• Navigation
  • open search






Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
Average User Rating:
out of 83 votes out of 4 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
  • Total Downloads:
  • Date Added:
    Mar. 12, 2015
  • Price:

Editors' Review


Inkscape creates, converts, and edits images, applies filters and effects, and packs a host of brushes, stamps, templates, and tools. Inkscape can manage and modify layers, paths, and extensions, and its Help menu includes a manual, tutorials, FAQs, a Command Line option, and many more resources, not to mention the support and regular updates typical of open source projects.


Open source freeware: Developers and enthusiasts donate their time to keep Inkscape free and at the cutting edge of features and performance.

Layout: Inkscape's user interface has a familiar look, but it's not a Photoshop clone. For example, the scrolling spectral line (with color numbers) and axis display in the bottom panel not only set Inkscape's layout apart from Photoshop's but also improve upon it.

Extras: Inkscape has interesting features around every corner, like an XML Editor, input device configuration, and bitmap copies.


Not quite Photoshop: Inkscape is an impressive app that performs superbly, but it can't quite match Photoshop and similar software in features and extras.

Bottom Line

Inkscape is a strong performer, packed with features and extras, supported by a dedicated community, and totally free.

read more +

Publisher's Description

read more +
User Reviews

Results 1–4 of 4

1 stars


March 11, 2016  |  By foosball626

2016-03-11 21:10:10  |  By foosball626

 |  Version: Inkscape 0.91


Never crashed for me.


I found it slow and unintuitive. Just zooming in and out is confusing! Pick the zoom tool, draw a rectangle, and it zooms in. OK. Now draw the rectangle the other way and ... it still zooms in. Alright, whatever. When I hold down shift, the zoom icon changes from a + to a -. Well, obviously now it's going to zoom o... er, in? I guess? Are you kidding me!

Loading moderately-sized images, panning and zooming are all noticeably slow (on a newish 4 core laptop).

I had a rectangular image of a hat on a white background and wanted to make it into a hat-shaped image. I'm certainly not experienced at image editing, but I've done this sort of think in Photoshop before without any help. I looked at every tool, every menu option and went through every tutorial. Then I looked in the web. 30 minutes in all, but no luck. Forget it.


Don't use if you can avoid it.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"crashes when selecting preferences in print dialog"

December 29, 2015  |  By bruce shand

2015-12-29 08:44:54  |  By bruce shand

 |  Version: Inkscape 0.91


I didn't explore using the program because of the serious flaw noted in cons.


Crashes when selecting preferences in print dialog. That's it. So I uninstalled it.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

2 stars

"Decent for free program, otherwise avoid if possible"

April 08, 2015  |  By Lauren Tom

2015-04-08 19:45:15  |  By Lauren Tom

 |  Version: Inkscape 0.91


I downloaded this for a design project after unable to access adobe illustrator. I can only come up with one advantage: Inkscape is user-friendly and easy to pick up.


After being relatively comfortable with using illustrator, Inkscape seems lacking (even if it is free).
Not enough tools - eg. you cannot stretch and manipulate objects at all
It seems 'medieval' compared to other programs out there.


Not worth it, don't bother downloading.

Reply to this review Read reply (1)

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

4 stars

"ALMOST awesome"

March 21, 2015  |  By YupHiThere

2015-03-21 13:51:07  |  By YupHiThere

 |  Version: Inkscape 0.91


Does a lot

-Saves to PDF
-Opens PDF
-Can export PNG
-Convert a line drawing to an editable path


-I can't see the sublayers...I don't think this is an option
-All exports, even to PDF with 300 dpi...Appears jagged...I am utterly disappointed by that. Otherwise it works beautifully
-More manual and less user friendly, but getting used to it, in some ways I appreciated the layout of where everything is


It's okay to work with if you want to make a quick vector and looks best on smaller sizes. But it doesn't export well...

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

Results 1–4 of 4

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for Inkscape
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

see all reviews +

Full Specifications

What's new in version 0.91
Version 0.91 adds Cairo rendering for display and PNG export, OpenMP multithreading for all filters, C++ code conversion, major improvements in the Text tool, Measure tool.
Publisher Inkscape
Publisher web site
Release Date March 12, 2015
Date Added March 12, 2015
Version 0.91
Category Graphic Design Software
Subcategory Desktop Publishing Software
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Windows 98/Me/NT/2000/XP/Vista/7
Additional Requirements None
Download Information
File Size 81.7MB
File Name inkscape-0.91.msi
Total Downloads 307,551
Downloads Last Week 327
License Model Free
Limitations Not available
Price Free

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
read more +

Submit a problem report for Inkscape

Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.


The Installer isn't working as expected

The download link does not work

The software has a newer version

The product contains malicious software



Please select a feedback type.

Please enter a description.

Submit Problem Report


Problem Report submitted

Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.