Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

Free Sound Recorder

Free
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
Good
Average User Rating:
out of 718 votes out of 0 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    10.8.1
  • Total Downloads:
    2,684,050
  • Date Added:
    Jul. 29, 2016
  • Price:
    Free

Editors' Review

+

The Sound Recorder that comes with Windows will capture the audio stream and save it as a WAV you can edit or convert later on. But there's room for improvement, and there are more than a few choices, when it comes to recording digital audio with your PC. It's possible to spend staggering amounts of money on pro audio suites that really don't handle most users' needs any better than Free Sound Recorder by CoolRecordEdit. Like the Windows tool, it records whatever your sound card is processing, but Free Sound Recorder adds scheduling, more output formats, hot keys, and some unique extras. Several premium upgrade levels are available if you need still more.

Free Sound Recorder's interface resembles a media player, and in fact it is one, at least in part. A set of media player controls beneath the Files List addresses one of the most serious shortcomings of many versions of the Windows tool: the inability to play back recordings. The recording controls, two-channel level display, and counter also give Free Sound Recorder that "music" look. Clicking Options opened a tabbed dialog box that let us choose to save files as MP3s, WMAs, WAVs, or Ogg files. There's a useful option to create file names based on the date and time; it's selected by default. Hot key and Schedule settings are fairly standard, but the Automatic Gain Control certainly isn't. This feature can limit the High Level, Low Level, and Attack Time of recordings when the source is too loud, too soft, or too dynamic, producing a more even sound. The Voice Active System let us set the threshold for reading sound levels as silence to accommodate clean high-quality audio or noisy recordings. It's not as complicated as it sounds, as we found when we clicked links labeled "What Is This?" that open the program's clear, comprehensive Help file on the appropriate pages. The Files List and Mixer panels can be minimized.

We've made digital recordings of many LPs as well as live audio and other sources, and Free Sound Recorder is a definite upgrade in quality, capability, and convenience over the built-in Windows tool.

 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+

Results 1–10 of 713

5 stars

"It's a practical tools"

February 22, 2016  |  By ChecaPenney

2016-02-22 18:44:18  |  By ChecaPenney

 |  Version: Not Found

Pros

Really suitable, provided me with a lot of help, a lot of problems to solve.

Cons

Well, nothing to be said

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"A very good product, try it"

January 04, 2016  |  By MajMorris

2016-01-04 00:38:31  |  By MajMorris

 |  Version: Not Found

Pros

Really easy to use even for beginner like me does what you want!

Cons

Nothing, its a great program!

Summary

It's easy to use and lots of fun.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"Stay away!!!"

January 01, 2016  |  By BenSud

2016-01-01 03:41:20  |  By BenSud

 |  Version: Not Found

Pros

None, it didn't work for me.

Cons

It installs other unknown crap on your computer, and changes browser settings!

Summary

For recording streaming audio, instead I bought "i-sound", made a b y s s m e d i a . c o m. A demo is available to try it first, and for me it worked instantly, the correct settings were automatically set! All I had to do was hit "record"!

Reply to this review Read reply (1)

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Practical software, and I like it!"

December 02, 2015  |  By BeebeMaye

2015-12-02 17:55:25  |  By BeebeMaye

 |  Version: Not Found

Pros

Great Capabilities. An almost magical program to record, adjust, change and correct audio files. Support for the program is strong.

Cons

There are some flaws, but I think it's a fine piece of work.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"Don't download - Full of spyware"

December 01, 2015  |  By brainyguy9999

2015-12-01 08:37:33  |  By brainyguy9999

 |  Version: Not Found

Pros

Didn't use it.

Cons

Antivirus went nuts trying to install due to virus/spyware. Do not download.

Summary

Do not download or install. Full of spyware.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

4 stars

"Very easy to use!"

September 19, 2015  |  By Williams242424

2015-09-19 01:22:51  |  By Williams242424

 |  Version: Not Found

Pros

Setup was quick and easy.

Cons

Not really any I can tell.

Summary

Excellent sound I used it to record a audio track with a usb microphone on my page. You can hear for yourself how it sounds.
http://www.martelelectronics.com/elite-court-reporter-usb-microphone-hgm-usb/

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Excellent audio recorder."

August 13, 2015  |  By ReserWarmington

2015-08-13 23:46:33  |  By ReserWarmington

 |  Version: Not Found

Pros

It's easy to learn and easy to use. As a matter of fact, I'm using it right now in another window to preview music to cut samples out of. I use this program every day.

Cons

Nothing
Nothing

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

2 stars

"Don't do update!!"

July 30, 2015  |  By pacollins

2015-07-30 08:01:24  |  By pacollins

 |  Version: Not Found

Pros

Works good on the original version. Free?

Cons

It's was working good until it kept asking me if I wanted to update to the latest version. I did and that's all the bells and whistles when off on my anti virus software. It dumped all kinds of crap on my computer. Some that is hidden and not in uninstall program in the control panel. I had to seek it out and get rid of it with superantispyware software also on download.com.

Summary

They shouldn't say free if you have to spent several hours getting your system free of adware and viruses.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

5 stars

"Maravilhoso."

June 06, 2015  |  By zedeavila

2015-06-06 05:32:17  |  By zedeavila

 |  Version: Not Found

Pros

Muito bom mesmo. Recomendo.

Cons

Sem nada contra.

Summary

Muito fácil de instalar e de operar. Simples e objetivo. Sem virus.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Very User friendly"

April 08, 2015  |  By neolithicfgnf

2015-04-08 19:27:27  |  By neolithicfgnf

 |  Version: Not Found

Pros

easy to use

Cons

Did not find one!

Summary

This is an easy to use,fast piece of software that installs easily.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

Results 1–10 of 713

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for Free Sound Recorder
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 10.8.1
Version 10.8.1 may include unspecified updates, enhancements, or bug fixes.
General
Publisher CoolRecordEdit
Publisher web site http://coolrecordedit.com
Release Date July 01, 2016
Date Added July 29, 2016
Version 10.8.1
Category
Category MP3 & Audio Software
Subcategory Audio Production & Recording Software
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Windows 2000/XP/2003/Vista/Server 2008/7/8/10
Additional Requirements None
Download Information
File Size 11.47MB
File Name External File
Popularity
Total Downloads 2,684,050
Downloads Last Week 1,982
Pricing
License Model Free
Limitations Not available
Price Free
Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +
Close[x]

Submit a problem report for Free Sound Recorder

Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.

Problem:

The Download.com Installer isn't working as expected

The download link does not work

The software has a newer version

The product contains malicious software

Other

Description:

Please select a feedback type.

Please enter a description.

Submit Problem Report

Close[x]

Problem Report submitted

Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.

OK