Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

Free Download Manager

Free
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
Very good
Average User Rating:
out of 912 votes out of 1 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    5.1.17.4597
  • Total Downloads:
    7,050,091
  • Date Added:
    Sep. 07, 2016
  • Price:
    Free
  • File Size:
    47.22MB
  • Downloads Last Week:
    2,467
  • Platform:
    Windows
  • Product ranking:

Editors' Review

+

Free Download Manager helps you download all kinds of files from various sites. It can handle multiple downloads simultaneously.

Pros

Interface organization: Free Download Manager features a tabbed interface that lets you move between various categories of downloaded files with ease and find the type of file you're looking for quickly. These include Downloads, Flash Video Downloads, and Torrents. There are also tabs for the Scheduler, Site Manager, and HTML Spider.

Community input: When you enter the URL for a file you want to download, there is a button you can click to see if anyone in the user community has reported the file as malicious. This can help you keep dangerous files off your computer, and you can contribute to the community as well by flagging any files you have trouble with.

Cons

Locating downloads: When you download a file through Free Download Manager, it can be difficult to find on your computer. Despite the fact that the app indicates that it will send the file to the Downloads folder, we repeatedly had trouble locating files during testing.

Confusing Help: The Help document that comes with this app is long and convoluted, and it doesn't have much actual information on what to do if you run into trouble. This could make it hard for less-experienced users to take full advantage of all the app has to offer.

Bottom Line

Free Download Manager is a good tool for processing and keeping track of your downloaded files. It includes a lot of nice features, although it may be hard for you to take full advantage of these since the Help file is so unwieldy. Overall, though, this is a good option to try out if you download a lot of files, particularly since it's free.

 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+
  • Current Version

    2.0

    out of 1 votes

    • 5 star 0
    • 4 star 0
    • 3 star 0
    • 2 star 1
    • 1 star 0
  • All Versions

    4.1

    out of 912 votes

    • 5 star 533
    • 4 star 204
    • 3 star 46
    • 2 star 31
    • 1 star 98
  • My rating

    0 stars

    Write review

Results 1–1 of 1

2 stars

"FDM 3.9.7 FireFox and Win10 left me Flat"

September 13, 2016  |  By johnniedoo

2016-09-13 04:42:42  |  By johnniedoo

 |  Version: Free Download Manager 5.1.17.4597

Pros

I have used FDM for many years with FireFox a combination I loved and came to depend on. I went though whatever it took to keep them both functioning together in all the different updates and upgrades of both windows, fdm and ff. It became easy to use and did everything it was supposed to do and do many things other download helpers could not.

Cons

I am very disappointed that this version is no longer working properly with windows10,and FireFox. I have spent over a week , uninstalling and reinstalling both, even tried the vesion 5.0 new update. I am no longer able to make fdm download in firefox. it resists every config. and after so many years, i am very capable of setting it up/configuring it. and have even looked to help and searches to find anything i may hve overlooked. no good.
I do not find any incompatibility with windows 10 mentioned either. I hate to give it up. but have no option-it will not work.

Summary

After trying to make this work, trying version 5 but i am not able to get the 'old' version I like, like the interface and the ability to run instead of save and open later, and easy ability to manage all my downloads , how they will work and where they will go. I like the interface, do not like the v5, but that is personal taste, I could do things with the original application and it wont work anymore. wont load up right click will not launch it either.
after more years than i can count i've had to resort to using the capable but limited built in FF download tool with a few add on tweakers. and not like it at all. but it works. and FDM3.9.7 with ff ext, wont
too bad

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

Results 1–1 of 1

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for Free Download Manager
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 5.1.17.4597
  • General bugfixes
General
Publisher FreeDownloadManager
Publisher web site http://www.freedownloadmanager.org
Release Date September 07, 2016
Date Added September 07, 2016
Version 5.1.17.4597
Category
Category Internet Software
Subcategory Download Managers
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Windows XP/Vista/7/8
Additional Requirements None
Download Information
File Size 47.22MB
File Name fdm5_x64_setup.exe
Popularity
Total Downloads 7,050,091
Downloads Last Week 2,467
Pricing
License Model Free
Limitations Not available
Price Free

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +
Close[x]

Submit a problem report for Free Download Manager

Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.

Problem:

The Download.com Installer isn't working as expected

The download link does not work

The software has a newer version

The product contains malicious software

Other

Description:

Please select a feedback type.

Please enter a description.

Submit Problem Report

Close[x]

Problem Report submitted

Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.

OK