Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

Free Download Manager

Free
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
Very good
Average User Rating:
out of 913 votes out of 0 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    5.1.20.5362
  • Total Downloads:
    7,062,772
  • Date Added:
    Nov. 25, 2016
  • Price:
    Free
  • File Size:
    39.92MB
  • Downloads Last Week:
    800
  • Platform:
    Windows
  • Product ranking:

Editors' Review

+

Free Download Manager helps you download all kinds of files from various sites. It can handle multiple downloads simultaneously.

Pros

Interface organization: Free Download Manager features a tabbed interface that lets you move between various categories of downloaded files with ease and find the type of file you're looking for quickly. These include Downloads, Flash Video Downloads, and Torrents. There are also tabs for the Scheduler, Site Manager, and HTML Spider.

Community input: When you enter the URL for a file you want to download, there is a button you can click to see if anyone in the user community has reported the file as malicious. This can help you keep dangerous files off your computer, and you can contribute to the community as well by flagging any files you have trouble with.

Cons

Locating downloads: When you download a file through Free Download Manager, it can be difficult to find on your computer. Despite the fact that the app indicates that it will send the file to the Downloads folder, we repeatedly had trouble locating files during testing.

Confusing Help: The Help document that comes with this app is long and convoluted, and it doesn't have much actual information on what to do if you run into trouble. This could make it hard for less-experienced users to take full advantage of all the app has to offer.

Bottom Line

Free Download Manager is a good tool for processing and keeping track of your downloaded files. It includes a lot of nice features, although it may be hard for you to take full advantage of these since the Help file is so unwieldy. Overall, though, this is a good option to try out if you download a lot of files, particularly since it's free.

 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+

Results 1–10 of 820

5 stars

"the best version I've used."

November 01, 2016  |  By usertest1

2016-11-01 02:18:14  |  By usertest1

 |  Version: Free Download Manager 5.1.17.4597

Pros

Simply the best

Cons

None can be found

Summary



Updated on Nov 1, 2016

Simply the best

Updated on Nov 1, 2016

Simply the best

Reply to this review Read reply (1)

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

2 stars

"FDM 3.9.7 FireFox and Win10 left me Flat"

September 13, 2016  |  By johnniedoo

2016-09-13 04:42:42  |  By johnniedoo

 |  Version: Free Download Manager 5.1.17.4597

Pros

I have used FDM for many years with FireFox a combination I loved and came to depend on. I went though whatever it took to keep them both functioning together in all the different updates and upgrades of both windows, fdm and ff. It became easy to use and did everything it was supposed to do and do many things other download helpers could not.

Cons

I am very disappointed that this version is no longer working properly with windows10,and FireFox. I have spent over a week , uninstalling and reinstalling both, even tried the vesion 5.0 new update. I am no longer able to make fdm download in firefox. it resists every config. and after so many years, i am very capable of setting it up/configuring it. and have even looked to help and searches to find anything i may hve overlooked. no good.
I do not find any incompatibility with windows 10 mentioned either. I hate to give it up. but have no option-it will not work.

Summary

After trying to make this work, trying version 5 but i am not able to get the 'old' version I like, like the interface and the ability to run instead of save and open later, and easy ability to manage all my downloads , how they will work and where they will go. I like the interface, do not like the v5, but that is personal taste, I could do things with the original application and it wont work anymore. wont load up right click will not launch it either.
after more years than i can count i've had to resort to using the capable but limited built in FF download tool with a few add on tweakers. and not like it at all. but it works. and FDM3.9.7 with ff ext, wont
too bad

Reply to this review Read reply (1)

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

1 stars

"Poor User Interface."

September 01, 2016  |  By arndtwc

2016-09-01 05:55:32  |  By arndtwc

 |  Version: Free Download Manager 3.9.7 build 1627

Pros

It does download fast.

Cons

You need to type in the complete path to where you want to put the file, like you did with DOS. Don't for get the file extension, it does not remember the default (.mp4, .txt, etc). Looks to much like Android OS, I use a Desktop Computer not a phone. Can not use Windows short cut keys. No Menu, just symbols.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"AVOID - with recent(2016) it hijacked my bandwidth"

July 10, 2016  |  By atunis58041

2016-07-10 13:52:07  |  By atunis58041

 |  Version: Free Download Manager 3.9.7 build 1627

Pros

The new design is slick, however after running the software for about one week, I noticed my bandwidth usage went thru the roof, from an average of about 2GB/day to about 14gb/day. After doing some detective work, I discoved that this software had hijacked my computers bandwidth. I uninstalled it, and my bandwidth has gone back to normal.

Cons

See above - this software is now maleware!

Summary

Avoid this, or watch your bandwidth (and cost thereof) go thru the roof

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"This works great and it's free so what else do you need"

December 23, 2015  |  By jcbox3d

2015-12-23 06:35:36  |  By jcbox3d

 |  Version: Not Found

Pros

Set up is easy and it does the downloads easily so that you can run them, view them, or just have them as you need them.

Cons

There's not any for me.

Summary

Great product and it's free!

Reply to this review Read replies (3)

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

2 stars

"Several downloads corrupted :("

December 17, 2015  |  By danh002

2015-12-17 17:11:12  |  By danh002

 |  Version: Not Found

Pros

Able to download large files that the web browser gives up on.
Downloads multiple files simultaneously
Can schedule downloads
Lots of options

Cons

Can't rely on the downloaded files to be error free.

Summary

I buy on-line video courses from "The Great Courses" which can be streamed or downloaded for later viewing. The video files (usually 24+ per course) can be from 400 to 700 MB in size each so restarting a 10+ Gigabyte download is no trivial task. After starting the downloads in Chrome only to come back later to find several of the courses failed to download completely in the browser (I tried IE also) , I decided to give this program a try. I was at first happy that I could just start the downloads and by the end of the afternoon all of the files would complete.
When I went to play them back however, several videos were corrupted and stopped playing at random locations. I downloaded a couple of them directly from the web browser then compared the files to the ones saved by Free Download Manager using the FC command at the command prompt. There were a couple of locations in the files that didn't match up. The videos that I downloaded directly played back ok so those files didn't seem to have any problems. Several of the video files downloaded by FCM however had errors and I had to re-download them individually from the browser so I'm sorry to say that I can't rely on Free Download Manager at this point. (using Ver 3.9.6 build 1614)

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

2 stars

"One of the best programs I've ever seen. Period."

June 11, 2015  |  By crunchabit

2015-06-11 17:47:04  |  By crunchabit

 |  Version: Free Download Manager 3.9.5 build 1542

Pros

Fast, lightweight, powerful and ad-free. In fact, it excels in every one of these categories.

Cons

None whatsoever

Summary

An amazingly powerful and hassle-free tool. I use it professionally in different environments ensure large downloads are fast and resumeable. Always works without a hitch. Thank you FreeDownloadManager.org!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

5 stars

"It's the BEST download manager available!"

May 25, 2015  |  By atunis58041

2015-05-25 13:49:42  |  By atunis58041

 |  Version: Free Download Manager 3.9.5 build 1542

Pros

Excellent, intuititve design; easy to install and use; works exceptionally well with Chrome browser. This beat IDM by a longshot!

Cons

none observed

Summary

It's remarkable that such an excellent download manager is free! Try the others, then get the best!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

5 stars

"Outstanding download manager!"

April 23, 2015  |  By atunis58041

2015-04-23 20:55:41  |  By atunis58041

 |  Version: Free Download Manager 3.9.5 build 1537

Pros

Has been able to download everything I have thrown at it, with ease! Downloads are exceptionally rapid..Design is very well laid out and intuitive. Works very nicely with the Chrome browser. I have tried virtually all the download managers available today, and this one bests them all.

Cons

None observed.

Summary

Outstanding and remarkable in that it's a free download manager, what with all the bells and whistles included in the program.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (2)   (0)  

5 stars

"Great free download manager!"

April 04, 2015  |  By tdaso

2015-04-04 01:40:27  |  By tdaso

 |  Version: Free Download Manager 3.9.5 build 1530

Pros

1. It works exactly as expected
2. Speeds up downloads
3. The dropbox is a class act
4. Completely free, no ads, no malware

Cons

Only one: Does not monitor Opera Chromium, but then this masterpiece of dropbox comes to the rescue!

Summary

I don't know what to say about this download manager, it comes second only to internet download manager (IDM) but it's free!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (2)   (0)  

Results 1–10 of 820

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for Free Download Manager
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 5.1.20.5362
  • Added batch downloads
  • Added option to automatically remove downloads from list when files are deleted from disk
  • Added option to prevent sleep when uploading torrents
  • Bugfixes (browser integration, thumbnails, UI, etc.)
  • Updated Chrome extension to v2.1.14 (browser restart needed)
General
Publisher FreeDownloadManager
Publisher web site http://www.freedownloadmanager.org
Release Date November 25, 2016
Date Added November 25, 2016
Version 5.1.20.5362
Category
Category Internet Software
Subcategory Download Managers
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Windows XP/Vista/7/8
Additional Requirements None
Download Information
File Size 39.92MB
File Name fdm5_x86_setup.exe
Popularity
Total Downloads 7,062,772
Downloads Last Week 800
Pricing
License Model Free
Limitations Not available
Price Free

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +