Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

Auslogics Disk Defrag

Free
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
Outstanding
Average User Rating:
out of 4258 votes out of 4 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    7.0
  • Total Downloads:
    14,317,819
  • Date Added:
    Jun. 23, 2016
  • Price:
    Free
  • File Size:
    7.53MB
  • Downloads Last Week:
    984
  • Platform:
    Windows
  • Product ranking:

Editors' Review

+

Auslogics Disk Defrag is an upgrade from the built-in Windows disk defragmenter. Free, fast, and thorough, it can defrag whole disks or individual files and folders, on schedule or on demand. You can exclude files and folders from defragging, set defragmentation priority, and analyze and optimize disks as well as defragging them. Auslogics Disk Defrag not only excludes SSDs from defragmenting but helps optimize them, too.

Pros

Cluster Map: A disk defragger with no cluster map is no fun, as Microsoft learned. Auslogics Disk Defrag not only has a cluster map but also two map styles and a menu full of color themes. Clicking Show Speed Map on the View menu displays Fast and Slow disk access zones.

Algorithms: The Program Settings offers optional algorithms that can delete temporary files before defragmenting, skip files of a certain size, and perform other operations.

SSD Optimization: SSDs shouldn't be defragged, but Windows can be optimized to take full advantage of their speed. Auslogics Disk Defrag analyzes your SSDs and system and optimizes both.

Cons

Sales pitch: Places like the Advanced menu and System Health tab offer additional software -- a minor matter, considering what you're getting for free, but it bothers some folks.

Bottom Line

Far from obsolete, disk defragmentation utilities may be more important than ever as disk drives climb to multi-terabyte capacity. That's especially true when a defragger not only recognizes and excludes SSDs from defragmentation but also helps optimize their performance. So why use the Windows defragger when Auslogics Disk Defrag is better?

 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+
  • Current Version

    3.5

    out of 4 votes

    • 5 star 2
    • 4 star 0
    • 3 star 1
    • 2 star 0
    • 1 star 1
  • All Versions

    4.4

    out of 4258 votes

    • 5 star 2558
    • 4 star 1309
    • 3 star 197
    • 2 star 79
    • 1 star 115
  • My rating

    0 stars

    Write review

Results 1–4 of 4

3 stars

"STAY AWAY FROM AUSLOGICS - IT''S A TRAP TO GET YR MONEY"

September 05, 2016  |  By gospelmidi

2016-09-05 16:34:21  |  By gospelmidi

 |  Version: Auslogics Disk Defrag 7.0

Pros

The Disk Defrag works well on my SSD, even allowing me to do a one-time actual defragment before the SSD TRIM, which Smart Defrag would not allow.

Cons

I usually watch closely for stowaway installs, but BoostSpeed got by me.
I installed Auslogics Disk Defrag BASED UPON THE DOWNLOAD.CNET.COM Editor's rating of 4 1/2 stars along with the users' rating of 4 1/2 stars.
BIIIIGGGGG Mistake. I should have researched elsewhere.
Unknown to me, Auslogics Disk Defrag also installed Auslogics BoostSpeed, which I did not need and do not want. When I saw that BoostSpeed had installed, I ran it.
SECOND BIIIGGGGG Mistake. I should have known that a stowaway program, which installed without asking me first, could not be a good thing.
BoostSpeed did little or nothing, so I attempted to exit the program. But it insisted on offering me the paid version for $19.99, and IT WOULD NOT EXIT WITHOUT MY PURCHASING IT. This stowaware had just become RANSOMWARE.
THIRD BIIIIGGGG MISTAKE... No, I did not bite.
Windows 8.1 Task Manager closed the program.

Now the BoostSpeed stowaware/ransomware WILL NOT INSTALL, AND ITS FILES CANNOT BE DELETED.

Summary

AVOID AUSLOGICS. EVEN A GOOD PROGRAM LIKE DISK DEFRAG CAN BE USED TO TRAP YOU INTO PAYING A $20 RANSOM FOR SOMETHING ELSE YOU DIDN'T WANT. AUSLOGICS MAY HAVE BEEN A STRAIGHT UP COMPANY UNTIL RECENTLY, BUT IT APPARENTLY HAS BEEN SWALLOWED UP BY CORPORATE CARNIVORES WITH SUBSTANDARD BUSINESS ETHICS.
S - T - A - Y A - W - A - Y !

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

1 stars

"I ran this program and a lot of my files were deleted"

August 30, 2016  |  By ITNoob123

2016-08-30 02:08:50  |  By ITNoob123

 |  Version: Auslogics Disk Defrag 7.0

Pros

None......

Cons

I ran this program and a lot of my files were deleted. Tons of old photos, work related documents, resume, etc. were gone. I did a search on my computer and these files were not moved to a new location nor were they in the Recycle Bin. They are just gone. Worst part is, I don't think the computer became any faster.

Summary

Has this happened to anyone else? What can I do to recover my lost files?

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"The best freebie"

August 22, 2016  |  By jimmy.howlett

2016-08-22 22:33:21  |  By jimmy.howlett

 |  Version: Auslogics Disk Defrag 7.0

Pros

Perhaps this is one of the best freebie I've ever seen. Moreover, this program very useful. If you ever did a defragmentation, you will realize that it is a very useful program.

Cons

I did not find cons

Summary

Very easy to use. It is like a magic wand, each wizard has to have it)

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Compact and fast defragmenter."

August 22, 2016  |  By philip69ham

2016-08-22 22:13:00  |  By philip69ham

 |  Version: Auslogics Disk Defrag 7.0

Pros

This is a free program! Do you understand? FREE! I'm shocked! Really, it's the best program for improve PC's performance by defragmenting and re-arranging files on disk. And for free. Thanks Auslogics, it's a really cool. Thanks!

Cons

I didn't find

Summary

P.S I'm also using your product BoostSpeed. Very useful program.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

Results 1–4 of 4

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for Auslogics Disk Defrag
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 7.0
  • Thoroughly tested and tweaked for maximum Windows 10 compatibility
  • Program translated into multiple languages: select your language in Settings
  • Multiple algorithm improvements implemented
  • All known bugs fixed
General
Publisher Auslogics
Publisher web site http://www.auslogics.com/
Release Date June 22, 2016
Date Added June 23, 2016
Version 7.0
Category
Category Utilities & Operating Systems
Subcategory System Utilities
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Windows XP/Vista/7/8/10
Additional Requirements None
Download Information
File Size 7.53MB
File Name disk-defrag-setup.exe
Popularity
Total Downloads 14,317,819
Downloads Last Week 984
Pricing
License Model Free
Limitations Not available
Price Free

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +
Close[x]

Submit a problem report for Auslogics Disk Defrag

Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.

Problem:

The Download.com Installer isn't working as expected

The download link does not work

The software has a newer version

The product contains malicious software

Other

Description:

Please select a feedback type.

Please enter a description.

Submit Problem Report

Close[x]

Problem Report submitted

Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.

OK