Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

KeyCue for Mac

$20.99
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
Average
Average User Rating:
out of 19 votes out of 0 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    8.1
  • Total Downloads:
    5,811
  • Date Added:
    Jul. 06, 2016
  • Price:
    Free to try (Registration Reminder); $20.99 to buy (Buy it now)
  • File Size:
    5.11MB
  • Downloads Last Week:
    2
  • Platform:
    Mac

Editors' Review

+

Research has shown that frequent use of a computer mouse may contribute to repetitive motion injuries. KeyCue for Mac claims to teach users how to replace the mouse with keyboard shortcuts, but its limited functionality and its price make it less useful than it could have been.

A 30-day free trial version of KeyCue for Mac is available, but it costs $29.99 for the full version. The program downloads quickly but despite having its own installer, proved difficult to set up. We had to try the installation several times due to the program claiming it could not install while it was open. This was a strange error since the installer was the only version of it running at the time. In addition to having to activate keyboard assist in the control panel, the program prompts the user to sign in to all network computers not only during the installation, but throughout its operation. Ergonis Software offers support by e-mail, but we didn't try this. As for the program itself, the only evidence that it was running was a small icon at the top of the Mac screen. Clicking the icon brought up a keyboard shortcut list, but any additional functions were not obvious. Instructions would have been helpful since any additional features were not apparent from cycling through the options.

While KeyCue for Mac lists keyboard shortcuts in an easy-to-see way, its full version price and failure to provide additional features make it less attractive.

Editors' note: This is a review of the trial version of KeyCue for Mac 6.4.

 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+

Results 1–10 of 19

5 stars

"Ergonis is does it again. ? thank you."

April 22, 2015

2015-04-22 02:58:00

 |  Version: KeyCue 7.5

Pros

Fast
Convenient
Seamless integration with Yosemite.
Extremely helpful, especially for apps lacking keyboard shortcuts

Cons

None in my experience with the product.

Summary

Thank you for the recent update of Keycue. I appreciate your due diligence to improve an already great product. I use an audio editing app that has very few shortcuts. To activate commands requires the use of mouse and pull down menu actions. Using KeyCue, I have assigned shortcuts to my most commonly used commands. Now, I have a program that works at my speed. This is probably an obvious use for your product but it has really helped me in my work as an audio editor for my church.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"KeyCue has always worked well, now it even looks good."

October 10, 2013  |  By frankdalian

2013-10-10 18:05:02  |  By frankdalian

 |  Version: KeyCue 7.0

Pros

It works exactly as it is supposed to, and doesn't get in the way when it's not needed.

Cons

None that I have found.

Summary

I have been using KeyCue since it was born, way back in 2004. I have been pleased with is since then and am just as pleased with KeyCue 7.0.

Software that just works. A nice slogan and true.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Best Solution for Learning Shortcut Keys"

September 11, 2013  |  By se1961

2013-09-11 16:18:47  |  By se1961

 |  Version: KeyCue 6.6

Pros

Full featured, flexible

Cons

A little cluttered, a little pricey

Summary

I'm not sure why the CNET review is so tepid. I think this is by far the more flexible shortcut key manager/hint file that I have come across. As a long time windows user struggling with the transition to a completely different keyboard/ecosystem, I find it invaluable, and well worth the somewhat high price. Better than a reference book, and much more likely to teach me how to use the keys.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Great small utility app!"

June 20, 2012  |  By canadaalberta

2012-06-20 09:13:29  |  By canadaalberta

 |  Version: KeyCue 6.1

Pros

Quick, complete, and very useful overview of all shortcuts for an app, beautifully visualized in a grid format. Perfect for learning and choosing keyboard shortcuts.

Cons

None. Really works well.

Summary

Using it daily for years and still loving it.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Another Great Ergonis Product"

April 11, 2012  |  By tostoba

2012-04-11 14:24:16  |  By tostoba

 |  Version: KeyCue 6.1

Pros

Great product.
Easy to use.
Works in the background.
Easy updates, and low pricing.

Cons

None. The program works as expected

Summary

KeyCue 6.1 is the most recent addition to my stable of Ergonis products, and there is no doubt the quality of this latest update is superior. I am thoroughly impressed by the clean interface, smooth execution of commands, and the ease of updating that has long characterized this company's efforts to stay on the cutting edge of constantly evolving technology.

What I like best about the products is their seamless integration with Mac OS X, and the careful attention paid to the need for them to function correctly, and work in the background thus eliminating the need to "activate" them in any complicated manner.

Kudos to the design team. You have outdone yourselves in this version. But, more importantly, the ease with which your company provides updates coupled with the low cost, makes it #1 on my list of preferred software companies. Congratulations!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"This should come with the MacOS"

February 12, 2011  |  By _nashyo_

2011-02-12 03:49:12  |  By _nashyo_

 |  Version: KeyCue 5.2

Pros

It's essential to understand the keyboard shortcuts, provided by MacOS. This provides you with all you need to know in one press of a button.

Cons

None. None at all.

Summary

Everyone should have this as a log in item. I no longer need to STUDY the plethora of the keyboard shortcuts available in MacOS. If i'm curious about what keyboard action can be used, at any one time, in any particular dialogue box, I can call up a complete list of actions, by holding down a key (that I can pre-assign). No studying needed!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Keyboard Shortcuts, on call, right at your fingertips."

February 03, 2011  |  By Jim Cole

2011-02-03 16:14:56  |  By Jim Cole

 |  Version: KeyCue 5.2

Pros

Works with any Mac program, no more 'menu hunting'; no need to memorize. Unobtrusive, well supported, fills a unique niche.

Cons

None that I know of.

Summary

Quite possibly, KeyCue may be an app you never knew you had a need for. Keyboard shortcuts have been with us since the beginning, but no one ever addressed cataloging, organizing and accessing them in such an easy manner as does KeyCue. It makes every keyboard shortcut available to you, in the front-most app, with the press of a button. You may not have initiated a search for a utility that does what KeyCue does, but after using it, you'll probably wonder how you lived without it.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

3 stars

"Occasionally useful"

December 07, 2010  |  By pbrooks1

2010-12-07 06:28:30  |  By pbrooks1

 |  Version: KeyCue 5.2

Pros

Worth the low cost because it can be extremely helpful.

Cons

Very erratic - sometimes just will not work at all for no apparent reason. It usually manages to fail just when I need it most. It has got better at responding at each new version, but still fails sometimes.

Summary

Apart from sometimes not responding when called up, at other times, if you hold down the Option key a mite too long while executing an action, it pops up and gets in the way momentarily - but that is not really its fault. Nevertheless can be very useful from time to time or when learning a new program. Worth the money.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

5 stars

"A Perfect addition to your Mac"

October 02, 2010  |  By FLASH1296

2010-10-02 06:25:41  |  By FLASH1296

 |  Version: KeyCue 5.1

Pros

It works perfectly, and using Key Commands is soooo much better than using your mouse.

Cons

no "cons" whatsoever.

Summary

This is especially useful for Mac noobies.
I have recommended this to several people new to Macs.
They have ALL thanked me.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"KeyCue Helps Me a Lot"

December 02, 2009  |  By Karyl

2009-12-02 15:39:53  |  By Karyl

 |  Version: KeyCue 4.5

Summary

This review was originally posted on VersionTracker.com.
I have had KeyCue for many years. It has saved me a lot of time and frustration, especially since I can't remember all of the key combinations for the shortcuts just in the Finder itself. With the third-party add-ons and programs that I use, I still find that KeyCue is a great help, and it is nice that all I have to do is press and hold just one key.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

Results 1–10 of 19

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for KeyCue
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 8.1
  • Integration with Typinator: KeyCue can now show items from Typinator sets and invoke them with a click (requires Typinator 6.9 or newer).
  • Restores the "walking line" feedback during menu scanning.
  • KeyCue now ignores Keyboard Maestro and iKey macro groups whose names end with a minus sign.
  • Improves readability of the "kind" pop-up in the Custom list.
  • Improved technique for locating the configuration file for the URL collection now supports aliases.
  • When a new version is available, the message in the Preferences window now also informs about the current version.
  • Fixes an installation problem during an update when the previous version had been moved to the trash.
  • Fixes a truncated button label in the German localization of the Settings window.
  • Fixes a problem that caused display of incorrect modifier keys in the pop-up menu for custom shortcuts.
  • Works around an incompatibility with Reaper.
  • Fixes
General
Publisher Ergonis software
Publisher web site http://www.ergonis.com/
Release Date July 06, 2016
Date Added July 06, 2016
Version 8.1
Category
Category Desktop Enhancements
Subcategory Desktop Customization
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Mac OS X 10.10/10.11/10.6/10.7/10.8/10.9
Additional Requirements None
Download Information
File Size 5.11MB
File Name KeyCue81-Install.dmg
Popularity
Total Downloads 5,811
Downloads Last Week 2
Pricing
License Model Free to try
Limitations Registration Reminder
Price $20.99

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +

More Products to Consider

Close[x]

Submit a problem report for KeyCue

Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.

Problem:

The Download.com Installer isn't working as expected

The download link does not work

The software has a newer version

The product contains malicious software

Other

Description:

Please select a feedback type.

Please enter a description.

Submit Problem Report

Close[x]

Problem Report submitted

Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.

OK