Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

Classic Shell

Free
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
Excellent
Average User Rating:
out of 65 votes out of 0 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    4.3.0
  • Total Downloads:
    584,367
  • Date Added:
    Aug. 01, 2016
  • Price:
    Free
  • File Size:
    6.89MB
  • Downloads Last Week:
    1,512
  • Platform:
    Windows
  • Product ranking:

Editors' Review

+

Classic Shell re-introduces the Start menu to Windows 8 and offers tweaks to Windows Explorer and Internet Explorer.

Pros

Easy install: For its magnitude and impact on the Windows operating system, we found Classic Shell to be quite easy to install and configure. We quickly changed our Windows theme without any errors in formatting or usability.

Loaded with options: From the general Windows theme to the Start menu icon, Classic Shell gives you the ability to modify and tweak your user interface. The variety of tools available can easily be changed and saved at any time, which is great if your computer is shared with others.

Exceptional support: Classic Shell comes with one of the most detailed ReadMe files that we've encountered with a free application. It also provides quick links to even more informative FAQs and forums, which you'll find active and helpful.

Cons

Slow navigation: We noted that the speed of our operating system and Internet Explorer was slower than our standard theme. Classic Shell, by its nature, is also less streamlined than the current Windows theme, so finding folders and files can be a hassle.

Bottom Line

Classic Shell is a great application for Windows users that want to experience removed features, especially the Start button that was removed from Windows 8. Your user interface can be fully modified to suit all of your needs. We think Classic Shell should offer an easier way of customizing your PC, preferably in a manner similar to Start8. Download Classic Shell and access your favorite parts of Windows.

 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+

Results 1–10 of 65

5 stars

"Works with Windows Server 2012 R2"

July 01, 2016  |  By rolly0412

2016-07-01 09:01:34  |  By rolly0412

 |  Version: Classic Shell 4.2.5

Pros

Replaced clunky Windows 8 Start Menu with Windows 7 style Start Menu.

Cons

None so far.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"SAVED ME DITCHING WINDOWS 8."

February 17, 2016  |  By joy.division

2016-02-17 02:44:05  |  By joy.division

 |  Version: Classic Shell 4.2.5

Pros

Its free, easy to install.Love it.

Cons

None I love it.

Summary

I had a new windows 8 pc 5 months ago.Hated the pc without the classic start menu.Found this on a forum, downloaded it and saved my Windows 8 pc.Its now similar to using my older Windows Vista. I am now sticking with Windows 8 and not wanting the free upgrade to Windows 10.Thank you developer!!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"I LOVE IT, thank you!!!"

January 26, 2016  |  By HelenTaylor58

2016-01-26 00:13:52  |  By HelenTaylor58

 |  Version: Classic Shell 4.2.5

Pros

I was one of those who hated Win 8s stupid interface with a passion. Then came Classic Shell, which makes Win 8 / 10 instantly invisible ITS MAGIC!!! No more metro screen or useless apps and a great retro start menu. ((sings)) Its Windows 7 once more ... :)

Cons

None at all, its one of the best programs I ever downloaded

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"DO NOT INSTALL ON WINDOWS 10"

December 22, 2015  |  By njgymaholic

2015-12-22 14:14:19  |  By njgymaholic

 |  Version: Classic Shell 4.2.5

Pros

None. Simply does not work.

Cons

Lasted about 15 minutes before it royally hosed my PC. Installed it, pinned native Calculator the StartMenu, and then lost all menu functions. Several reboots later still no functioning StartMenu. Removed - reinstalled the utility ... no change. Had to permanently remove it before I had a useable PC again.

Summary

DO NOT INSTALL ON WINDOWS 10

Reply to this review Read reply (1)

Was this review helpful? (0)   (1)  

5 stars

"A huge thank you to the developers of this software!!"

December 10, 2015  |  By Kariput

2015-12-10 12:18:29  |  By Kariput

 |  Version: Classic Shell 4.2.5

Pros

Works on Windows 10.
Eliminates ALL the junk from Win10 Start Menu
Easy to customize with intuitive set up
Works flawlessly

Cons

None that I can find

Summary

This is a great piece of software. It was indispensible for Windows 8. When I saw that Windows 10 resurrected the Start Menu I thought I wouldn't need this. WRONG!!

I immediately hated the tile section of the Win10 menu. There were also some things I couldn't seem to get into the position I wanted them. Overall, Win10's Start Menu was a huge disappointment for me.

I decided to check and see if my old friend Classic Shell was compatible with Win10. Lo and behold, it was!! I quickly downloaded and installed it and now my Start Menu looks just the way I want it to. No annoying oversized and clunky tiles with ads or features I'll never use; just a simple list of the programs and tools I need to access on a regular basis and configured in a way that makes sense to me.

If you are a fan of the old Windows Start Menu, this program is for you!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

4 stars

"Using with Windows 10"

August 15, 2015  |  By bonjo

2015-08-15 16:23:18  |  By bonjo

 |  Version: Classic Shell 4.2.4

Pros

Works well with Windows 10 to look and act more like Windows 7.

I tried to uninstall Windows 10 but no matter what I tried, it won't go back to Windows 7 (yes, the Windows.old file IS there but the Recovery process in Windows 10 refuses to find it) so this Classic Shell® is a very nice feature to have.

Cons

As a previous reviewer commented, it is a tad sluggish.
Windows 10, without Classic Shell®, seems to run a bit faster than Windows 7.
I noticed after installing Classic Shell® that Windows 10 slowed down a bit.

Summary

One of our HP Pavilions updated to Windows 10 using the Windows Update (vs downloading via Microsoft to a flash drive) and now cannot go back to Windows 7.
The Windows.old file is in my C:\ drive but Windows 10 Recovery states that it has been deleted. It has not (I've since changed the file name so Windows doesn't automatically delete it at the end of the month).

I really don't like anything off the Start button in Windows 10 nor do I like the Edge Browser, so I tried to uninstall it. I'm stuck with it on my main PC that I use daily, but the other three computers running Windows 8.1 & Windows 7 will stay as they are.

I actually did install Windows 10 to one of the Windows 7 PCs using the download from Microsoft to a flash drive and was able to uninstall it. But the PC that was updated using the Windows Update, is stuck with Windows 10 so Classic Shell® has eased my Windows 10 anxiety a bit

Updated on Aug 23, 2015

Update:
Right after I had installed the latest version of Classic Shell, a newer version was available (version 4.2.4), which does not appear to be sluggish at all, so I would now rate this as "5 stars" if I could change my review.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Windows 8 is actually nice...if you use this!"

April 04, 2015  |  By kh44567

2015-04-04 04:42:47  |  By kh44567

 |  Version: Classic Shell 4.2.0

Pros

-Makes windows 8 feel like an improved OS rather than making you feel like you would do anything to get 7 (and I tried)
-You can easily customize the start menu, there are a few main options that give a range of styles. I'm sure you can go more in depth.
-You never have to see the horrible windows 8 tablet style start screen (unless of course you are on a tablet...but little old Microsoft being a small operation can't afford to make two separate, optimized operating systems ; )

Cons

-Maybe a tad sluggish (I notice this more the first time I click on the start menu).

Summary

This makes windows 8 feel great. I hated using it and was desperately trying to find a way to download 7, but this actually makes me happy to have 8. Its sad that Microsoft won't listen to its customers and just offer this simple option built-in. I specifically have 8.1 and it does allow you to choose something closer to the old style (having a desktop, avoiding the new screen with randomly shaped squares), showing that they could customize. But, the built in option is still bulky and random looking. I tried one other, Pokki, and this just feels more like the original and allows me to totally never see the new 8 start screen!!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

5 stars

"Great Piece of Software"

February 26, 2015  |  By grey gohst

2015-02-26 07:41:00  |  By grey gohst

 |  Version: Classic Shell 4.2.0

Pros

No problems
Clear instructions
Easy download
Does not interfere with other programs

Cons

None I can find!

Summary

Makes Windows 8 and 8.1 almost acceptable!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Lifesaver must have app"

February 08, 2015

2015-02-08 10:08:04

 |  Version: Classic Shell 4.2.0

Pros

Restores all the functionality lost with windows 8.1. Why MS offers Win8 as a paired down tablet OS for PC's is beyond my understanding. No fear, with classic shell I can play/work the same (better) way I always have.

Cons

Sure classic shell adds a few milliseconds to each navigation just as windows would if those features were included.

Summary

Go ahead! Buy a new PC with windows 8, with classic shell you'll think you had a full featured desktop OS.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

5 stars

"Really great product!!!"

December 26, 2014  |  By sbd8828

2014-12-26 17:35:51  |  By sbd8828

 |  Version: Classic Shell 4.2.0

Pros

Comparing this to the other software in its class is real easy to pick this! First this is free!! This does what those charge for and its really easy to use. It installs easy,doesn't add any crap or malware. It has a way to go to the recent files used, control panel, all the main things we use day to day. It made my windows 8 feel like I was back using windows 7. Which I loved!

Cons

Nothing I can think of.

Summary

It does what it claims it will do and it does it for FREE!! I know the most popular one is also free but I'd recommend giving this software a try. This is one I think you'd be pleasantly surprised!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

Results 1–10 of 65

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for Classic Shell
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 4.3.0
  • Official support for the Anniversary Update version of Windows 10
  • Fixes for issues found during the 4.2.7 beta
General
Publisher Ivo Beltchev
Publisher web site http://ibeltchev.users.sourceforge.net/
Release Date July 30, 2016
Date Added August 01, 2016
Version 4.3.0
Category
Category Desktop Enhancements
Subcategory Desktop Customization
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Windows Vista/Server 2008/7/8
Additional Requirements None
Download Information
File Size 6.89MB
File Name ClassicShellSetup_4_3_0.exe
Popularity
Total Downloads 584,367
Downloads Last Week 1,512
Pricing
License Model Free
Limitations Not available
Price Free

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +

More Products to Consider

Close[x]

Submit a problem report for Classic Shell

Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.

Problem:

The Download.com Installer isn't working as expected

The download link does not work

The software has a newer version

The product contains malicious software

Other

Description:

Please select a feedback type.

Please enter a description.

Submit Problem Report

Close[x]

Problem Report submitted

Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.

OK