Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

Dropbox for Mac

Free
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
Excellent
Average User Rating:
out of 242 votes out of 0 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    8.4.21
  • Total Downloads:
    421,241
  • Date Added:
    Aug. 25, 2016
  • Price:
    Free

Editors' Note: Beta or prerelease software is not intended for inexperienced users, as the software may contain bugs or potentially damage your system. We strongly recommend that users exercise caution and save all mission-critical data before installing and/or using this software.

Editors' Review

+

Dropbox for Mac is a convenient cloud storage system that lets you access your files on any computer with an Internet connection. Installing the app is quick and easy, and you can set up a free account to try out the program to see if it's a good fit.

Pros

Smooth integration: This app integrates seamlessly with your Mac, and you can access it directly at any time through the icon on the top toolbar. You can also open any of the Dropbox files on your computer through your Mac's Finder feature. And when you want to save an item to Dropbox, all you have to do is select it as the location from the drop-down menu in the Save window.

Access from anywhere: When you have files saved in a Dropbox account, you can access them from any computer or mobile device with an Internet connection. Even if the Dropbox app isn't installed on the device you're using, you can log in to your account on the Dropbox Web site and find your files that way.

Cons

Dashboard interface: Once Dropbox is installed on your Mac, there really is no dashboard-type interface you can access without going on the Dropbox Web site. While this doesn't have to be a major drawback, it can be a bit of an inconvenience for users who prefer that type of interface.

Bottom Line

Dropbox for Mac is straightforward to use and makes sharing your files with others or accessing them remotely easier than ever. When you open a Dropbox account, you'll get up to 2GB of storage for free. You can earn up to 16GB more, also for free, by referring friends to the service. And if you need even more space, upgrading to a Pro account gets you 100GB or more of storage with rates starting at $9.99 per month.

 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+

Results 1–10 of 242

5 stars

"A useful tool"

June 06, 2016  |  By Davexofc

2016-06-06 07:35:18  |  By Davexofc

 |  Version: Dropbox 4.3.25

Pros

Provides you an access to your files from anywhere in the world

Cons

Not enough space in free version

Summary

A must have tool if you have some important files to keep and somebody to share with

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Must have app in work"

October 05, 2015  |  By KathHudson

2015-10-05 06:12:45  |  By KathHudson

 |  Version: Dropbox 3.11.31

Pros

easy to use
available from anywhere

Cons

free account offers little space

Summary

Great online solution without which I can't imagine my working life. Highly recommend to all computer users.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

2 stars

"Version numbers are a joke, right?"

May 06, 2015  |  By stantastic

2015-05-06 18:33:27  |  By stantastic

 |  Version: Dropbox 3.4.6

Pros

Yeah, it works.

Cons

I downloaded 3.5.63 a few days ago. Now they're releasing 3.4.6!! Can somebody PLEASE explain to me WHY there are new version releases almost every day or every other day, and the version numbers just don't make any sense at all? They go up, they go down -- *** is going on??? Geeeeez....

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

4 stars

"An update almost EVERY day!!???"

March 04, 2015  |  By stantastic

2015-03-04 20:32:26  |  By stantastic

 |  Version: Dropbox 3.3.35

Pros

It does what it does, and I don't pay much attention to it, other than just using it.

Cons

Why is there an update released almost every day of the week?? And not only that, there seem to be two concurrent updated versions being released all the time. I see a version number via CNET Download, then later in the day I see a version number EARLIER (lower) than the one I just uploaded and installed. It's extremely confusing to know if I'm installing a NEWER version, or an OLDER one, or which one I SHOULD BE installing. What gives with that?

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"Dropbox is a resource hog!"

January 23, 2015  |  By paulcwest

2015-01-23 08:37:05  |  By paulcwest

 |  Version: Dropbox 3.1.274

Pros

It will sync your files, eventually.

Cons

While it syncs your files, it will hog so much of your CPU that it renders even the fastest Macs virtually unusable. Get used to taking more coffee breaks.

Summary

Try Google Drive or other service before you commit you company and clients to the Dropbox ecosystem that will slow down your workflow and hurt your bottom line.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

4 stars

"Confusion about version number"

August 03, 2014  |  By KerryGinn--2008

2014-08-03 04:44:22  |  By KerryGinn--2008

 |  Version: Dropbox 2.10.27

Pros

(uncertain)

Cons

Upon running the installer for version 2.10.27 to update from version 2.10.3, the resulting application called itself version 2.10.3 (size: 58,996,714 bytes).

Summary

Perhaps version 2.10.27 is not needed for the Mac edition of Dropbox.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

4 stars

"Great program for saving docs to other devices"

July 09, 2014  |  By sang-froid

2014-07-09 13:50:16  |  By sang-froid

 |  Version: Dropbox 2.10.1

Pros

Great and easy to use.

Cons

To many updates!! I get anywhere from 5 to 10 updates a month! What is wrong with the program that it needs that many corrections every month??!! No other program I have has that many updates in a single year!

Summary

Good and easy to use but be prepared to update far more then the average program.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

4 stars

"Great program but far to many updates"

May 01, 2014  |  By sang-froid

2014-05-01 14:49:39  |  By sang-froid

 |  Version: Dropbox 2.7.53

Pros

The program works great and seamlessly, why the constant fix-ups?

Cons

Three, four and up to ten updates per month? What is with you guys? I haven't had any problems with it so the problems you are apparently fixing are not critical. Wait for a couple of weeks and them put out a monthly up-date. See for yourself. Look at all the versions under Previous Versions below.

Summary

Use it, but ignore all up-dates except one a month. That has worked for me and I have had zero problems with it.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

3 stars

"Good program"

March 08, 2014  |  By sang-froid

2014-03-08 06:40:41  |  By sang-froid

 |  Version: Dropbox 2.7.41

Pros

I use this always to sync items with my iPad for future reading.

Cons

To many f@*$%&#!ing updates. What's with the nearly weekly updates and no explanation for it? Give us some hints why as it is irritating to update so often.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

5 stars

"A great option for remotely backing-up files!"

November 30, 2013  |  By Gretchen Hurlbert

2013-11-30 14:40:42  |  By Gretchen Hurlbert

 |  Version: Dropbox 2.5.40

Pros

Easy interface! Reliable. As a bonus, it is a great way to share large files!

Cons

Can't think of any!

Summary

I am a 'back-up' maniac and use a number of different sites and devices. Dropbox is right up there at the top of my preferred options! I've been using it for a number of years and can't imagine any reason to cease doing so.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

Results 1–10 of 242

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for Dropbox
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
General
Publisher Dropbox
Publisher web site https://www.dropbox.com
Release Date August 25, 2016
Date Added August 25, 2016
Version 8.4.21
Category
Category Utilities & Operating Systems
Subcategory Data Transfer & Sync Software
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Mac OS X 10.10/10.11/10.5/10.6/10.7/10.8/10.9
Additional Requirements None
Download Information
File Size 49.81MB
File Name Dropbox 8.4.21.dmg
Popularity
Total Downloads 421,241
Downloads Last Week 169
Pricing
License Model Free
Limitations The free version offers only 2GB. We currently have a 50GB plan available for a fee.
Price Free

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +
Close[x]

Submit a problem report for Dropbox

Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.

Problem:

The Download.com Installer isn't working as expected

The download link does not work

The software has a newer version

The product contains malicious software

Other

Description:

Please select a feedback type.

Please enter a description.

Submit Problem Report

Close[x]

Problem Report submitted

Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.

OK