Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

Apple Safari

Free
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
Excellent
Average User Rating:
out of 777 votes out of 39 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    5.1.7
  • Total Downloads:
    3,303,253
  • Date Added:
    May 11, 2012
  • Price:
    Free
  • File Size:
    36.71MB
  • Downloads Last Week:
    593
  • Platform:
    Windows
  • Product ranking:
    #4 in Web Browsers

Editors' Review

+

Safari is Apple's stylish, easy-to-use Web browser for its Mac OS. Safari for Windows lets PC users try Safari for themselves. Safari is a great way for Windows users to take a bite of the Apple since, as a Web browser, it can only be so different from the Big Three; IE, Firefox, and Chrome. We tried Safari 5 in Windows 7. Its new features include the Reading List, which collects Web links and bookmarks that you want to check later.

Safari's page layout shows how much Web browser functionality dictates form these days. Safari for Windows is plain but clean and intuitive, with many similarities to other popular browsers as well as some differences. For instance, the address bar searches the History rather than using your default search engine. Safari has a separate search field instead. The Settings icon opens an extensive menu that includes private browsing, pop-up blocking, Extensions, and customization buttons. One feature we really like is the Page icon that displays a menu just for the current page. The Bookmarks bar holds icons to show the Reading List, Top Sites, and All Bookmarks. Clicking Preferences under Settings opens a tabbed dialog with many more options, including Appearance, Tabs, Security, Privacy, Extensions, and RSS.

Safari has a good reputation, and we found it to be quick and stable. We started with some news sites, moving through some of our imported IE Favorites and finishing with some random searches. Unlike some of Apple's software, Safari is more like the competition than unlike it, with tabbed browsing, a customizable toolbar, and security and privacy options. Some things are missing; for instance, Safari for Windows can import Favorites from Internet Explorer into its bookmarks, but apparently the same isn't true for Firefox or Chrome bookmarks. You can always export your Firefox or Chrome bookmarks to IE and then into Safari, but being able to import them directly would be a better option.

At any rate, if you've wondered about Safari, here's your chance to see it for yourself.

 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+
  • Current Version

    2.7

    out of 39 votes

    • 5 star 8
    • 4 star 5
    • 3 star 7
    • 2 star 7
    • 1 star 12
  • All Versions

    3.1

    out of 777 votes

    • 5 star 201
    • 4 star 159
    • 3 star 129
    • 2 star 98
    • 1 star 190
  • My rating

    0 stars

    Write review

Results 1–10 of 39

5 stars

"I love using the new safari"

May 12, 2016  |  By cbsitestuser

2016-05-12 10:29:52  |  By cbsitestuser

 |  Version: Apple Safari 5.1.7

Pros

This is a great browser

Cons

I love using this browser

Summary

This is great!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"Trial and error"

October 07, 2015  |  By tornadohunter006

2015-10-07 10:59:04  |  By tornadohunter006

 |  Version: Apple Safari 5.1.7

Pros

None yet, haven't loaded it in

Cons

By what I read in the reviews, doesn't sound very good

Summary

Thanks to all the people that reviewed this software. Because of the reviews I read, I will not be loading it in my machine !!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (1)  

2 stars

"Ease of use"

September 28, 2015  |  By Bill Busby

2015-09-28 04:36:17  |  By Bill Busby

 |  Version: Apple Safari 5.1.7

Pros

Safari is a viable tool for cruising the internet.

Cons

The thing I would like to see is Tabs as in Firefox and some customizing. It's just too plain.

Summary

I tried them all and still prefer Firefox although it does crash occasional, very rarely

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

5 stars

"A software worth having."

August 18, 2015  |  By MorarSchutz

2015-08-18 00:56:03  |  By MorarSchutz

 |  Version: Apple Safari 5.1.7

Pros

I would highly recommend this software.

Cons

No problems at all, one of the very best programs around, ever.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

1 stars

"Link Does not work."

May 13, 2015  |  By catbr

2015-05-13 09:29:47  |  By catbr

 |  Version: Apple Safari 5.1.7

Pros

I can not report any because the link did not work

Cons

The link did not work

Summary

Wasted my time.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"Easily the worst browser on any platform"

February 21, 2015  |  By gormark

2015-02-21 12:41:46  |  By gormark

 |  Version: Apple Safari 5.1.7

Pros

None whatsoever.

Cons

Freezes all the time, slower than any other browser, severely crippled on iOS. Basically, a totally worthless application.

Summary

As of late 2014, Safari is easily the worst browser on any platform and device. It can't even open most of web content anymore; just another indication that with no Jobs, there is no Apple. I didn't think I'd see the day, but even Internet Explorer far outperforms this useless heap of trash. Bravo, Tim Cook, bravo.

Reply to this review Read replies (2)

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

4 stars

"WORKS GREAT"

February 04, 2015  |  By cubs2862

2015-02-04 09:41:45  |  By cubs2862

 |  Version: Apple Safari 5.1.7

Pros

WORKS GREAT BUT YOU CAN'T MAKE MORE THAT ONE WEBSITE YOUR HOME PAGE.

Cons

SAME AS PROS

Summary

SAME

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

2 stars

"Started out well -- then went down hill -- real bad."

February 01, 2015  |  By Justyce4all

2015-02-01 12:34:22  |  By Justyce4all

 |  Version: Apple Safari 5.1.7

Pros

maintains passwords. Easy to use. Ability to enlarge information on screen with track pad.

Cons

You have to sign in Again, if you open a new browser in a tab or a new page.

Summary

This browser has become increasingly frustrating. All began well and now, each time I open a new browser -- it's like a Bran New Day and I have to sign in again and it is annoying. Safari is made for Mac, but I've begun using Firefox because Safari is Driving me Nutzo! :(

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

1 stars

"Same ole useless browser"

January 15, 2015  |  By dockside58

2015-01-15 02:41:41  |  By dockside58

 |  Version: Apple Safari 5.1.7

Pros

Simple, and I mean simple.

Cons

Not much you can do to personalize this browser. I like the way 'Opera' & 'Chrome' are laid out & they are very customizable.

Summary

I tried 'Safari' because the lousy way 'Chrome" handles 'full screen' videos. So I am sticking to 'Opera'. You can do so much more with 'Oprea' after a small learning curve!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

1 stars

"Slow, Slow, Slow"

November 15, 2014  |  By fredg06

2014-11-15 06:23:42  |  By fredg06

 |  Version: Apple Safari 5.1.7

Pros

Good interface with a good menu.

Cons

SLOW, SLOW, SLOW

Summary

I have a 2000 Dell tower computer, XP, IE8, with SP3, and 256 meg RAM.
Safari is too, too slow, taking 5 minutes to load Yahoo, or any other site. Maybe if I had 512 RAM, it would be much faster.
I use Opera 12, which works very well with my system. Tried Firefox, and it's somewhat slow, and keeps "hanging" at times. Hate IE8.
So, Opera is my choice which works very well, and is faster than any I have tried. I can't use Google Chrome, cause it requires 512 meg RAM, and will not install on my 256 meg RAM computer.
I agree with someone who said, "Reviews are meaningless unless you say what kind of system you have, and what software you are using"......

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

Results 1–10 of 39

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for Apple Safari
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 5.1.7
Version 5.1.7 has added new features in Safari make everything you do on the web more fascinating, more secure, and more fun.
General
Publisher Apple
Publisher web site http://www.apple.com/
Release Date May 11, 2012
Date Added May 11, 2012
Version 5.1.7
Category
Category Browsers
Subcategory Web Browsers
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Windows XP/Vista/7
Additional Requirements None
Download Information
File Size 36.71MB
File Name SafariSetup.exe
Popularity
Total Downloads 3,303,253
Downloads Last Week 593
Pricing
License Model Free
Limitations Not available
Price Free

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +