Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

Folder Lock

$39.95
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
Very good
Average User Rating:
out of 1334 votes out of 0 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    7.6.4
  • Total Downloads:
    3,713,366
  • Date Added:
    Dec. 01, 2016
  • Price:
    Free to try (25-use trial); $39.95 to buy (Buy it now)
  • File Size:
    10.44MB
  • Downloads Last Week:
    189
  • Platform:
    Windows
  • Product ranking:

Editors' Review

+

Folder Lock 7 locks, hides, and password-protects files and folders on your PC, but it also encrypts files and email attachments, takes secure backups, protects USB and CD drives, and makes wallets that can store credit card numbers and other sensitive personal information. It thwarts hackers by logging and acting upon multiple failed log-in attempts, while a hotkey-activated stealth mode keeps out snoops. Folder Lock is free to try for 30 days.

Pros

Master Password option: In addition to rating Password strength, Folder Lock 7 can ask for the Master Password for the Lock Files feature only, instead of for every feature.

Make Wallets: The Make Wallets tool creates secure data containers that can store and encrypt passwords, bank accounts, credit card numbers, and more.

Xtras: The Xtras menu holds Shred Files and Clean History tools. The Shred Settings (on the Settings menu) sets the default shredding action and can exclude locked and program files from shredding.

Cons

Secure backup: Don't get us wrong -- we're all in favor of the Secure Backup tool's end-to-end encryption, real-time data sync, and automatic backup of files added to Lockers. But you have to sign up for an account to use it, which could entail subscription fees later on, and it's not a substitute for a full system backup.

Bottom Line

Folder Lock 7's ability to secure your privacy and personal data reliably and without fuss would probably be enough to justify its reasonable cost versus similar freeware, but extras like encryption and secure data wallets make the difference.

Editors' note: This is a review of the trial version of Folder Lock 7.3.0.

 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+
  • Current Version

    0 stars Be the first to review this product
  • All Versions

    3.8

    out of 1334 votes

    • 5 star 803
    • 4 star 108
    • 3 star 46
    • 2 star 65
    • 1 star 312
  • My rating

    0 stars

    Write review

Results 1–10 of 1304

5 stars

""Probably the best measure for data security""

November 14, 2016  |  By Jack.allen

2016-11-14 03:17:04  |  By Jack.allen

 |  Version: Folder Lock 7.6.3

Pros

It has everything that I need to secure my data

Cons

I have not seen any loophole in the software yet.

Summary

Folder Lock is extremely easy to use and makes data completely secure. It is one of the best data security software available at the moment sure, hard to get through its security barriers.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"Can be dangerous."

November 11, 2016  |  By Ernul1

2016-11-11 09:59:50  |  By Ernul1

 |  Version: Folder Lock 7.6.3

Pros

Folder Lock worked great but then there was a power/PC burp.

Cons

I was unable to retrieve files/folder in the Stealth mode that were hidden on Desktop. Two reinstalls of software provided by CS failed to recover the files that apparently are lost forever!

Summary

The program needs a FIX for instances such as this or a Back Door. CS was helpful but unable to help.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Easy to use. Efficient, effective customer support"

October 15, 2016  |  By 119K

2016-10-15 19:51:41  |  By 119K

 |  Version: Folder Lock 7.6.3

Pros

Windows 10 deactivated my Folder Lock protection.
Can't say enough good things about the Folder lock customer service. They knew what to do and solved my problem quickly.
Download and setup for Win 10 was quick and easy once customer service got involved. (I'm no computer geek.)
Operation on Win 7 machine was reliable and stable. I expect the same now that I have it on my new Win10 machine.

Cons

None at this time.

Summary

Solid software. Great Customer service. Kudos

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

4 stars

"Easy and convenient to use."

October 13, 2016  |  By soldetapou

2016-10-13 04:37:51  |  By soldetapou

 |  Version: Folder Lock 7.6.2

Pros

Simple to hide files and folders.
Lots of good methods for securing your files.
Compared with programs that encrypt while you wait, this one is really quick and convenient.

Cons

Slightly difficult getting the head round the various concepts for use of the options. Will need a bit more time to master them.

Summary

Have tried three other programs for the same job and for ease and convenience of use this is the one. This program actually hides the folders or files whereas both the other programs still show them although they cannot be opened. I think it is better for a potential thief not to know the folders or files are even there.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"I can keep my privacy intact with it."

September 23, 2016  |  By Michaelsheppard07

2016-09-23 02:59:56  |  By Michaelsheppard07

 |  Version: Folder Lock 7.6.2

Pros

Keeps my privacy intact.

Cons

I found this software appropriate for me, so, no such cons.

Summary

I can lock file and hide all my photos, videos, documents and other sort of data with this software. It leaves no traces of hidden data, moreover, with it's file shredder, I can erase desired files permanently.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"More than just a locking software"

September 16, 2016  |  By howardlyons

2016-09-16 23:09:32  |  By howardlyons

 |  Version: Folder Lock 7.6.1

Pros

Decent interface and lots of features

Cons

No third party cloud option

Summary

I recommend this data locking software to everyone. Why you ask? Well, this software not just locks your software, it can also let you encrypt files on USB drives, shred data, hides and locks videos and images and has a built in cleaner. Best of all, the software keeps your files safe using AES-256 bit encryption which is its main selling point and what sets it apart from the competition. Before we were all using true crypt at work, since that no longer is an option, I told my boss about Folder Lock and he acted on my advice and tried it, he too agreed and purchased 100 licenses. So far so good, the folks at Newsoftware have nailed it with Folder Lock.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"Never could get it to encrypt files"

September 15, 2016  |  By StarsCoach

2016-09-15 11:59:41  |  By StarsCoach

 |  Version: Folder Lock 7.6.1

Pros

1) Interface looks nice but see cons below
2) Absolutely no issue in quickly getting a refund

Cons

1. Have used other similar products, this one is not "intuitive". Must read guide.
2. Following steps in guide, never could get the product to encrypt my files.
3. Contacted support. Support site promise "contact within 24 to 48 hours". Three days later, no response.

Summary

If it would do what it promised and/or support would have contacted me to help resolve the issue, might have ahd a different outcome.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Full of features and funtions"

September 08, 2016  |  By AlbertoLemley891

2016-09-08 23:30:00  |  By AlbertoLemley891

 |  Version: Folder Lock 7.6.1

Pros

Self-executable lockersNo built-in option for drop box

Cons

No built-in option for drop box

Summary

Overall, this software has a lot more useful features, I can also place my encrypted lockers in a USB drive or DVD, so not only does it encrypts data on the PC, it also can be used on flash drives. It has a built in backup of cloud though I wish they had one for drop box. No worries though, I love all the feature in folder lock and haven't found another software that matches its performance.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

""Unbreakable Security""

August 26, 2016  |  By MichaelTanner

2016-08-26 04:14:27  |  By MichaelTanner

 |  Version: Folder Lock 7.6.1

Pros

Extremely strong algorithm, unbelievable secure for every kind of data.

Cons

There is hardly any bug, even if there is, it is avoidable

Summary

My favorite hobby is to test software and dig out its deficiencies. But, when I tested Folder Lock and tries to break its security, I was excited to see how secure it really is. It literally has no loophole. I am too inspired by it and now using it personally.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"Infuriatingly inconsistent"

August 25, 2016

2016-08-25 10:47:06

 |  Version: Folder Lock 7.6.1

Pros

When it works it's certainly worth it the problem is...

Cons

...it doesn't always work. No matter how simple your password it seems to have a mind of it's own and will ask you repeatedly to enter the correct password even though you have. I've tested it by making just "password" the password and it doesn't always work even then! You get a 50/50 chance of opening a folder. There doesn't seem to be any rhyme or reason. Reboot, it may or may not work. Don't reboot, it may or may not work.

Frustrating and if other posts on the internet are any indication I'm not alone.

Summary

Not good if you need things in a timely manner and can't wait for it to decide to operate correctly.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

Results 1–10 of 1304

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for Folder Lock
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 7.6.4
Added Arabic language Version an New Forgotten Password Feature.
General
Publisher NewSoftwares
Publisher web site http://www.newsoftwares.net
Release Date December 01, 2016
Date Added December 01, 2016
Version 7.6.4
Category
Category Security Software
Subcategory Encryption Software
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Windows 2000/XP/Vista/7/8/10
Additional Requirements Pentium 4 or higher running Windows 7 / 8 / 8.1 / 10 / Vista / XP / Server 2003 / Server 2008.
Download Information
File Size 10.44MB
File Name folder-lock-pd.exe
Popularity
Total Downloads 3,713,366
Downloads Last Week 189
Pricing
License Model Free to try
Limitations 25-use trial
Price $39.95

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +