    Cons

    No so far !!!!

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 1.0 stars

    "Worst software ever"

    July 19, 2014  |   By arlouette

    Version: Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.0.2.1012

    Pros

    Absolutely nothing

    Cons

    Never actually had a malware problem until after I download this, then I had a lot of issues with malware
    It force restarts computer ALL the time
    It does not run properly
    It doesn't do anything good for my computer

    Summary

    I wouldn't recommend this to anyone, it's horrible. It does absolutely nothing right and screws up your computer. If only I could give it 0 stars.

    Reply to this review Read replies (2)

    Was this review helpful? (0) (4)

  • 1.0 stars

    "does not work on my computer"

    July 18, 2014  |   By earl3400

    Version: Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.0.2.1012

    Pros

    can not find any

    Cons

    will run the program and as the program is running, the Allstate commercial, time Warner, and other ads will be running. when the program is finished, it will say no problem.

    Reply to this review Read reply (1)

    Was this review helpful? (0) (2)

  • 5.0 stars

    "Great product, fast and easy"

    July 15, 2014  |   By BarracloughHazelton

    Version: Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.0.2.1012

    Pros

    Has every useful function

    Cons

    Nothing, its a great program!

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 1.0 stars

    "Awful - a big step backwards"

    July 10, 2014  |   By spartain

    Version: Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.0.2.1012

    Pros

    It detects malware

    Cons

    It always hangs ("not responding") after performing a database update.
    The database update is slow, and much slower than with the previous version.
    The interface is unnecessarily awkward - clearly designed by moronic geeks.
    It often closes down active programs.

    Summary

    Version 1 was good, it was seamless in operation and easy to figure out. However, somy idiotic geeks have clearly been let loose on this and have turned version 2 into an extreme irritant. Are they trying to annoy us people who live outside of the Starship Enterprise?

    One two occasions I had my music creation software (Mixcraft 6) open, as well as Google Chrome, but after I started the scan, they were just terminated - and it was lucky I had only made a small adjustment that I'm able to recreate.

    If this garbage update is not sorted out soon, I'll be removing the whole thing from my computer and move to something else.

    Updated on Jul 28, 2014

    I've now discovered that this V2 won't do a selective scan, eg. on a specific file or folder. Instead it just does a standard scan. Absolutely useless.

    I managed to find a website that provided the older v1.75, but it hangs whenever I tried to update the malware database, which suggests that the developers have shut off the server that feeds v1.75. Terrible. I've taken the whole thing off now and am going to try something else such as Search & Destroy. Malwarebytes can go out of business for all I care, they deserve it.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (1) (0)

  • 5.0 stars

    "Simple and efficient"

    July 10, 2014  |   By ReimanParadis

    Version: Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.0.2.1012

    Pros

    Great interface

    Cons

    Can't thinks of any.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

Results 61-70 of 6044

Add Your Review

Log in or create an account to post a review.
You are logged in as . Please submit your review for Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.1.4.1028
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Submit your reply

Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

cancel

E-mail this review

Submit cancel

Report offensive content

If you believe this comment is offensive or violates the CNET's Site Terms of Use, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the comment). Once reported, our staff will be notified and the comment will be reviewed.

Select type of offense:

Offensive: Sexually explicit or offensive language
Spam: Advertisements or commercial links
Disruptive posting: Flaming or offending other users
Illegal activities: Promote cracked software, or other illegal content
Submit cancel

You must be 13 years of age or older to submit personal information to CNET Networks. In compliance with the Children's Online Privacy Protection Act of 1998, CNET Networks does not accept name and e-mail address information from users who are under 13 years of age.

All submitted ratings and written comments become the sole property of CNET Networks, Inc. (CNET) and may be used at CNET Networks' sole discretion. Ratings and written comments are generally posted within two to four business days in batch groups, not in real time. However, CNET Networks reserves the right to remove or refuse to post any submission for any reason. You acknowledge that you, not CNET Networks, are responsible for the contents of your submission.

CNET Networks is not responsible for the content of the publisher's descriptions or user reviews on this site. We encourage you to determine whether this product or your intended use is legal. We do not encourage or condone the use of any software in violation of applicable laws. CNET Download.com does not sell, resell, or license any of the products listed on the site. We cannot be held liable for issues that arise from the download or use of these products.

Error

close

ERROR MESSAGE

If you think this is an error, please contact CNET TechTracker Support for further assistance.

Ok

Running Request

close

loading

Smart Install Software

close

CNET TechTracker will now automatically install software without requiring further action by you. (Note: This feature automatically accepts associated EULAs and third party applications on your behalf.)

You have selected the following software to Smart Install:

CNET TechTracker will attempt to install this software without interrupting you again. If an application requires manual installation, CNET TechTracker will download the installer and prompt you to take further action.

Proceed with Smart Install?

Confirm Standard Install Cancel