Malwarebytes Anti-Malware User Reviews

CNET Editors' Rating 4.5 stars

Outstanding

Average User Rating stars

out of 6,052 user reviews

Back to product review

All User Reviews

Results 1-10 of 6048

  • 5.0 stars

    "passed new testing done on product."

    April 20, 2015  |   By ChoiceVoice

    Version: Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.1.4.1028

    Pros

    it was put to the test verses iobits malware fighter and came out the uncontested winner. 3 test, all passed.

    http://nosebotpress.blogspot.ca/2015/04/malwarebytes-anti-malware-premium.html

    Cons

    none. its an excellent product. but i wish the lifetime lic was still around.

    Summary

    it hard to find testing done on this class of products. here's a new one where malwarebytes shines.

    http://nosebotpress.blogspot.ca/2015/04/malwarebytes-anti-malware-premium.html

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 5.0 stars

    "Best Malware Fighter Software"

    April 18, 2015  |   By cars3112348051

    Version: Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.1.4.1028

    Pros

    Best Malware Detection/Database
    Fast Scanning,
    Great Fixed/Clean Interface
    Worth Buying For Real-Time Protection (I Have Full Version)
    Great Reviews On Most Certified Websites
    Runs Lightly In Background ( When Purchased )
    Won't Slow Down Computer Or Games.
    Doesn't Advertise Bloatware/Adware Or Junky Software. ( Only Their Software )

    Cons

    On A "SLOWER" PC/Laptop, Computer Might Freeze Up A Little, During Malware Removal. But WILL Still Remove The Malware.

    Summary

    Everyone Should Have This Software!

    The Software Has A VERY Wide Database/Detection-Rate.

    It also catches Adware, Trojan Viruses, And More.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 5.0 stars

    "Lab Tested as the BEST of all of the malware fighters."

    April 15, 2015  |   By fredg06

    Version: Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.1.4.1028

    Pros

    Pcmag.com says this free program "Excellent results in malware removal tests"...gives it a rating of 4.5 out of 5. Pcmag does their own testing of programs.
    Easy to use interface, takes about 2 hrs on my pc for a complete scan. Last time it removed a Trojan in the registry.
    Easy to update the virus definitions, takes a few seconds.

    Cons

    One cannot schedule scans with the free version.,,,but, it's free.

    Summary

    The IOBit Malware Fighter has quite a reputation for not having any good tests performed on it's claims of being the best! Another review mentioned this also.
    Pcmag.com says it has not been tested by independent labs, had a terrible score on their on hands-on malware blocking testing, (1.3 out of 10), and zero-percent protection in malicious URL testing.
    majorgeeks.com says it's very good, but does NOT offer any testing of their own.
    Softpedia.com says it's just another free malware program that does not provide what they claim, by it's own testing.
    Thanks to the person who mentioned part of the above, which got me interested in doing my own research, before downloading IOBit Malware......the wrong one!

    Reply to this review Read reply (1)

    Was this review helpful? (2) (0)

  • 1.0 stars

    "Not for Netbooks"

    April 4, 2015  |   By Wijono

    Version: Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.1.4.1028

    Pros

    Used to work great in the previous versions.

    Cons

    Version 2.1.4 requires 1024x768 or greater screen resolution, meaning many netbook with screen resolution of 1024x600 will not be able to update to this latest version, SAD!!!

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (1)

  • 5.0 stars

    "MY NUMBER ONE FOR SECURITY."

    March 18, 2015  |   By QuentinTarantino

    Version: Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.0.4.1028

    Pros

    Detects everything for me.Easy to use, nice interface. Sits there doing its job protecting.I have the pro version.

    Cons

    Nothing much just high in cpu usage.
    mbam.exe 209,220K
    mbam service 91,644K
    mbamschedule 2,300K

    Summary

    Great security, catches everything (for myself)
    laptop can get slowed down sometimes, but its worth it for solid protection.
    All in all the best AntiMalware tool.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 5.0 stars

    "Worked Great! Easy to download and use!"

    March 12, 2015  |   By A2Skater

    Version: Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.0.4.1028

    Pros

    I am not computer saavy at all. I have been using Kaspersky for 2 years because it came with my computer. Kaspersky detected 2 malware files recently but it wouldn't fix them. I'd click on "fix" and nothing would happen. I decided to look for a better program. I read about Malwarebytes on this website along with information on other programs but thought this would do the trick and it did! I found 3 malware files and 82 other items that need addressing! It was easy to down load and with just a click and reboot my computer was running fantastic! I am not computer saavy and this was super easy to use and understand and FREE! I will be purchasing the Premium version for the other computers in our home.

    Cons

    None that I have come across.

    Summary

    Great program! Got rid of all my malware. Easy to use and Free!

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 5.0 stars

    "Works like a champ !"

    March 8, 2015  |   By cracker57

    Version: Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.0.4.1028

    Pros

    Bought a new acer touch screen. Tried to download an app from app store that was installed on pc with purchase and got a bug that froze internet explorer from the live tile home screen. Called Microsoft support and they wanted to charge me $99 to fix one time even though the virus came through their software. Called acer support and they had me wipe and restore pc to factory settings making me go through entire setup again. This fixed the problem ..... for two days when the virus resurfaced. I downloaded malewarebytes with free trial of pay version. Easy installation. Ran the scan and it quarantined the virus, I deleted the virus and now Binkiland search with it's malware are gone . THANK YOU Malewarebytes !!! Based on my limited experience I would highly recommend . It was easy to install and use. It did what it said it would do!! Great product !!!!

    Cons

    No cons, it did what it was supposed to.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (1) (0)

  • 1.0 stars

    "Malwarebytes Froze My Computer"

    March 5, 2015  |   By richard3332

    Version: Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.0.4.1028

    Pros

    None whatsoever.

    Cons

    The first time I ran a scan with Malwarebytes, it froze my computer. I rebooted and my computer didn't detect the hard drive. I thought my new drive was defective and even applied for an RMA. I turned off the computer, turned it on, and the drive worked. I ran chkdsk and Data Life Guard, which confirmed the hard drive was OK. I ran a second scan and it froze again. If you ask Malwarebytes help desk for assistance, they give you a long list of troubleshooting tips to fix it, which doesn't always work. The software is worthless.

    Summary

    The software is worthless. And make sure you cancel your auto-renewal, because they'll charge you every year if you don't.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (3)

  • 2.0 stars

    "meh, It works great but interface sucks"

    February 27, 2015  |   By mrobinsonjr

    Version: Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.0.4.1028

    Pros

    I used the 2.x version and I didn't like it so I downgraded to the 1.75 version.
    It works great for removing malware from your computer.

    Cons

    1. 2.x interface sucks and looks to "fake" with the Fix Now button. (just my opinion though)
    2. Subscription service sucks too. I got mine when It was a lifetime license. I think Malwarebytes got money hungry and switched to the subscription model instead of the lifetime.

    Summary

    Until Malwarebytes ditches the Subscription model and goes back to lifetime they will not see a five star rating from me.

    I will however update this when the 3.x version arrives....

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (1) (0)

  • 5.0 stars

    "Save my laptop"

    February 18, 2015  |   By moosekrause

    Version: Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.0.4.1028

    Pros

    Was very easy to use. Worked great and fixed my issue.

    Cons

    Really haven't had any issues.

    Summary

    My father-in-laws laptop was acting up and had some sort of browser redirector. I tried AdwCleaner, Trend Housecall and YAC, no of which could get rid of. Finally installed Malware Bytes and success. The malicious malware is gone, it found a bunch of other stuff and the laptop has been resurrected from the dead :)

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (2) (0)

Results 1-10 of 6048

Add Your Review

Log in or create an account to post a review.
You are logged in as . Please submit your review for Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.1.6.1022
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Submit your reply

Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

cancel

E-mail this review

Submit cancel

Report offensive content

If you believe this comment is offensive or violates the CNET's Site Terms of Use, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the comment). Once reported, our staff will be notified and the comment will be reviewed.

Select type of offense:

Offensive: Sexually explicit or offensive language
Spam: Advertisements or commercial links
Disruptive posting: Flaming or offending other users
Illegal activities: Promote cracked software, or other illegal content
Submit cancel

You must be 13 years of age or older to submit personal information to CNET Networks. In compliance with the Children's Online Privacy Protection Act of 1998, CNET Networks does not accept name and e-mail address information from users who are under 13 years of age.

All submitted ratings and written comments become the sole property of CNET Networks, Inc. (CNET) and may be used at CNET Networks' sole discretion. Ratings and written comments are generally posted within two to four business days in batch groups, not in real time. However, CNET Networks reserves the right to remove or refuse to post any submission for any reason. You acknowledge that you, not CNET Networks, are responsible for the contents of your submission.

CNET Networks is not responsible for the content of the publisher's descriptions or user reviews on this site. We encourage you to determine whether this product or your intended use is legal. We do not encourage or condone the use of any software in violation of applicable laws. CNET Download.com does not sell, resell, or license any of the products listed on the site. We cannot be held liable for issues that arise from the download or use of these products.

Error

close

ERROR MESSAGE

If you think this is an error, please contact CNET TechTracker Support for further assistance.

Ok

Running Request

close

loading

Smart Install Software

close

CNET TechTracker will now automatically install software without requiring further action by you. (Note: This feature automatically accepts associated EULAs and third party applications on your behalf.)

You have selected the following software to Smart Install:

CNET TechTracker will attempt to install this software without interrupting you again. If an application requires manual installation, CNET TechTracker will download the installer and prompt you to take further action.

Proceed with Smart Install?

Confirm Standard Install Cancel