Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

BatteryCare

Free
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
Excellent
Average User Rating:
out of 68 votes out of 5 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    0.9.25.1
  • Total Downloads:
    333,516
  • Date Added:
    Jul. 10, 2015
  • Price:
    Free
  • File Size:
    1.5MB
  • Downloads Last Week:
    448
  • Platform:
    Windows
  • Product ranking:

Editors' Review

+

BatteryCare is a free utility that helps you keep your laptop battery topped off and ready to roll. It's more accurate than the typical battery meter, for starters, measuring battery discharge cycles instead of stored energy. BatteryCare's documentation and Web site offer a lot of information about how laptop batteries work as well as how to get the most out of your device's battery. It's fascinating, but we'll cut to the chase and simply note that there's a lot you can do to maximize your battery's life and performance, starting with downloading this freeware. We installed BatteryCare in a Netbook running 32-bit Windows 7 Home Premium, but it's fully compatible with Windows 8, too.

BatteryCare's System Tray icon serves as its main access point when the program is running, which should be all the time, if you want to maintain a full charge. Hovering our cursor over the icon showed our battery's current charge level, our current power plan, and CPU and HDD temperatures; clicking it produced a menu accessing Power Settings, Power Plan, and general Settings, which let us configure Notifications, Usage Statistics, and power-saving options such as pausing Aero effects and other Windows features and services when running on battery power. Double-clicking the program's tray icon produced a more detailed display, showing Battery Status, Discharge Information, Discharge Cycles Progress, and even such details as Tension (Voltage) and Wear Level.

We mentioned BatteryCare's Web site, which offers FAQs about the program, a manual for users, and a lot of information about laptop batteries and how they work. Even though BatteryCare is very easy to use, we recommend visiting its Web site since it not only helps you set up BatteryCare but will help you get the most out of all your battery-powered devices. It explains everything from the myth of the memory effect in lithium-ion batteries, to whether you should remove the battery on laptops that stay tethered to AC power most of the time (The answer? Check out BatteryCare and see for yourself!).

 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+

Results 1–5 of 5

4 stars

"Good Product - Careful with Installation"

December 13, 2015

2015-12-13 13:23:59

 |  Version: BatteryCare 0.9.25.1

Pros

Great product, I was using Power Plan Assistant, until their weekly assaults on my time got the best of me. So I left them in search of something better. Compared to Subisoft Power Switch - which costs money, and Power Switch Schemer, which may not work for W10, this is clearly the best pick of the bunch. After installation was done, it was remarkably similar to the last Power Plan Assistant. Accurate readings, nice settings - and some better ones than before. And it looks like it will come without the PPA nonsense.

Cons

As mentioned by others, it was flagged by my AV immediately, and I had to recover it. When installing, my AV flagged something else in temp, which led to a blank install selection that I clicked next on (but it didn't install anything, cuz removed by AV). More than likely just adaware that many programs come bundled with now days. Even if you did install something like it, I am assuming you can just remove it and keep the program. It works great still.

Summary

Useful, functional program. Will continue to use, and from the other 6 programs I looked at - this is the better one to be using for Windows 10 at the moment for my laptop.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"Detected as malware"

December 12, 2015  |  By vinaydalvi

2015-12-12 18:28:52  |  By vinaydalvi

 |  Version: BatteryCare 0.9.25.1

Pros

None as didnt work

Cons

Not useful at all

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

4 stars

"I like its functionality but it comes with adware..?"

November 25, 2015  |  By Joseph Guo

2015-11-25 13:05:21  |  By Joseph Guo

 |  Version: BatteryCare 0.9.25.1

Pros

If you had this software before you used a new battery or a new laptop, and you insure that the software is running every time you use it, you can use this software to keep track of charging cycles and addition information.
I liked how it showed the condition of my battery right away. Compared to the information shown by the software from the manufacture, the software is quite accurate.

Cons

Be careful when installing and make sure you do not install unwanted softwares.
When the software update its self, adware is detected in the temp folder. (I have Kaspersky lol). That Ad, I presume, pops up when it shows "if you like to install this as well" stage of the installation. Because I deleted the adware, that part of the installation did not come up.

Summary

Yea, its pretty much worth, if you want to check your battery conditions. It takes about 10k mem so it doesnt really slow down the computer

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Delivers as promised"

August 15, 2015  |  By carlos_spork

2015-08-15 11:55:56  |  By carlos_spork

 |  Version: BatteryCare 0.9.25.1

Pros

Every advertised feature works as expected provided you follow the developer's directions. The application provides accurate information and excellent advice on how to maximize a battery's lifecycle. The developer's site even provides a lot of useful information on the recommended CPU/HDD operating temperatures and their impact on the battery's lifecycle.

Cons

None so far (I just downloaded and installed it).

Summary

Excellent. It's important to carefully read usage directions on the developer's website before starting to wonder why some features don't work as expected (especially on how to get the temperature readings to work).

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

4 stars

"i can show temperature on tray"

July 11, 2015  |  By Alisasm

2015-07-11 23:29:31  |  By Alisasm

 |  Version: BatteryCare 0.9.25.1

Pros

I have HDD and CPU temperature on tray

Cons

sometimes don't show tooltip and don't autostart with window

Summary

i would like to use this software.it need to be fix some bug

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

Results 1–5 of 5

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for BatteryCare
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
General
Publisher Filipe Lourenso
Publisher web site http://batterycare.bkspot.com
Release Date July 10, 2015
Date Added July 10, 2015
Version 0.9.25.1
Category
Category Utilities & Operating Systems
Subcategory Battery Utilities
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Windows XP/Vista/7/8
Additional Requirements Microsoft .NET Framework 2.0
Download Information
File Size 1.5MB
File Name SetupBatteryCare.zip
Popularity
Total Downloads 333,516
Downloads Last Week 448
Pricing
License Model Free
Limitations Not available
Price Free

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +

More Products to Consider

Close[x]

Submit a problem report for BatteryCare

Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.

Problem:

The Download.com Installer isn't working as expected

The download link does not work

The software has a newer version

The product contains malicious software

Other

Description:

Please select a feedback type.

Please enter a description.

Submit Problem Report

Close[x]

Problem Report submitted

Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.

OK