Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

David's Backgammon for Mac

$20
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
0
No Rating
Average User Rating:
out of 85 votes out of 0 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    6.4
  • Total Downloads:
    4,488
  • Date Added:
    May 24, 2015
  • Price:
    Free to try (Can finish a random half of the games for as long as you wish); $20.00 to buy
  • File Size:
    2.09MB
  • Downloads Last Week:
    2
  • Platform:
    Mac

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+

Results 1–10 of 51

5 stars

"David's Bacckgammon is my favorite online game."

January 14, 2015  |  By sandybriggs

2015-01-14 15:22:23  |  By sandybriggs

 |  Version: David's Backgammon 6.3.6

Pros

It is very thoughtfully put together and it always works.

Cons

Absolutely nothing!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"great game, enjoying it since more than 10 years"

May 28, 2014  |  By frauenfeld

2014-05-28 10:05:27  |  By frauenfeld

 |  Version: David's Backgammon 6.3.1

Pros

worked perfect on all Macs

Cons

non whatsoever

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Great tool for beginners"

January 03, 2014  |  By scot_c

2014-01-03 11:53:32  |  By scot_c

 |  Version: David's Backgammon 6.3.1

Pros

Different levels of play
Best moves suggested by computer
Options for different rules & conventions
Very easy to get started

Cons

User's Manual could be updated but is still useful.

Summary

I was looking for a program to help me learn to play backgammon and David's Backgammon fills the bill perfectly. It's working great at the novice level and can increase in difficulty as I get better. Very flexible and easy to use.

Updated on Jan 4, 2014

David's Backgammon is intended for all levels of players, not just beginners and has levels of difficulty that will challenge even the best players. Definitely a game that you won't outgrow.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Best computer backgammon game."

November 09, 2013  |  By ronthed

2013-11-09 18:33:02  |  By ronthed

 |  Version: David's Backgammon 6.3.1

Pros

Perfect for any style of play.

Cons

Computer voice is too mechanical

Summary

I've played David's Backgammon for several years and still find it challenging and entertaining. Good practice for tournaments.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"David's is the best Mac backgammon game there is!"

June 11, 2012  |  By Dru Mogge

2012-06-11 14:25:01  |  By Dru Mogge

 |  Version: David's Backgammon 6.1.2

Pros

Best in Class

Cons

None that I can think of.

Summary

I've been playing David's Backgammon on my Mac for more than a decade and no other computer backgammon even comes close. It is the best in its class -- online or offline. Of course, nothing beats playing a live opponent but the 5 levels of play match anyone's skill. I've been playing backgammon off and on since I was 11 (over 40 years) and David's Backgammon always revives my love for the game.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

5 stars

"Finally for Lion!"

April 13, 2012  |  By reves--2008

2012-04-13 09:50:24  |  By reves--2008

 |  Version: David's Backgammon 5.9.5

Pros

The best Backgammon application you can find on the Mac, easy to play, great developer

Cons

Was missing for Lion for a long time

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

4 stars

"Nice game to play!"

June 29, 2011  |  By snowbirdfl2ny07

2011-06-29 21:09:26  |  By snowbirdfl2ny07

 |  Version: David's Backgammon 5.9.2

Pros

It is easy to play

Cons

I haven't played the game long enough to find any cons.

Summary

Flexible, fun game with a nice layout.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Terrific as always."

June 27, 2011  |  By skootie--2008

2011-06-27 18:16:57  |  By skootie--2008

 |  Version: David's Backgammon 5.9.2

Pros

David still cares about it and responds promptly and personally when I have a problem. Computer player is expert, unlike Masques Game suite idiots.

Cons

None that I've found so far - a lot of years.

Summary

Great. If you enjoy Backgammon, get it.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Great Backgammon game and wonderful developer!"

March 10, 2011  |  By brilor--2008

2011-03-10 16:00:05  |  By brilor--2008

 |  Version: David's Backgammon 5.9.2

Pros

Developer has supported and upgraded it for years. His commitment is incredible.

Cons

That David hasn't created other games I enjoy so I can buy those too!

Summary

A challenging game at a low price with great support. What is there not to like!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

4 stars

"THe best possible backgammon game for Macs."

September 16, 2010  |  By bridgnyc

2010-09-16 15:32:06  |  By bridgnyc

 |  Version: David's Backgammon 5.8.8

Pros

Easy to use, fun, quiet, challenging.

Cons

Old-fashioned design.

Summary

I like a product that meets my needs, and I don't care much about aesthetics.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

Results 1–10 of 51

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for David's Backgammon
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 6.4
- Who Gets First Roll was always the default when the game program was started. Fixed.
- several minor changes for Yosemite compatibility
- fixed any known problems
General
Publisher GammonSoft
Publisher web site http://bestbackgammon.com
Release Date May 24, 2015
Date Added May 24, 2015
Version 6.4
Category
Category Games
Subcategory Board Games
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Mac OS X 10.10/10.5/10.5 Intel/10.6/10.7/10.8/10.9
Additional Requirements None
Download Information
File Size 2.09MB
File Name DGamm640.dmg
Popularity
Total Downloads 4,488
Downloads Last Week 2
Pricing
License Model Free to try
Limitations Can finish a random half of the games for as long as you wish
Price $20

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +

More Products to Consider

Close[x]

Submit a problem report for David's Backgammon

Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.

Problem:

The Download.com Installer isn't working as expected

The download link does not work

The software has a newer version

The product contains malicious software

Other

Description:

Please select a feedback type.

Please enter a description.

Submit Problem Report

Close[x]

Problem Report submitted

Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.

OK