Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

Bookdog for Mac

$22.95
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
0
No Rating
Average User Rating:
out of 53 votes out of 0 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    5.3.21
  • Total Downloads:
    7,279
  • Date Added:
    Jul. 27, 2012
  • Price:
    Free to try (Built-in licensing system will get you a free demo license which will make Bookdog fully functioning for 14 days.); $22.95 to buy
  • File Size:
    5.06MB
  • Downloads Last Week:
    4
  • Platform:
    Mac
  • Product ranking:

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+

Results 1–10 of 53

5 stars

"does what i need it to do"

February 01, 2011  |  By skandell_dotmac

2011-02-01 10:53:26  |  By skandell_dotmac

 |  Version: Bookdog 5.3.15

Pros

so simple even i can use it

Cons

none that i know of

Summary

a great utility

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Great bookmark manager across all browsers."

January 25, 2011  |  By drglenn

2011-01-25 17:28:35  |  By drglenn

 |  Version: Bookdog 5.3.15

Pros

Allows consistent bookmarks in all browsers
Sorts bookmarks
Tests bookmarks
Finds duplicates

Cons

You have to press the buttons.

Summary

Does what it's designed to do, and does it well.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"puts bookmarks in alpha"

November 18, 2010  |  By skandell_dotmac

2010-11-18 07:25:39  |  By skandell_dotmac

 |  Version: Bookdog 5.3.13

Pros

works as advertised.

Cons

no issues.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

2 stars

"Wins on features, but UI is confusing"

July 04, 2010  |  By jdtangney

2010-07-04 16:30:08  |  By jdtangney

 |  Version: Bookdog 5.3.13

Summary

This review was originally posted on VersionTracker.com.
I don't use BD very much, but when I do, I rediscover why I keep coming back. It is jam-packed with excellent features. I am not much of a fan of cripple-ware, but BD makes it palatable. I needed to buy a license right in the middle of saving a file. Not a problem. The integrated purchase process (google or paypal) Just Workedâ?¢. BD does all kids of tricks with Delicious as well as with native Safari and Google (I haven't tried Google yet). My only complaint is that the user interface is crowded, verbose and complicated. I keep getting the feeling that I don't know what a particular button does. The long-winded explanations on some dialogs just make it worse. Look at the Preferences: What's up with the funky matrix of text and checkboxes? It looks like a tax return. Given the poor usability, it's not great value for money.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Works to keep things organized."

February 15, 2010  |  By fotospinner

2010-02-15 09:26:12  |  By fotospinner

 |  Version: Bookdog 5.3.8

Pros

Automatic use. Updates when needed.

Cons

No cons as far as I am concerned.

Summary

It works to organize items automatically, and gives you a choice as to what to delete.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Best in Class"

October 21, 2008  |  By MAC_1984

2008-10-21 18:32:00  |  By MAC_1984

 |  Version: Bookdog 5.1.36

Summary

This review was originally posted on VersionTracker.com.
Simply the best there is at what it does in the Mac world. The developer is highly responsive and cool to beat. Don't kid yourself with looks as under the hood beats the heart of Viper V10 ready to get bookmarks sorted in no time and keep them that way!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Excellent"

October 19, 2008  |  By DrSchubert

2008-10-19 08:30:32  |  By DrSchubert

 |  Version: Bookdog 5.1.32

Summary

This review was originally posted on VersionTracker.com.
The best bookmark program I have found yet.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"What a great program!!"

September 05, 2008  |  By DaleGattis

2008-09-05 05:36:45  |  By DaleGattis

 |  Version: Bookdog 5.1.26

Summary

This review was originally posted on VersionTracker.com.
Here are the stars! Price is a bit steep, but love the program!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"six stars"

June 26, 2008  |  By neimen

2008-06-26 22:57:36  |  By neimen

 |  Version: Bookdog 5.1.21

Summary

This review was originally posted on VersionTracker.com.
i say this every year or so. if you run a web browser on a mac, you really should have bookdog, too.

the app and the developer are a stellar examples of what mac shareware and developers can be. right up there with graphicconverter, launchbar, and little snitch in my book. that is: not only essential, but constantly improving.

rock on.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Great App, Great Customer Support (even when you..."

May 05, 2008  |  By Peakdale

2008-05-05 05:39:11  |  By Peakdale

 |  Version: Bookdog 5.1.12

Summary

...don't need it)
This review was originally posted on VersionTracker.com.
I've been busily getting on with just letting this app get on with its job over the past year, without even thinking about it. I, like most people, have multiple Macs for work and need them all to be up-to-date and then (for me) a job the requires multiple browsers too, that also need to be synced.

Bookdog, working in tandem with dot mac, helps me achieve all this - it's a great app.

This isn't though why I felt the sudden urge, after all this time, to write a review: my mac lap top had to be wiped and in the process of reinstalling everything (don't you hate that bit), I found I'd lost track of my Bookdog serial . . . and low-and-behold (though I later found it) I woke this morning to find an e-mail from the sheepsystems crew with the details I required . . .

Well done guys!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

Results 1–10 of 53

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for Bookdog
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 5.3.21
  • The only change is that this version is signed with our Developer ID, so that it can be installed in Mac OS X 10.8, Mountain Lion. Users who already have BookMacster 5.3.20 installed and working may skip this update, even if they update to Mountain Lion. It is only needed if Bookdog is re-installed after Mountain Lion.
General
Publisher Sheep Systems
Publisher web site http://www.sheepsystems.com
Release Date July 27, 2012
Date Added July 27, 2012
Version 5.3.21
Category
Category Internet Software
Subcategory Bookmark Managers
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Mac OS X 10.4/10.5/10.6/10.7/10.8
Additional Requirements Bookdog is an obsolete product. It still works in OS X 10.10, but only if you are not using iCloud to sync Safari.
Download Information
File Size 5.06MB
File Name Bookdog.dmg
Popularity
Total Downloads 7,279
Downloads Last Week 4
Pricing
License Model Free to try
Limitations Built-in licensing system will get you a free demo license which will make Bookdog fully functioning for 14 days.
Price $22.95

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +
Close[x]

Submit a problem report for Bookdog

Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.

Problem:

The Download.com Installer isn't working as expected

The download link does not work

The software has a newer version

The product contains malicious software

Other

Description:

Please select a feedback type.

Please enter a description.

Submit Problem Report

Close[x]

Problem Report submitted

Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.

OK