Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

Drumbeat X2 for Mac

$34.95
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
0
No Rating
Average User Rating:
out of 102 votes out of 0 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    2.2
  • Total Downloads:
    186,526
  • Date Added:
    Feb. 28, 2007
  • Price:
    Free to try (15-day trial); $34.95 to buy
  • File Size:
    4.25MB
  • Downloads Last Week:
    1
  • Platform:
    Mac
  • Product ranking:
    #6 in SMS Tools

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+

Results 1–10 of 44

1 stars

"Waste of time and money"

July 15, 2007  |  By cutepapi

2007-07-15 01:47:21  |  By cutepapi

 |  Version: Drumbeat X2 2.0.1

Cons

Really hard to find any kind of files and when you find them, it's really hard to download them. DON'T waste your money and time in this piece of crap. If you want a free p2p software that works better that this piece of ****, try limewire or if you're willing to pay, try xtorrent. They both really work.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"The other reviewers must never have used THIS app!!!"

December 12, 2006  |  By Oh, no!

2006-12-12 21:23:37  |  By Oh, no!

 |  Version: Drumbeat X2 2.0.1

Summary

This review was originally posted on VersionTracker.com.
I've used this for years and Drumbeat is like the FBI, always able to get the file. Compared to LimeWire, Drumbeat is like a vacuum cleaner. The developer has been generous and accurate with their e-mail tech support. The reviewers who are whining that they had to pay for the sofware are crazy, it's worth every penny.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"Not very good at P2P"

June 01, 2006  |  By Central Scrutinizer--2008

2006-06-01 01:07:47  |  By Central Scrutinizer--2008

 |  Version: Drumbeat X2 2.0.1

Summary

This review was originally posted on VersionTracker.com.
I wasn't able to get many hits using Drumbeat. Not that it would make any difference - it is utterly absurd to charge for an app that is designed to steal other apps and files. The whole point of P2P file sharing is to have a great free-for-all orgy of SHARING; paying for the P2P client is sort of like paying a fee to play in a peace protest drum circle.

If you're going to do P2P, do yourself a favor and use a free P2P client. If you use the client often and are satisfied with it, consider donating to the developer. I've tried Acqlite, Poisoned, and Cabos, and all of them are quality freeware, although I use Acqlite the most out of habit. Don't use Acquisition, it's author is another snob who charges for his "theftware," and then has the nerve to crack down on those who would try to pirate his client.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

4 stars

"File availability great, speed and lag an issue"

July 16, 2005  |  By dreamcatcher00

2005-07-16 12:02:28  |  By dreamcatcher00

 |  Version: Drumbeat X2 2.0.1

Pros

I do like the fact that at any given time I have access to up to 200 million files/many servers and I almost always find the file I am searching for, even obscure stuff. Fits well with my iTunes. Simple interface.

Cons

I initially paid $34.95 then another $15 for the upgrade but feel that it's not totally worth it because they still havent worked out certain kinks like lag, huge queue's. It does slow down my system, especially with multiple running downloads.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (3)   (0)  

1 stars

"OMG it's slow."

November 30, 2004  |  By bdkennedy1

2004-11-30 13:14:35  |  By bdkennedy1

 |  Version: Drumbeat X2 2.0.1

Summary

This review was originally posted on VersionTracker.com.
Oh my God in heaven it's SLOW. I have a dual G5 and it's not even usable. Clicking on anything results in a spinning beachball for 10 seconds. It was barely usable 2 years ago when I first tried it. With all the advances in technology in the past 2 years this program actually got slower? Who releases crap like this to the public and expects you to PAY for it? Stay away.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Best P2P anywhere"

October 29, 2004

2004-10-29 15:13:19

 |  Version: Drumbeat X2 2.0.1

Summary

This review was originally posted on VersionTracker.com.
I've been using Drumbeat for almost 2 years now and I haven't found anything that comes close. Looking for hard to find music? Drumbeat is the only P2P software I've used that can find it. I've been using the latest version since the day it came out. Never crashed, even after running for days at a time and using other apps at the same time.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"amazed at the negatiave feedback"

October 05, 2004  |  By rightsaidfred--2008

2004-10-05 20:32:39  |  By rightsaidfred--2008

 |  Version: Drumbeat X2 2.0.1

Summary

This review was originally posted on VersionTracker.com.
As a user of the v1.7.x beta versions of DB for the last six months, I am amazed at the negative feedback. Yes, the program is annoyingly slow on older machines, but beyond that, its fantastic. Interface is easy to use, downloads are reliable, and no other program even comes close to the volume and variety of material that can be found with DB.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

4 stars

"reliable and worthy"

October 05, 2004  |  By nah876786

2004-10-05 19:46:51  |  By nah876786

 |  Version: Drumbeat X2 2.0.1

Summary

This review was originally posted on VersionTracker.com.
Ive just downloaded version 2 and have been running for 2 hours, within the first 60 mins I had started 40 download attempts of various songs, within an hour Ive got 15 completed downloads, and 5 downloads in progress.
Of the others, 5 have had their users disconnect (hardly Drumbeats fault), 10 are still queued, 5 have responses from their users claiming that Im not sharing enough files (Im sharing over 100 for gods sake) and the others are queued but with an unknown queue position, apparently only some clients support proper queueing?

given the problems of p2p networks this app works beautifully, it really needs more work on making the interface more snappy though.
Ive got 2 friends who are waiting for windows versions :)

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

4 stars

"What's Up People..?"

October 05, 2004  |  By Mr.Whippy

2004-10-05 17:11:55  |  By Mr.Whippy

 |  Version: Drumbeat X2 2.0.1

Summary

This review was originally posted on VersionTracker.com.
I've used DBeat a lot. Albiet not for a while, since I thought it was dead. I'm glad to see a new version, might be crap I havn,t tried it yet. But judging from past experience with some of the earlier versions, I find DBeat to be one of the better mac p2p apps. Sure it's slow, it does take a while for it to hook up to servers, and yeah it doesn't always dload. Poisoned, Limewire, Xfactor, eDonkey etc... they all have there problems. No one p2p app can do every thing. I've found more rare hard to find stuff using DBeat than any other app. It may not be the app to replace what you currently use but it's certainly worth keeping as an optional extra.
The big downside, yeah $34.00 is a bit much. $15.00 maybe. I know programmers gotta eat too.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"@rlinsurf"

October 05, 2004  |  By kaida

2004-10-05 11:32:17  |  By kaida

 |  Version: Drumbeat X2 2.0.1

Summary

This review was originally posted on VersionTracker.com.
No, it is not slow but successful, it is slow, lame, uncomfortable and buggy.

 

From time to time freezes (beachball), columns not arrangable, poor interface, dew settings, slow as hell with unpredictable results and and and.

And at least another p2p app with that idiotic rigid DL/UL folder settings. Why don't realize ignorant people that UL != DL? Why should one put his UL files into the DL folder? Why should one arrange his working place according to a poor, rigid and unsuitable soft instead of the best and easiest way? Why should a reasonable user offer his fresh DLs without having the chance to check them before and decide whether to spread broken, manipulated or poor files or rather delete them, but offering only fine ones ... in the appropriate folder?
If someone is not willing to share, he will not. No one stops him from removing all DLs from the DL folder. So what's the benefit? Hust to spread all crap and pull down the worth of the entire system?

 

The latter point weighs strong enough to reduce the review to one star. In combination with the other issues it actually should be -4 stars ... if they had it at VT. The biggest cheek is to charge money for that POS.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

Results 1–10 of 44

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for Drumbeat X2
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
General
Publisher Groundlevel Software
Publisher web site http://drumbeat.info/
Release Date February 28, 2007
Date Added February 28, 2007
Version 2.2
Category
Category Communications
Subcategory SMS Tools
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Mac OS X 10.1/10.2/10.3/10.3.9/10.4/10.4 PPC
Additional Requirements
  • Mac OS X 10.1 or higher
  • Download Information
    File Size 4.25MB
    File Name Drumbeat_X2.2.zip
    Popularity
    Total Downloads 186,526
    Downloads Last Week 1
    Pricing
    License Model Free to try
    Limitations 15-day trial
    Price $34.95

    Previous Versions:

    Add to my list Report a problem
     
    read more +
    Close[x]

    Submit a problem report for Drumbeat X2

    Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.

    Problem:

    The Download.com Installer isn't working as expected

    The download link does not work

    The software has a newer version

    The product contains malicious software

    Other

    Description:

    Please select a feedback type.

    Please enter a description.

    Submit Problem Report

    Close[x]

    Problem Report submitted

    Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.

    OK