IZArc


Editors' Rating:
5
Spectacular
Average User Rating:
3.7
out of 225 votes
See all user reviews

Quick Specs

Version:
4.1.8
File Size:
5.23MB
Date Added:
July 05, 2013
Price:
Free
Operating Systems:
Windows 2000/XP/2003/Vista/7/8
Total Downloads:
2,133,623
Downloads Last Week:
678
Product ranking:
Additional Requirements:
Not available

Editors' review

IZArc modestly bills itself as the ultimate archiving utility--we're not so sure about that "ultimate" bit. Nevertheless, IZArc is definitely one of the best archiving utilities out there. Compatible with a huge number of archive formats, all the major are represented, as well as 7z (from 7-Zip), ISO, BH (Black Hole), and TAR, among others. It can create archives for many of the formats it can read, too, including 7z and TAR. It doesn't, however, create GZ archives.

IZArc supports archive encryption as well. AES 128-, 192-, and 256-bit encoding and PKZip 2.0 both are available. The app offers a reasonable range of context-menu options in Explorer, although not as many as some of its competitors. The user interface is more similar to WinZip's than some other alternative archivers, with big, obnoxiously colored icons making it clear to everybody and their dog just which buttons do what--not that that's a bad thing. Overall, IZArc is an excellent example of a third-party publisher supporting multiple formats and options under one roof--but it's not the only option out there.

Publisher's Description

Screenshots

More Products to Consider

All User Reviews
  • All Versions:

    3.7

    out of 225 votes

    • 5 star: 103
    • 4 star: 57
    • 3 star: 12
    • 2 star: 4
    • 1 star: 49
  • Current Version:

    1.0

    out of 22 votes

    • 5 star: 0
    • 4 star: 0
    • 3 star: 0
    • 2 star: 0
    • 1 star: 22
  • My rating:

    0 stars

    Write review

    Results 1-10 of 22

  • 1 stars

    "No longer free from junkware"

    July 24, 2014

    Version: IZArc 4.1.8

    Pros

    The program itself is reliable and easy to use and until recently was my preferred compression software.

    Cons

    You can no longer install izarc without being required to install some kind of junkware. There used to be the ability the opt-out, but now you have to agree to pollute your PC with junk in order to use the software.

    Summary

    With other tools available such as 7-Zip that do not require you to install junkware, izarc has rendered itself irrelevant.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 1 stars

    "they are liars!"

    June 27, 2014   |   By ShaiNeSioM

    Version: IZArc 4.1.8

    Pros

    It works...

    Cons

    On there site you can read "All products are 100% virus free and they don't contain any spyware or adware", but if you install it you have to agree with installing useless adware/malware/spyware and there is no option to install Izarc without this crap.

    They call it a "special offer as a part of the software installation you also can get", but you have to agree with the installation to install Izarc. Dickheads!

    Summary

    Download 7-zip!

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 1 stars

    "SW good, but now required to load additional SPAM"

    June 21, 2014   |   By mvonahnen

    Version: IZArc 4.1.8

    Pros

    IzARC is a good program, but don't download it from here.

    Cons

    This particular title will not install without additional SPAMware. Don't download it from here.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 1 stars

    "BEWARE OF MALWARE - THIS IS BAD STUFF"

    June 12, 2014   |   By pityadd

    Version: IZArc 4.1.8

    Pros

    none because it won't let you install if you don't want Trovi's malware. Don't do it or you will have to scrub your computer.

    Cons

    Won't let you install if you don't want Trovi's malware.

    Summary

    WHY IS CNET supporting the distribution of malware? I come here for SAFE downloads, but CNET is giving infectious downloads now. ARGH.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 1 stars

    "laden with viruses and addware"

    June 07, 2014   |   By AlexABrooks

    Version: IZArc 4.1.8

    Pros

    i hear its a good product

    Cons

    forses you to download search protect and many other programs as you agree to download it and you cant opt out

    Summary

    if theres a way to download the older versions from somwehere thats not their webcite that would be great because the older versions dont have the addware in them

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 1 stars

    "Automatic Virus is now included, BEWARE"

    June 01, 2014   |   By kurtedward48

    Version: IZArc 4.1.8

    Pros

    it used to be free, now it is a pain in the but with all of its crap-ware that is included. WHY?????

    Cons

    I don't like Download.com installer program either. GET RID OF IT!

    Summary

    I have used this program for years without any issues not the creators decided to force you to be infected with the Trovi search engine VIRUS, even when un-checking the installer, it still is installed. After running ADWcleaner the VIRUS came back. Now how does DOWNLOAD.com allow this kind of program to be available to its users. I will have second thought about ever downloading anything from this site again. STAY AWAY

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 1 stars

    "Loaded with malware"

    May 24, 2014   |   By fwphillips

    Version: IZArc 4.1.8

    Pros

    Used to be great.

    Cons

    Adware and junk that you can't opt out of and is very difficult to get rid of.

    Summary

    As others have stated, this used to be one of the best programs around. The new version, however, installs all kinds of garbage with no way to opt out during installation. The things that are installed root themselves deep in your system and it takes a great deal of time and frustration to actually get rid of them. Save yourself time and aggravation and find another program.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 1 stars

    "this software maker has gone malicious"

    March 29, 2014   |   By PeterPeilunZhu

    Version: IZArc 4.1.8

    Pros

    used to be a fine freeware, but now don't use it

    Cons

    This so software used to be fine free one, but now the new version hangs during installation and installed adware that can't be uninstalled. along with a few removable ones.
    It's worthless as a freeware by now.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 1 stars

    "4.1.8 CONTAINS MALWARE AND BLOATWARE - 4.1.6 DOES NOT"

    February 19, 2014   |   By Qualin74

    Version: IZArc 4.1.8

    Pros

    This is an excellent file archiver. Very easy to use, works with a wide variety of formats, extracts quickly and does exactly what it is supposed to do, provided that you install version 4.1.6 or older.

    IZArc was written so well and it is so bug free that I donated $20 to the developer and complimented them on their hard work.

    Cons

    Versions 4.1.7 and 4.1.8 contain an installer which installs all kinds of extra crap which Sophos Anti-Virus triggers on. You cannot opt out, it will not install the product unless you opt in. This installer includes OpenCandy and SomotoBetterInstaller. These installers push out programs by a third party which can contain malware, such as password keyloggers, toolbars which can slow down your browser and hidden programs which run in the background which will violate your privacy.

    So, please... do NOT download any version of IZArc newer than 4.1.6 and do NOT download the installer directly from the IZArc website. It simply isn't worth it.

    Summary

    Fantastic piece of software before they decided to let OpenCandy ruin it. The older versions work very well.

    Reply to this review Read reply (1)

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 1 stars

    "Used to be great! I'd used it for years.... Stay clear!"

    January 23, 2014   |   By olegranny48

    Version: IZArc 4.1.8

    Pros

    New version? Non what-so-ever

    Cons

    As previously stated, now packed with a bunch of garbage that you can't opt out of. When I went to update to the latest version because I liked the program so much, I was hit with a window that would install unwanted programs, toolbars etc on my computer - with no way to opt-out! I stopped right there and never installed the update.

    Summary

    What was once an exceptional program has gone to Hades in a hand basket... I don't like a program forcing me to install malware on my computer to get the exceptional program. I'm still using the old version of IZArc, but I am searching for a different program that won't force me into installing malware and then IZArc will be history. It's a shame - the old version was a wonderful program. I would not recommend anybody installing this new version but especially computer newbies who would have no idea what they were getting themselves into.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • Results 1-10 of 22

Add Your Review

Quickly sign in with: or Login or create an account to post a review.
You are logged in as . Please submit your review for IZArc
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update your review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Previous Versions:

Close[x]

Submit a problem report for IZArc

Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.

Problem:

The Download.com Installer isn't working as expected

The download link does not work

The software has a newer version

The product contains malicious software

Other

Description:

Please select a feedback type.

Please enter a description.

Submit Problem Report

Close[x]

Problem Report submitted

Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.

OK