• Navigation
  • open search





Autorun Eater

Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
Average User Rating:
out of 47 votes out of 4 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
  • Total Downloads:
  • Date Added:
    Feb. 20, 2012
  • Price:
  • File Size:
  • Downloads Last Week:
  • Platform:

Editors' Review


Old McDonald's Farm is a software designers' collective, not a noisy musical farm. And on this farm they have some freeware, such as Autorun Eater, which scans your drives for suspicious autorun.ini files and removes those you want removed. Autorun.ini files issue basic instructions for starting all kinds of programs, but malware can infect computers with them, sometimes from external drives. Autorun Eater monitors your system for suspicious autorun.ini files in the root directories of drives C through Z as well as removable drives. It also fixes three common registry errors caused by autorun.ini files and prevents the accidental execution of such files, as well as removing leftover files that can prevent removable drives from opening. It poses no known conflicts to antivirus tools and actually includes an optional anti-malware utility, Microsoft Security Essentials.

Autorun Eater's installer offers various options, but the one we recommend is the one the installer recommends, reading Autorun Eater's Farm Manual, the whimsical name for the program's searchable Explorer-style Help file (complete with a mascot photo of Billy the goat). (Billy's name turns up here and there in Autorun Eater, such as the start menu options). The program's System Tray menu is quite complete, including a Registry Fix submenu, manual controls for scanning Drive A and Drive B, MSE settings, and basic options like alert sounds. Autorun Eater works automatically and continuously in the background, and it uses very few resources. After the first scan, it's easy to forget the program is running, though hovering the cursor over the program's tray icon displays its status and basic settings. Pausing the program's background monitoring produces a prominent reminder in the notification area.

Autorun Eater scanned our C, D, and E drives as well as external drives, though we're happy to say it didn't find any serious threats. Its pop-up alerts contain a lot of information, such as whether the associated executable is present or has been deleted, and the text string. We could ignore or remove the file as needed. If you regularly bring work home or use portable drives, we highly recommend Autorun Eater for your PC security setup.

read more +

Publisher's Description

read more +
User Reviews

Results 1–4 of 4

1 stars

"Seems to be malware"

June 18, 2015  |  By jthomlinson

2015-06-18 17:20:17  |  By jthomlinson

 |  Version: Autorun Eater 2.6


Wouldn't run, but that may be a pro - see cons below.


Trend Micro prevented it from running and removed five files identified as malware that Old Macdonald installed.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Works wonderfully."

March 15, 2013  |  By JRRush

2013-03-15 16:50:47  |  By JRRush

 |  Version: Autorun Eater 2.6


Very easy to use.


None to-date.


It saved my computer when my external drive had picked up some malicious autorun files. So glad to have found it.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"I think it is Fake."

October 23, 2012  |  By akhand2206

2012-10-23 04:17:16  |  By akhand2206

 |  Version: Autorun Eater 2.6


That's all


bcoz it is auto generate the exe or pif file and then make permission to delete them.

Reply to this review Read reply (1)

Was this review helpful? (0)   (3)  

5 stars

"Made me feel numb of USB's threats"

April 21, 2012  |  By Cold_Ember

2012-04-21 04:40:28  |  By Cold_Ember

 |  Version: Autorun Eater 2.6


automatically delete ALL harmful elements carried through USBs


it makes me feel useless coz it does all of the job alone LOL


Great ! thanks to CNEt i've found a new handy program again

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

Results 1–4 of 4

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for Autorun Eater
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

see all reviews +

Full Specifications

What's new in version 2.6
  • Added: 'Malware Scan' option to scan the infected storage device using Microsoft Security Essentials' command line scanner (only works with version 2.1.1116.0 and above) after removing the suspicious 'autorun.inf' file.
  • Added: 'MSE Scan Log' option to view the Microsoft Security Essentials scan log.
  • Removed: 'Priority' option in the tray menu.
  • Removed: Removed some redundant code to improve startup time and performance.
  • Changed: Tweaks to program behaviour.
Publisher Old McDonald's Farm
Publisher web site
Release Date February 17, 2012
Date Added February 20, 2012
Version 2.6
Category Security Software
Subcategory Antivirus Software
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Windows XP/Vista/7
Additional Requirements None
Download Information
File Size 1.36MB
File Name
Total Downloads 834,774
Downloads Last Week 75
License Model Free
Limitations Not available
Price Free

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
read more +

Submit a problem report for Autorun Eater

Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.


The Installer isn't working as expected

The download link does not work

The software has a newer version

The product contains malicious software



Please select a feedback type.

Please enter a description.

Submit Problem Report


Problem Report submitted

Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.